Trailing Slash, No Slash, Or .html?

I've been reading up on best practices for URL endings. I've consulted with a top SEO consultant and he says that his recommendation is to eliminate any kind of extension (.html, .php, etc.) and instead form all URLs with a trailing slash. This answer is based in part on the fact that Wordpress, which now accounts for 20% of the internet, uses trailing slashes by default:

www.myblog.com/my-blog-post/

There are other considerations but this seems to be one of the main ones.

My site URLs currently all end in .html

Does anyone here have any opinions on this?

Do people tend to (subconsciously perhaps) look at .html URLs as “outdated” when they see them in search engine results?

The url is a very low ranking factor. My opinion (but I am NOT an SEO expert - no one really is) is that[list]

[]foo.com/my-product

[
]foo.com/my-product/

[*]foo.com/my-product.html

[/list]

would all rank equally.

However, there is a tradition of having categories in ecommerce sites (and directories in other sites) end without a suffix where an end-point page ends with a suffix. I don't think it matters at all whether a non-suffixed url has a trailing slash or not.

The URL suffix does tell the robot what to expect though just like with images.

The impression I'm getting is that extensions like .html and .php will eventually be frowned upon, so [list]

[]foo.com/my-product

[
]foo.com/my-product/

[/list]

would be future proof, whereas [list]

[*]foo.com/my-product.html

[/list]

presumably wouldn't.

As far as search engines go (and searchers for that matter), the .html is an unnecessary addition.

Anyway, thanks for your thoughts.

It needs to be a combination of things;

page title

meta description

url

links from other websites

All help your SERPS ranking. Meta keywords are redudant with Google, it will find its keywords in your content and the above mentioned items.