About "Spiral"

This might not be the best place for this post but since Spiral considers himself a security expert and the majority of his posts are security related, I figure this will be as good of a place as any.

Not to get too much into what I do for my “normal job” but I work with, for and around IT security “experts” everyday of my life (on a much higher level than most people). Note that I am not a security expert myself (at least not in this field). Like most extremely dedicated and extremely driven IS guys Spiral often lacks a little tact in the way he comes across but that’s because in his world security is very black or white.You’re either secure or you’re not and no one wants to hear that their data might be at risk. The truth is that it is and its not always easy telling someone that. Its like the elephant in the room and there is never really an easy way to give bad news, so he just says it.

So anyway, I did a little digging around into his credentials, and spoke with him at length in private. I contracted him to do some security analysis, back end optimization, and PCI compliance configuration on a new site. I wanted to give it a little time before I posted anything about the guy but with the recent heat he is getting I felt now would be an appropriate time to post this.

The bottom line is that Spiral is the real deal. He knows his stuff and he practices what he preaches. I only know of a handful of people I would put up on the same level as him in regards to his knowledge and expertise on this subject matter.

This isn’t an advertisement for him, in fact I do not even know if he is accepting work and he certainly didn’t approach me about looking for work or asking me to post this. If you want a little more about my background what I feel qualifies me to make an assessment of his ability then please shoot me a PM.

I should change his name to “The Enigma formerly known as Spiral” LOL

:stuck_out_tongue: