Ridiculous list of problems after auto upgrade from 2.1.2 > 2.1.3 > 2.1.4

[SIZE=“6”]I have a great idea…[/SIZE]

[SIZE=“3”]If they ever decide to change the name of CS-Cart, they should change it to:

1 Step Forwards, 2 Steps Back Cart[/SIZE]

I used the upgrade center to go from 2.1.2 to 2.1.3 and then to 2.1.4

so I guess that’s 2 steps forward…

and here’s the 4 steps back:

#1) The upgrade overwrote files within the custom skin I created !?!?!?

I should have the right to create a custom skin for a store and not have it wiped out by an upgrade!!! Imagine upgrading WordPress and having it overwrite your theme files!!! In my 5+ years as a developer, I have never had a CMS overwrite a skin or theme as part of an upgrade. I’m still trying to wrap my head around the fact that this happened. The whole entire point of a skin is to have your presentation separate from your logic. It would be in the absolute best interest of the CS-Cart developers, third party developers, and the CS-Cart users if the CS-Cart developers just focused on the core functionality and business logic, then handed over a nice set of API functions and left the entire development of skins up to the rest of us.

#2) Switching from SSL protected HTTPS back to HTTP no longer works

Switching from HTTP to HTTPS works fine, but then any links back to the non-secure portion of the cart throw 404 errors. I even installed a new skin from the repository to rule out the possibility of the error being part of my custom skin. Still doesn’t work. This worked correctly a few hours ago prior to the upgrades, so it also isn’t my htaccess (which has not changed).

#3) Image paths for thumbnails now have extra segment

Not only image paths for product images I have uploaded, but even things I have not even touched have become corrupted.

Take for instance the credit card logo images on the checkout page. The image path used to be:

[COLOR=“Blue”]/images/thumbnails/0/50/masterCard-icon.png[/COLOR]

but now it’s: