what to do in company books with failed orders?

hi,

I’m a novice cs-cart user and I was wondering how more experienced people deal with orders which are never completed, but which generate an invoice?

for example, when a customer selects bank transfer as payment but never does the transfer, an order ( and invoice ) was generated, but we can’t put the invoice in the company books because the order was cancelled. So, we have to create a credit note for the order, and put the invoice and credit note in the company books.

however, when we do this, we will have put a useless invoice and credit note in the books which will cause extra work for our accountant (causing money to be wasted).

i have been thinking about removing the option to pay with bank transfer, such that there will be no useless invoices. however, if the paypal payment is cancelled or fails, perhaps the order itself will fail too and we will be in the same situation, with an order that didn’t go through, again requiring a credit note to cancel it out in the books.

does anyone have some good suggestions and how to handle these situations? I’m a bit clueless here

You could just delete orders that don’t go through. If you don’t want to keep a record of them. That is what I do.

first cancel the order (to replace the inventory) then delete it

at least thats what we do

[quote name=‘MikeFold’]first cancel the order (to replace the inventory) then delete it

at least thats what we do[/QUOTE]

thanks. I guess this could work, but suppose you have orders 55, 56 and 57 in the system and you want to delete order 56.

after cancelling and deleting, you now have orders 55, 57 in the system, and 56 is gone.

when you print all your invoices for the company books, invoice 56 will be missing because you deleted the order. and when the tax office comes to check your company books… they will ask where the missing invoice is ?