Supplier Problem-Duplicate supplier

Hello,

I have three suppliers (User>Suppliers). However, when setting up a product, there are 4 suppliers in the dropdown, one duplicate. I renamed the duplicate Supplier by appending the name with a -1 so I can tell which is the duplicate.

How do I remove the duplicate supplier? I assume I have to do something in the data base. I have never done anything with the database before.

Thanks,

Bob

Bob me again…

Be very careful deleting a Supplier.

I deleted a supplier last week and all the products assigned to it we also deleted.

Backup first.

Ensure that no products are assigned to that Supplier name. Yes, I understand its a duplicate, but I’d hate you to lose any products.

Good luck mate :slight_smile:

customfx,

Yes, I remember a post about deleting suppliers also deletes associated products.

I renamed the duplicate supplier-1 and assigned reassigned all the others with the same supplier name to this one. I need to delete from the database the original and then rename the supplier “supplier-1” to just “supplier”. I just don’t know how to delete the original from the database. The current supplier ID’s are 6,7,8, so I assume the one I want to delete has an ID between 1-5.

Thanks,

Bob

[quote name=‘pbannette’]customfx,

Yes, I remember a post about deleting suppliers also deletes associated products.

I renamed the duplicate supplier-1 and assigned reassigned all the others with the same supplier name to this one. I need to delete from the database the original and then rename the supplier “supplier-1” to just “supplier”. I just don’t know how to delete the original from the database. The current supplier ID’s are 6,7,8, so I assume the one I want to delete has an ID between 1-5.

Thanks,

Bob[/QUOTE]

Hi Bob

if you have renamed the supplier and it has the products showing, why don’t you just filter by that supplier and then edit all the products and change the supplier back to the original?

No need to use DB then.