Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Add-Ons By Simtech Development: Clone Categories Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3150 posts

Posted 20 December 2016 - 02:21 PM #1

Dear Friends,

 

We have developed the Clone Categories add-on that allows you to get a copy of an existing category with just a few clicks.

 

It will be especially useful for those who create complex categories with multiple sub-categories. For example, if you already have the “Men’s Clothing” category you can set up the “Women’s Clothing” category just by duplicating the category tree. Then you can edit the cloned category if necessary.

 

The following fields will be copied for the new category:

 

— Name

— Location

— Description

— Images

— Meta data

— Availability for user groups

— Layouts

 

clone.jpg

 

Key features

 

— The ability to clone categories with / without subcategories.

Postfix for the cloned categories.

— The ability to copy the category structure.

Automatically disabled status for cloned categories which allows you to edit them before they are active.

 

The add-on’s settings

 

settings.png

 

 

Compatibility

 

The add-on is compatible with CS-Cart and Multi-Vendor 4.3.1 and above. Need compatibility with another CS-Cart version? Contact us.

 

 

Download the Add-on

 

 

I will be glad to answer all your questions about the add-on.

 

P.S. Do not forget to join us on Facebook to be the first to know about free solutions for your store!


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Mega SEO Package - All you need for your SEO


 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 694 posts

Posted 17 January 2017 - 06:55 AM #2

Wow, we had to have an addon developed to do this in v2. Ive been hoping for this as std in v4..

However, the most important reason to clone categories isnt mentioned..

Is the new [cloned] category automatically assigned to the (secondary) category list for each product that is assigned to the source category and subcategory(s)?

Or put another way, do the products listed under the original category structure also show under the new category.?



 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 694 posts

Posted 17 January 2017 - 07:19 AM #3

Installed the addon. Sadly my fears are realized.

No Products showing under new "cloned" category.

What's the point of this addon if the newly cloned cat' isn't added to the products listed under the the source cat(s)?

Congrat's on a job half done...  the most important function (that we need)  is missing.



 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3150 posts

Posted 17 January 2017 - 07:32 AM #4

Installed the addon. Sadly my fears are realized.

No Products showing under new "cloned" category.

What's the point of this addon if the newly cloned cat' isn't added to the products listed under the the source cat(s)?

Congrat's on a job half done...  the most important function (that we need)  is missing.

 

Hello!

 

Please could you clarify why you need to clone products as well?

 

For example, if you clone "Men's clothing" category to create "Women's clothing" category you do not need men's jacket appear in new category.


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Mega SEO Package - All you need for your SEO


 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 694 posts

Posted 17 January 2017 - 08:13 AM #5

I do not want to clone products.

Just need the new category to be assigned to all the products under the source category.



 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 694 posts

Posted 17 January 2017 - 08:22 AM #6

See our website and you will know what I mean.

This is a v2 csc website that we wish to soon change to v4.

http://onwireless.co...-usb-modem.html

 

When a Mobile Carrier or manufacturer makes a new modem model available, we simply clone a category with similar modem specs, then  update the SEO, image and title etc. This makes for good SEO. This make for fast product assignment to the new category. The products listed under the category are Suitable for the modem shown, but we dont actually sell the modem itself, just antennas to suit the modem.

We had a Clone Categoories addon created for thiis v2 cart, but will need this function when we update to v4.

We have toyed with the idea of replacing the category structure entirely with Feature/filters, but then we will need Features to have images and full SEO pathnames rather than just the current "...?features_hash=10-66" for example.



 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3150 posts

Posted 17 January 2017 - 10:48 AM #7

See our website and you will know what I mean.

This is a v2 csc website that we wish to soon change to v4.

http://onwireless.co...-usb-modem.html

 

When a Mobile Carrier or manufacturer makes a new modem model available, we simply clone a category with similar modem specs, then  update the SEO, image and title etc. This makes for good SEO. This make for fast product assignment to the new category. The products listed under the category are Suitable for the modem shown, but we dont actually sell the modem itself, just antennas to suit the modem.

We had a Clone Categoories addon created for thiis v2 cart, but will need this function when we update to v4.

We have toyed with the idea of replacing the category structure entirely with Feature/filters, but then we will need Features to have images and full SEO pathnames rather than just the current "...?features_hash=10-66" for example.

 

Thank you for your feedback. We have added this feature in our To-do list.


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Mega SEO Package - All you need for your SEO


 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 694 posts

Posted 17 January 2017 - 11:31 AM #8

Excellent, that's fantastic news.



 
  • markhedley
  • Advanced Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 19-Nov 16
  • 129 posts

Posted 17 January 2017 - 01:06 PM #9

Excellent, that's fantastic news.

your category concept sounds like an SEO nightmare.



 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3150 posts

Posted 18 January 2017 - 06:05 AM #10

your category concept sounds like an SEO nightmare.

 

Please could you give me more detail?


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Mega SEO Package - All you need for your SEO


 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 694 posts

Posted 06 February 2017 - 02:14 AM #11

your category concept sounds like an SEO nightmare.

Why do you say this?

Is it because Google will see many duplicates of the same products under many categories on the same domain?

What do you mean "nightmare"



 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3150 posts

Posted 25 May 2017 - 12:41 PM #12

Hello!

 

We have added the ability to clone categories to multiple storefronts.


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Mega SEO Package - All you need for your SEO


 
  • johnbol1
  • Never Re
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Feb 10
  • 4395 posts

Posted 06 June 2018 - 09:35 AM #13

I have purchased.

Cloned category, (with sub categories & products)

Go to cloned category edit product, change product coded. Delet the products I dont want int the cloned category.

 

The ADDON DELTES the same product from the original category, this is bad. WHy does it clone but then delete and alter the original product with the same changes. If I had cloned the category and then decided to delete HALF the products instead of testing just 2 I would be in deep shit


Custom printed hi visibility clothing sale the UK's online hivis safety shop
v4.5.2


 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3150 posts

Posted 07 June 2018 - 07:48 AM #14

I have purchased.

Cloned category, (with sub categories & products)

Go to cloned category edit product, change product coded. Delet the products I dont want int the cloned category.

 

The ADDON DELTES the same product from the original category, this is bad. WHy does it clone but then delete and alter the original product with the same changes. If I had cloned the category and then decided to delete HALF the products instead of testing just 2 I would be in deep shit

 

Hello John,

 

The point is that products are not cloned when you clone the category. New cloned category is assigned to the products, but you still have one product in 2 categories. So if you want to remove product from new category, just unassign the category, but do not remove the product itself.

 

product_categories.png


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Mega SEO Package - All you need for your SEO


 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 694 posts

Posted 07 June 2018 - 03:58 PM #15

johnbol1,
That's how it's supposed to work. It's not cloning the products. It's cloning categories and assigning the new cat to the products in the original cat. working as designed.

 
  • johnbol1
  • Never Re
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Feb 10
  • 4395 posts

Posted 07 June 2018 - 08:40 PM #16

johnbol1,
That's how it's supposed to work. It's not cloning the products. It's cloning categories and assigning the new cat to the products in the original cat. working as designed.

yeah he said that :mrgreen:


Custom printed hi visibility clothing sale the UK's online hivis safety shop
v4.5.2


 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3150 posts

Posted 13 July 2018 - 12:15 PM #17

johnbol1,
That's how it's supposed to work. It's not cloning the products. It's cloning categories and assigning the new cat to the products in the original cat. working as designed.

 

 

yeah he said that :mrgreen:

 

Thank you, I understand your problem. We will add the Share products selectbox instead checkbox with three options:
 

- assigning a new category to the products;

- copy products to a new category;

- doing nothing with products.

 
I will let you know when we will release it.

Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Mega SEO Package - All you need for your SEO


 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 694 posts

Posted 13 July 2018 - 01:15 PM #18

That's a great idea!



 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3150 posts

Posted 14 July 2018 - 05:13 AM #19

That's a great idea!

 

Thank you for your time.


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Mega SEO Package - All you need for your SEO