Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Presenting Cs-Cart And Multi-Vendor 4.3.7 Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • imac
  • Head of Product
  • CS-Cart Architects
  • Join Date: 22-Nov 05
  • 2074 posts

Posted 31 May 2016 - 12:16 PM #41

Hi Imac

 

Because I have already tried to do store import from our site 4.3.6 to the new store 4.3.6 and as a member of your staff pointed out, store import isn't designed to do this!

 

So I installed 4.3.7 on our new site but can't now do store import.

 

Regards

 

Barry

I don't think you need Store Import.

The right way from what I see should be this:

1) Move 4.3.6 to another server/directory http://docs.cs-cart....ent_folder.html

2) Upgrade your recently moved 4.3.6 to 4.3.7 using Upgrade Center.


Ilya Makarov,
CS-Cart Architect Team
Suggest and vote for new features | Report a bug

 
  • BarryH
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 03-Sep 07
  • 1459 posts

Posted 31 May 2016 - 04:12 PM #42

I don't think you need Store Import.

The right way from what I see should be this:

1) Move 4.3.6 to another server/directory http://docs.cs-cart....ent_folder.html

2) Upgrade your recently moved 4.3.6 to 4.3.7 using Upgrade Center.

Hi

 

Thanks for the reply. I want a CLEAN install so I do need the store import.

 

Thanks

 

Barry


BarryH

 

CS-Cart v4.4.3 (Plus one being developed v4.5.2 SP2)
UK User


 
  • Scott_C
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Jun 11
  • 452 posts

Posted 01 June 2016 - 04:59 AM #43

I need Store Import too. We have a clone of our live site patched to 4.3.7. In the next few days, a new theme is being applied to it, plus all of the Add-Ons have been upgraded to work on the newest version. Once this is done I planned to sync via the Store Import from our current live (4.0.3) website to the new version.

 

I'm not sure how else I could achieve this without the Store Import Tool. 

 

-Scott.



 

Posted 12 June 2016 - 09:17 AM #44

In any case looks like store import is still not updated and no sign of it in 4.3.8



 
  • imac
  • Head of Product
  • CS-Cart Architects
  • Join Date: 22-Nov 05
  • 2074 posts

Posted 15 June 2016 - 01:34 PM #45

I need Store Import too. We have a clone of our live site patched to 4.3.7. In the next few days, a new theme is being applied to it, plus all of the Add-Ons have been upgraded to work on the newest version. Once this is done I planned to sync via the Store Import from our current live (4.0.3) website to the new version.

 

I'm not sure how else I could achieve this without the Store Import Tool. 

 

-Scott.

 

In any case looks like store import is still not updated and no sign of it in 4.3.8

Guys, Store import at testing stage the moment. I hope we will update it at Marketplace within week.


Ilya Makarov,
CS-Cart Architect Team
Suggest and vote for new features | Report a bug

 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11748 posts

Posted 15 June 2016 - 07:29 PM #46

Are you addressing the defects in store_import?  If so, which ones will be resolved for 4.3.8 and which will remain?


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • dvsgr
  • Senior Member
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 14-Apr 09
  • 1451 posts

Posted 15 June 2016 - 08:09 PM #47

Guys, Store import at testing stage the moment. I hope we will update it at Marketplace within week.

 

 

Please also as long as you are testing this, add the ability to choose in the import screen which tables to update and which not. The method with the uncommenting the tables in the table_replacement.php is not so good!

I dont think that is is so hard to implement.

 

Fotis


Fotis Kourmadas
Cs-Cart Development - Cs-Cart Authorized Reseller 

 
  • Scott_C
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Jun 11
  • 452 posts

Posted 16 June 2016 - 12:28 PM #48

Thank you Ilya.

 

Guys, Store import at testing stage the moment. I hope we will update it at Marketplace within week.



 
  • imac
  • Head of Product
  • CS-Cart Architects
  • Join Date: 22-Nov 05
  • 2074 posts

Posted 17 June 2016 - 11:53 AM #49

Please also as long as you are testing this, add the ability to choose in the import screen which tables to update and which not. The method with the uncommenting the tables in the table_replacement.php is not so good!

I dont think that is is so hard to implement.

 

Fotis

Fotis, can you please write why changing table_replacement.php is not good for you?


Ilya Makarov,
CS-Cart Architect Team
Suggest and vote for new features | Report a bug

 
  • dvsgr
  • Senior Member
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 14-Apr 09
  • 1451 posts

Posted 17 June 2016 - 12:00 PM #50

Fotis, can you please write why changing table_replacement.php is not good for you?

 

HI imac

 

I always prefer for my customers who whish to upgrade themselfes and are not so familiar with files editing (including the risks of opening and saving a file) to give them a UI friendly screen and just interact with the familliar interface of CS-Cart.

 

It would be easier for me also if I dont have every time to edit files and jsut make a click before I hit update.

 

Fotis


Fotis Kourmadas
Cs-Cart Development - Cs-Cart Authorized Reseller 

 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11748 posts

Posted 17 June 2016 - 08:11 PM #51

*
POPULAR

I concur.  Since this is a tool it should be flexible.

Just create a big list of tables with checkboxes checked that match what you would import.

 

We can then simply uncheck the once we don't want messed with.  I.e. manytimes development work has been done on the target site and we don't want to overwrite blocks, settings, addons, etc.

 

Or simpler yet, just have a tool that updates/replaces things by 'object':

  1. users (profiles and all related)
  2. products (features, images, prices, etc.)
  3. orders
  4. Some addon data like discussions/reviews, subscribers, access_restrictions, etc.  But none of these should affect the addon settings.  These should all be selectable.

Think of the model this way.  I have a site (www).  I clone it to another site on the same server (dev).

I then go through the upgrade process on dev to get it up to date.  But end up doing some development at the same time (to possibly correct some "bad practices" of the past).

 

When I'm done and customer is happy wtth the site (could be days or even months), I want to be able to "sync" the dev site with production so it can be verified.  I then close the www store, swizzle the DNS and open the (prior) dev store as the production site.

 

No loss of product data, users, orders, customers, etc.  Just want to update the catalog data (nothing related to the UI).

 

This is the real world environment that many of us live in.  I.e. don't go above the business layer.


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • dvsgr
  • Senior Member
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 14-Apr 09
  • 1451 posts

Posted 17 June 2016 - 09:01 PM #52

*
POPULAR

I concur.  Since this is a tool it should be flexible.

Just create a big list of tables with checkboxes checked that match what you would import.

 

We can then simply uncheck the once we don't want messed with.  I.e. manytimes development work has been done on the target site and we don't want to overwrite blocks, settings, addons, etc.

 

Or simpler yet, just have a tool that updates/replaces things by 'object':

  1. users (profiles and all related)
  2. products (features, images, prices, etc.)
  3. orders
  4. Some addon data like discussions/reviews, subscribers, access_restrictions, etc.  But none of these should affect the addon settings.  These should all be selectable.

Think of the model this way.  I have a site (www).  I clone it to another site on the same server (dev).

I then go through the upgrade process on dev to get it up to date.  But end up doing some development at the same time (to possibly correct some "bad practices" of the past).

 

When I'm done and customer is happy wtth the site (could be days or even months), I want to be able to "sync" the dev site with production so it can be verified.  I then close the www store, swizzle the DNS and open the (prior) dev store as the production site.

 

No loss of product data, users, orders, customers, etc.  Just want to update the catalog data (nothing related to the UI).

 

This is the real world environment that many of us live in.  I.e. don't go above the business layer.

 

I have already something ready where I have not all tables but objects as you say, but the thing is althougj is an internal tool for the noumerous updates. we still need to upgrade and debug. It would be nice to have this as default option

   <label class="checkbox">
                        {__("orders")}
                        <input type="checkbox" name="update_orders" value="Y" />
                    </label>

                    <label class="checkbox">
                        {__("categories")}
                        <input type="checkbox" name="update_categories" value="Y" />
                    </label>
                    
                    <label class="checkbox">
                        {__("products")}
                        <input type="checkbox" name="update_products" value="Y" />
                    </label>
                    
                    <label class="checkbox">
                        {__("users")}
                        <input type="checkbox" name="update_users" value="Y" />
                    </label>
                    
                    <label class="checkbox">
                        {__("images")}
                        <input type="checkbox" name="update_images" value="Y" />
                    </label>

I ll be happy to give my code to CS-Cart if its going to be on a  next release!

 

Fotis


Fotis Kourmadas
Cs-Cart Development - Cs-Cart Authorized Reseller 

 
  • Flow
  • Super Duper and Amazingly Sexy Senior
  • Members
  • Join Date: 13-Oct 10
  • 2351 posts

Posted 18 June 2016 - 02:10 PM #53

 

When I'm done and customer is happy wtth the site (could be days or even months), I want to be able to "sync" the dev site with production so it can be verified.  I then close the www store, swizzle the DNS and open the (prior) dev store as the production site.

 

No loss of product data, users, orders, customers, etc.  Just want to update the catalog data (nothing related to the UI).

 

 

 

Man that would that be so nice.


When life hands you lemons, bring on the Tequila baby!


 
  • johnbol1
  • Never Re
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Feb 10
  • 4817 posts

Posted 18 June 2016 - 03:33 PM #54

+1


Custom printed hi visibility clothing sale the UK's online hivis safety shop
v4.5.2


 
  • dvsgr
  • Senior Member
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 14-Apr 09
  • 1451 posts

Posted 18 June 2016 - 05:29 PM #55

So should I open this in Voice?

 

Fotis

 

PS already done, you can vote for it here https://cscart.userv...import-advanced


Fotis Kourmadas
Cs-Cart Development - Cs-Cart Authorized Reseller 

 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11748 posts

Posted 20 June 2016 - 12:30 AM #56

User voice doesn't reconginze that I'm logged in and won't let me post.  So much for that!


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • CS-Cart team
  • CS-Cart support team
  • Moderators
  • Join Date: 04-Apr 11
  • 3810 posts

Posted 24 June 2016 - 12:09 PM #57

We are happy to announce that the Store Import is available for CS-Cart 4.3.7/4.3.8. Feel free to download it from our Marketplace: http://marketplace.c...ore-import.html


Sincerely yours, CS-Cart Support Team

 

User guide       |  Developer documentation  |  Core API documentation


 
  • dvsgr
  • Senior Member
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 14-Apr 09
  • 1451 posts

Posted 24 June 2016 - 12:33 PM #58

Jsut download it works ok

 

 

I would though prefare this implemented as told before

 

3039rn5.jpg

 

As said this is ready and it works fine even with the latest version you post today. I am willing to give this to CS-Cart if this speeds up things

 

Dont forget to vote here https://cscart.userv...import-advancedfor this.

 

 

Fotis


Fotis Kourmadas
Cs-Cart Development - Cs-Cart Authorized Reseller 

 
  • danieltj
  • Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 24-Nov 15
  • 28 posts

Posted 24 June 2016 - 12:46 PM #59

Hello,

 

Version 4.3.7 is not a "patch", it's a minor release with minor improvements. Minor releases change the last (third) digit in the version number.

 

What do you call a 0.x.x and x.0.x release then, I'm confused. Traditionally it's always been major.minor.patch.



 
  • imac
  • Head of Product
  • CS-Cart Architects
  • Join Date: 22-Nov 05
  • 2074 posts

Posted 24 June 2016 - 01:32 PM #60

What do you call a 0.x.x and x.0.x release then, I'm confused. Traditionally it's always been major.minor.patch.

You are right. the 3rd digit version is patch. 

Looks like Yan was confused.

 

The point is that previously we by mistake called it like this: major.major.minor. But now we stick to semver.org and it is like you wrote: major.minor.patch


Ilya Makarov,
CS-Cart Architect Team
Suggest and vote for new features | Report a bug