600 Coupons don't work - CSC says pay to fix it!

I’ve been using CSC for about 18 months now and while I’ve had my issues with their support at times, overall I’ve been happy with the product and the customer support. Today however a response to a ticket has me so angry I am nearly on the verge of booking a flight to Russia to give the owner of this company a piece of my mind in person.

We implemented an auto generated coupon which in the last month has generated over 600 coupons for one of the largest sales events we have ever had. Last week we started to get the first people starting to use them only to find NONE of them work. I submitted a ticket and they came back with a bug fix, but was told none of the old coupons would work. I replied that they needed to provide a fix and even a SQL query to run on the database as we are not going to deal with over 600 support emails to create these manually one by one.

They responsed they would get back to us. Well today they did. They told us we would have to pay for custom development to get this fixed! I can’t seriously believe they just suggested I pay for custom development to fix an issue they caused on a non-customized default feature of the software. I kid you not it would be cheaper to fly to Russia and open up a can of ass kicking then to pay for the support hours I’ll incur in the next few months. I really feel like I’m being extorted because they know how much we need this fixed.

I am so pissed right now I can’t even explain how furious I am. Is this just me or are they totally out of line?

Anyone have any suggestions? I’m on version 2.0.10. If CSC has indicated they this version was EOL I might agree with them, but that has not happened and I’ve certainly not been told that support for this version was not provided, so I think they are 100% responsible to get this fixed.