Checkout Error In 4.3.3

If I set up the checkout to display new customer first (most of my customers are new), and checkout as guest as the default option (see screenshot), the customer gets an error when they click the Checkout as Guest button (see second screen shot). The error message is one of those really helpful ones: Error Oops, something went wrong (Internal Server Error). Please try again.

Any idea why this is?

Screen Shot 2015-07-08 at 9.06.12 PM.png

Screen Shot 2015-07-08 at 9.08.19 PM.png

Actually it doesn't seem to matter what settings I choose for how the checkout is set up, choosing guest checkout causes the same error and the customer can't proceed.

OK I got the answer below from Helpdesk last night. Can someone tell me how to make these changes using FTP and a text editor. I'm assuming these are commands to be issued from a Linux command prompt. I have little to no experience with that. Helpdesk should not assume that CS-Cart users are all Linux geeks who have command line access to their server. Any help on how to make these changes would be appreciated.

Here is their answer:

Please try applying the following patch (before making any changes, please make a backup copy of the mentioned files in the patch):

```php

diff --git a/app/controllers/frontend/checkout.php b/app/controllers/frontend/checkout.php

index 4d02909…2afd38a 100644

— a/app/controllers/frontend/checkout.php

+++ b/app/controllers/frontend/checkout.php

@@ -321,7 +321,10 @@

if (!empty($_REQUEST['update_steps'])) {

$_REQUEST['update_step'] = 'step_four';

•   	fn_checkout_update_steps($cart, $auth, $_REQUEST);
  •   	list($status, $redirect_params) = fn_checkout_update_steps($cart, $auth, $_REQUEST);
  •   	if (!$status) {
  •   		return array(CONTROLLER_STATUS_REDIRECT, 'checkout.checkout?' . http_build_query($redirect_params));
  •   	}
    }
    $status = fn_checkout_place_order($cart, $auth, $_REQUEST);

@@ -336,7 +339,7 @@

if ($mode == 'update_steps') {