Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How to install Languages Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • miracles
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 19-Sep 07
  • 1533 posts

Posted 15 July 2009 - 06:33 AM #1

I have only one language installed on new version but now i want to install all those language which csc offer like German, Spanish etc. Please provide the steps to install these language, Can i reinstall my csc and choose all lang. to install, please let me know
CS-CART 3.0.6 GRENADE

Please vote for CDN Add-on

For SEO Article Submission, Forum Profile Links, Web 2.0 links, contact me through PM.

 
  • miracles
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 19-Sep 07
  • 1533 posts

Posted 16 July 2009 - 04:47 AM #2

Any help ?
CS-CART 3.0.6 GRENADE

Please vote for CDN Add-on

For SEO Article Submission, Forum Profile Links, Web 2.0 links, contact me through PM.

 
  • aircomms
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Jun 08
  • 110 posts

Posted 18 July 2009 - 11:45 AM #3

Hi,

I injected the SQL directly in to MYSQL.

If you have access MyPHPadmin this is easly done.

 
  • miracles
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 19-Sep 07
  • 1533 posts

Posted 18 July 2009 - 01:51 PM #4

Can you tell me how to do this. If i reinstall will this works ?
CS-CART 3.0.6 GRENADE

Please vote for CDN Add-on

For SEO Article Submission, Forum Profile Links, Web 2.0 links, contact me through PM.

 
  • jobosales
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 04-Nov 06
  • 3114 posts

Posted 18 July 2009 - 08:06 PM #5

The easiest way is to add the languages using whatever SQL tool you have (e.g., phpMyAdmin).

You will find the language files in /install/database with a name of lang_COUNTRY.sql. (e.g., lang_de.sql is for German language). You can copy the SQL commands in the language files you want and paste them into a SQL query then execute them.

Bob
CS-Cart 2.0.14 (testing)

 
  • miracles
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 19-Sep 07
  • 1533 posts

Posted 19 July 2009 - 04:12 AM #6

thanks mate now i have installed on those language files, but now i have to translate them into the languages. HARD WORK! :-o
CS-CART 3.0.6 GRENADE

Please vote for CDN Add-on

For SEO Article Submission, Forum Profile Links, Web 2.0 links, contact me through PM.

 
  • scubagoo
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 22-Aug 09
  • 32 posts

Posted 14 February 2010 - 11:42 PM #7

The easiest way is to add the languages using whatever SQL tool you have (e.g., phpMyAdmin).

You will find the language files in /install/database with a name of lang_COUNTRY.sql. (e.g., lang_de.sql is for German language). You can copy the SQL commands in the language files you want and paste them into a SQL query then execute them.

Bob



How do you copy the SQL commands in the language files and past them in a SQL query and then execute them?

Lots of people have talked about this problem and finding solutions, but no one actually posts it....

I can turn on the languages, but there is no data there, CS cart team said to just copy it over, I asked how... and that was about 6 months ago.


Robert

 
  • jobosales
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 04-Nov 06
  • 3114 posts

Posted 15 February 2010 - 12:59 AM #8

See updated instructions instructions below.

Bob
CS-Cart 2.0.14 (testing)

 
  • jobosales
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 04-Nov 06
  • 3114 posts

Posted 15 February 2010 - 01:19 AM #9

** UPDATED INSTRUCTIONS **
Go to Administration->Database and choose the 'Backup' tab, then hit the "Backup" button. This is your backup.

Then do the following:
1) In Content->Languages:Languages, click the "Add language" button. Match the 'Language code' to the file you will import (e.g., if you will import lang_es.sql, set the language code to 'ES'). This sets up the language variable for your products and categories by copying the default language contents into your new language - you will still need to translate them.
2) In Administration->Database, select the 'Restore' tab
3) Click the 'Server' link, then select the language file you want to import (look in /install/database) and hit the "select file" button
4) Hit the "Upload" button
5) Place a check in front of the file you want to import and then hit the "Restore" button

Bob
CS-Cart 2.0.14 (testing)

 
  • miracles
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 19-Sep 07
  • 1533 posts

Posted 15 February 2010 - 06:16 PM #10

I have never tried this but this method should also work using just CS-Cart.

Go to Administration->Database and choose the 'Backup' tab, then hit the "Backup" button. This is your backup.

Select the 'Restore' tab. Click the 'Server' link, then select the language file you want to import (look in /install/database) and hit the "select file" button. Hit the "Upload" button.

Bob


Yeah your this tricks is works. :)

But item description was still in English which i want to translate them into german :confused:
CS-CART 3.0.6 GRENADE

Please vote for CDN Add-on

For SEO Article Submission, Forum Profile Links, Web 2.0 links, contact me through PM.

 
  • scubagoo
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 22-Aug 09
  • 32 posts

Posted 16 February 2010 - 04:28 AM #11

I have never tried this but this method should also work using just CS-Cart.

Go to Administration->Database and choose the 'Backup' tab, then hit the "Backup" button. This is your backup.

Select the 'Restore' tab. Click the 'Server' link, then select the language file you want to import (look in /install/database) and hit the "select file" button. Hit the "Upload" button.

Bob


Okay I've done this, but this is worse off than I was before.... because yes the language is installed, but not... Its in there, but it removed all my blocks and all my data on that side... so... Now again... I ask.... how do I get all of my product descriptions, blocks and so forth and all configuration data inserted into that language without retyping or cutting and pasting everything... There has to be ans easier way... I had the languages in there... just not all the product descriptions and all that...

your first method is you stated is that you need more sql knowledge than I have to complete that task. I've been all through by SQL admin panel and there's nothing like what you say....

Robert

 
  • jobosales
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 04-Nov 06
  • 3114 posts

Posted 16 February 2010 - 05:19 AM #12

Do the following to fix:

1) In Content->Languages:Languages, delete the language you installed
2) In Content->Languages:Languages, click the "Add language" button. Match the 'Language code' to the file you will import (e.g., if you will import lang_es.sql, set the language code to 'ES')

The second step sets up language values in your categories, products, blocks, etc. - you will still need to translate these.

Now import your language file as described above. This will import the translations for Content->Languages:Translations.

I just tried this and it works. I will adjust the above post to reflect the proper method.

Bob
CS-Cart 2.0.14 (testing)

 
  • scubagoo
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 22-Aug 09
  • 32 posts

Posted 16 February 2010 - 05:52 AM #13

Do the following to fix:

1) In Content->Languages:Languages, delete the language you installed
2) In Content->Languages:Languages, click the "Add language" button. Match the 'Language code' to the file you will import (e.g., if you will import lang_es.sql, set the language code to 'ES')

The second step sets up language values in your categories, products, blocks, etc. - you will still need to translate these.

Now import your language file as described above. This will import the translations for Content->Languages:Translations.

I just tried this and it works. I will adjust the above post to reflect the proper method.

Bob



AWESOME! A complete fix! I know I have to translate, but at least I don't have to swtich between all the languages adding blocks, and changing things there isn't another translation for. AND its a fix that doesn't involve direct PHP work! A fix for idiots!


Thank you very much!:D

 
  • The Tool
  • Been Here Way Too Long Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Mar 07
  • 3969 posts

Posted 16 February 2010 - 06:11 AM #14

A fix for idiots!


There's your new title Bob. :P

 
  • Luziano
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 07-Dec 09
  • 13 posts

Posted 16 February 2010 - 09:04 AM #15

Yes, you can add an additional language. If you want to add one of the languages included in CS-Cart installation package you should specify one of the following codes:
1. Log in to your administration panel, open the "Content" tab and click on the "Languages" link.
2. Click on the "Add language "button in the top right corner.
3. Enter the code and name for a new language into the appropriate fields in the opened "Add language" pop up window and click on the "Create" button. The desired language will be added in the store (it will be the copy of English translation at the beginning).
Please use the following correspondence:
German - DE;
Spanish - ES;
French - FR;
Greek - GR;
Italian - IT;
Dutch - NL;
Русский - RU.
4. Unpack the installation package. Open the "install/database" directory from the installation package.
5.Copy the "sql" file with the language code you need to be added to the "var/database/backup" directory.
6. Open the "Administration" tab in the admin panel and click on the "Database" link.
7. Click on the "Restore" link, select the file you copied to the var/database/backup" directory and click on the "Restore" button.

If you want to translate CS-Cart into another language please follow the instructions provided by this article: http://kb2.cs-cart.c...ranslate-cscart

Enjoy
Luziano

 
  • knowmad
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 10-Jan 07
  • 14 posts

Posted 26 February 2010 - 03:26 PM #16

I've found that for v2.0.12, it is necessary to add the new language to your localization settings as follows:

1. Go to Shipping/Taxes > Localizations
2. Edit your active localization(s)
3. Click "Items" tab
4. Scroll to bottom and add the new language

Good luck!
--
Knowmad Technologies - E-business Web Sites
http://www.knowmad.com

 
  • ghsc
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 03-Aug 07
  • 53 posts

Posted 12 May 2010 - 02:18 PM #17

so installed the french language following all the steps above. i run cs-cart 2.014....

first when i added the language in the languages page i get the following error:

Database error: You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near ''FR' as lang_code, `tooltip`) SELECT `addon`, `object_id`, `object_type`, `descr' at line 1 (1064)
Invalid query: REPLACE INTO cscart_addon_descriptions (`addon`, `object_id`, `object_type`, `description`, 'FR' as lang_code, `tooltip`) SELECT `addon`, `object_id`, `object_type`, `description`, 'FR' as lang_code, `tooltip` FROM cscart_addon_descriptions WHERE lang_code = 'EN'

Uh ok, so I go back and the language is added anyways, despite the error.

so then I go to my database, and hit restore for file lang_fr.sql

restore works perfect, restored database successfully. but then, I go to view the store front and ALL the buttons are gone for french, all the content is GONE!

it just says Bienvenue! hahaha

and the sign in button and 2 or 3 other buttons are in french....Obviously he has translated all the function of the site, HOWEVER where are all my products and pages, do I have to translate everything one by one!?!?! the product and category are the same in french and english. I would like to have the pages that are not in french to still appear but then in english....then I can change them as time goes on!

sorry but I have been wrestling this language thing for a while. I even exported English via CSV, change the csv file to french and reimported....well all that did was create duplicated product categories!


anyone run into a similar problem? please help me

by the way i use cs-cart since 2006, I run 5 super successful webshops and I have some of the highest rankings in google of our entire industry, thanks to CS-CART flexibility and functions. I have used magento and all the other carts in the top 5, but i'm sticking with cs-cart! I never installed the languages because its a heavy load for the shop, but since I went dedicated last year, I can afford the loads!

HelpDesk! that addon slowed my site down to 5% of the original speed. not sure why i am having that issue?

 
  • snorocket
  • Forum Janitor
  • Members
  • Join Date: 15-Mar 06
  • 2519 posts

Posted 12 May 2010 - 02:38 PM #18

whatever you do, dont install HelpDesk! that addon will slow your site down to 5% of the original speed. say your site used to go at 100km per hour, after helpdesk it will go 5km per hour.


Hi ghsc, the helpdesk addon is not slowing your server down, the scripts don't execute until you dispatch the link so the fact that while browsing your site your server is slow tells me the issue is something else, re-starting apache usually fixes the majority of these problems. However installing multiple languages as you have done is a known fact that it slows your server down significantly, what did you say:

I never installed the languages because its a heavy load for the shop, but since I went dedicated last year, I can afford the loads!


It's always easy to blame someone else for your own mistakes. We have multiple dedicated servers, lots of shared servers and none of them are slow as a result of any of our addons, restart your server and let me know, Thanks - Sno
SNOROCKET.COM, Now Accepting PRE-ORDERS:
Customer Service (Helpdesk) Addon for CS-Cart v4.3.1
Quote and Invoicing Addon for CS-Cart v4.3.1

 
  • whiplash13
  • PM Extraordinaire
  • Members
  • Join Date: 01-Feb 08
  • 704 posts

Posted 12 May 2010 - 04:36 PM #19

I completely agree with Sno. I have both the KB and Helpdesk addons and there was absolutely no performance change in our site before and after. You should also check your math my friend. If your site was going 100km/hour and went down 5% it would now run at 95km/hour not 5km/hour.
John
CS Cart 4.2.4

 
  • ghsc
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 03-Aug 07
  • 53 posts

Posted 12 May 2010 - 09:34 PM #20

Hi ghsc, the helpdesk addon is not slowing your server down, the scripts don't execute until you dispatch the link so the fact that while browsing your site your server is slow tells me the issue is something else, re-starting apache usually fixes the majority of these problems. However installing multiple languages as you have done is a known fact that it slows your server down significantly, what did you say:



It's always easy to blame someone else for your own mistakes. We have multiple dedicated servers, lots of shared servers and none of them are slow as a result of any of our addons, restart your server and let me know, Thanks - Sno

hi sno,

let me change that post :P
don't get me wrong the helpdesk is a great addon.
i did a cold reboot the first time because all the php pages stopped responding.

the languages do slow down the site, but i was just installing 1 extra. and that was after the helpdesk slow down issue. the help desk made some pages really slow. order pages were extremely slow.