I noticed that when we remove an option such as a color or size from a product option we had already created and an order had already been placed for that size or color, the product we removed the option from totally removes the product from past orders.
This is NOT suppose to happen.
First off, when we have a product that has a disabled option (the only option it had), it shows in the backend customer orders as an option and it should not show at all if an option is disabled.
Today we went to the grooming post page to make changes. It had an option that was NOT enabled so we just removed it from this product.
When we did that, it removed the complete product from the customers past order which had already shipped and updated. We happen to go to this customers past order and we got a warning that "a product was removed from this order because the option was removed".
We had to add the product back in her order but now it shows it was not shipped.
Something is terribly wrong. When we make changes to product today or in the future, it should not change in the customers orders.
We have to make changes to options all the time because an option has been discontinued or is sold out for 4-5 months.
1. Past orders should not be changed unless we change them ourselves.
2, Past orders should not be affected when we make a change or remove an option for a product.
3. Disabled options should not show at all in customer orders.
This is what the order showed when the customer submitted their order:
Davis Grooming Arm 1 Price
Options: Optional Bracket: Please Select
The options should not be showing at all because the option for this product is disabled.
Please help sort this out. This is not even right. Now we don't know what past orders have been changed due to the options changes.