CPU Spikes

Hi

I operate a Multi-vendor store (version 2.2.2) and have noticed that I keep getting CPU spikes.

I am using the Martfox E-commerce semi-dedicated VPS hosting package and find that I regularly get resources limited as hit 100% CPU usage but average CPU usage is low.

From the research I’ve done it may be that I need to be clearing the cache so have tried doing so by adding cc to the end of the admin panel address but that doesn’t seem to have helped.

I’m a bit of a novice to the web hosting side so any pointers on how I could resolve these spikes would be gratefully received.

Thank you

Emma

“From the research I've done it may be that I need to be clearing the cache so have tried doing so by adding cc to the end of the admin panel address but that doesn't seem to have helped.”

is worst, it will make this harder on cpu for re-regeneration of pages…

try to see what is the lag… or you on a dedicated box ?? no…semi dedicated vps… they tend to give % to the higest bidder in terms of cpu ressources…

get hosting dedicated…

[quote name='ejfear' timestamp='1338761180' post='137966']

Hi

I operate a Multi-vendor store (version 2.2.2) and have noticed that I keep getting CPU spikes.

I am using the Martfox E-commerce semi-dedicated VPS hosting package and find that I regularly get resources limited as hit 100% CPU usage but average CPU usage is low.

From the research I've done it may be that I need to be clearing the cache so have tried doing so by adding cc to the end of the admin panel address but that doesn't seem to have helped.

I'm a bit of a novice to the web hosting side so any pointers on how I could resolve these spikes would be gratefully received.

Thank you

Emma

[/quote]

100% CPU spikes will be expected on boxes that use SuPHP as the PHP handler.

I'm going to assume that you have 'file' as the cache method and 'mysqli' as the database connection method,