My Kingdom For A Basic Guide

I'm not quite sure where to put this but I figure the 'general' forum is a good a place as any.

I'm new to CS-Cart and so require a little hand-holding while I find my feet. Unfortunately every time I turn to the Knowledge Base I find either no answer or an answer that only refers to an older version and is, therefore, not applicable. Even (you would think) simple, beginner, things like changing text in the footer becomes a pain, despite going through the reference guide. There doesn't seem to any basic guide to where stuff lives (like text strings and common CSS styles). I've already been around the block, getting confused to all this 'My Changes' add-on stuff when it now seems that you can place any custom CSS in the slot on the Theme Editor. Can you? It seems to work but I can't find any reference to that's how you now do custom CSS anywhere.

I'm not a coder and I don't want to radically change the design; just do some basic stuff.

Have you read the developer documentation?

http://docs.cs-cart.com/

http://docs2.cs-cart.com/4.1.x/index.html

[quote name='NairdaCart' timestamp='1390987598' post='176268']

Have you read the developer documentation?

[/quote]

Ha! Ha! As if the developer docs are any better…

Personally I learnt everything I know from the documentation, blog and reading release notes and there's nothing I haven't been able to do with my store yet including stuff a lot more advanced than what the OP is asking.

Every day I see question after question posted (not referring to this one) which is covered in the basic documentation yet people never seem to make the effort to actually read it so it's hardly any wonder there isn't a huge focus on documenting every aspect of the software.

I've used other carts and the level of information available about CS-Cart is light years ahead of them and one of them cost ten times what CS-Cart does.