Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Variations Need Please Select Option Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • Rick
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 03-Aug 15
  • 8 posts

Posted 10 December 2020 - 08:08 AM #1

We are having an issue with the new Variations as it does not give the options to have a please select option read only on the drop down list. Our customers are not being diligent and selecting the default option. ( See below, we get lots of orders for filter ground ).

 

This is our scenario. We sell coffee.

 

We offer different size packs. This is one drop down list.

 

Options : 250g, 500g, 1Kg

 

We then have to ask what Grind the customer wants their coffee. 

 

Options are :

 

Filter Ground

Espresso Ground

Moka Express Ground

Medium Ground

Cafetiere Ground

Whole Beans

 

Though the variations are more powerful than Options Combinations it does not stop this issue which we get at least five time a day. This slows down our processing as we then have to contact each customer to check.

 

I have added a new variation which is --- Please Select Option --- . This has partially worked as we know if we get an order with this selection we know it is definitely wrong, but again we have to contact the customer.

 

A Java script maybe that popped up to say you have not selected an option and would not allow the selection to be added to cart would help.

 

We can be viewed here.

https://www.shopdrur...lsor-coffee-en/

 

 

Any ideas ?

 



 
  • soft-solid
  • Junior Member
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 19-Apr 10
  • 1423 posts

Posted 14 December 2020 - 10:19 AM #2

Hello Rick,

 

Each variant of product is technically a separate product, that's why there's no "Please select option" variant available. 

A work-around solution can be adding such variant to each feature.

 

So you'd have options: 

 

--Please select--

250g

500g 

1kg

 

and

 

--Please select--

Filter Ground

Espresso Ground

Moka Express Ground

Medium Ground

Cafetiere Ground

Whole Beans

 

Then, you create all the standard variations (6 * 3 = 18 variations) + one variation from both --Please select-- variants, and you set this product stock to 0.

This way, when customer opens product, he will see product with both features set to --Please select--, which is impossible to add to cart, and therefore will be forced to make his choice.

 

Best regards,

Robert


Team of SoftSolid
cs-cart.pl, marketplace

We specialize in creating the highest quality addons, safe, useful and flexible


 
  • Rick
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 03-Aug 15
  • 8 posts

Posted 18 December 2020 - 08:53 AM #3

Hi Robert

 

That is a great workaround and something I tried already. The downside is that it shows "On Backorder" when the grind selection is on --- Please Select ---. 

 

I know I can change the text in translations but this would effect other products which are not set up like this.



 
  • soft-solid
  • Junior Member
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 19-Apr 10
  • 1423 posts

Posted 22 December 2020 - 08:43 AM #4

Hello Rick,

 

Unfortunately, there's no way to overcome that - as I mentioned before, each product variation is a separate entity, and a situation where customer is browsing no product while in product card (because he selected none of its features) cannot occur.

 

Either you set this "Please select" feature variant, and deal with its consequences, or you don't set it and risk that some customer will forget to select features to product.

 

Remember, that you can also add an information to display on product card, for example "PLEASE SELECT PRODUCT TYPE BEFORE ADDING IT TO CART".

 

Best regards,

Robert


Team of SoftSolid
cs-cart.pl, marketplace

We specialize in creating the highest quality addons, safe, useful and flexible


 
  • Rick
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 03-Aug 15
  • 8 posts

Posted 23 December 2020 - 09:25 AM #5

Hi Robert.

 

Thank you for your time on this issue.

 

I have added a message for customers to be careful when selecting but all the same customers still add to basket without selecting.

 

Another issue I am now having with Variations is that I have added --- Please Select Grind --- to all my products to find when I have done a test upgrade to 4.12.1 it the --- Please Select Grind --- Variant becomes another products.

 

This means I get one coffee with all the previous Variant Grinds and then another next to it with --- Please Select Grind ---

 

Oh the fun of Upgrades.



 
  • soft-solid
  • Junior Member
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 19-Apr 10
  • 1423 posts

Posted 23 December 2020 - 10:02 AM #6

Hello,

 

Thank you for kind words.

Remember that you can set price of variations joined with "Please Select Grind" to zero, so customer won't be able to add them to cart, and therefore will be semi-forced to select correct variation.

 

Best regards,

Robert


Team of SoftSolid
cs-cart.pl, marketplace

We specialize in creating the highest quality addons, safe, useful and flexible


 
  • Jim01
  • Advanced Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 25-May 17
  • 84 posts

Posted 06 January 2021 - 04:09 PM #7

We are having an issue with the new Variations as it does not give the options to have a please select option read only on the drop down list. Our customers are not being diligent and selecting the default option. ( See below, we get lots of orders for filter ground ).

 

This is our scenario. We sell coffee.

 

We offer different size packs. This is one drop down list.

 

Options : 250g, 500g, 1Kg

 

We then have to ask what Grind the customer wants their coffee. 

 

Options are :

 

Filter Ground

Espresso Ground

Moka Express Ground

Medium Ground

Cafetiere Ground

Whole Beans

 

Though the variations are more powerful than Options Combinations it does not stop this issue which we get at least five time a day. This slows down our processing as we then have to contact each customer to check.

 

I have added a new variation which is --- Please Select Option --- . This has partially worked as we know if we get an order with this selection we know it is definitely wrong, but again we have to contact the customer.

 

A Java script maybe that popped up to say you have not selected an option and would not allow the selection to be added to cart would help.

 

We can be viewed here.

https://www.shopdrur...lsor-coffee-en/

 

 

Any ideas ?

Hello,

if I understand correctly your problem, the screenshots below might be of help.

 

Options 1.png

 

Options 2.png

 

If customer fails to select option(s) and hit "add to cart", they will get this:

 

Options 3.png

 

Hope this helps.
 



 
  • Rick
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 03-Aug 15
  • 8 posts

Posted 07 January 2021 - 05:28 PM #8

Thank you for your solution but I think you are showing an Option Variant.

 

I would use this but for one thing. I have Variants for grind on these weights 250g & 500g but on the 1Kg pack we only sell in Beans. I also use the Variants to give quantity discounts on the 500g packs and the 1Kg Beans.

 

If I used Options for the grind all the grinds would show up for all Pack sizes.

 

Thanks anyway. Much appreciated



 
  • Jim01
  • Advanced Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 25-May 17
  • 84 posts

Posted 07 January 2021 - 09:11 PM #9

Thank you for your solution but I think you are showing an Option Variant.

 

I would use this but for one thing. I have Variants for grind on these weights 250g & 500g but on the 1Kg pack we only sell in Beans. I also use the Variants to give quantity discounts on the 500g packs and the 1Kg Beans.

 

If I used Options for the grind all the grinds would show up for all Pack sizes.

 

Thanks anyway. Much appreciated

ok, I tried this while having a cup of that exact kind of coffee as on screenshots :)

 

1. add product and save.

2. create options "weight" (0.250, 0.500, 1.000) and "Ground" ( all listed in your first post)

    and tick "required" for each option. save.

3. create forbidden combinations and save

4. on "General" tab - "Options type" - select "Sequential" and save.

 

Variants - ground.png

 

Variants - weight.png

 

Forbidden combinations.png

 

Product page A.png

 

Product page B.png

 

Product page C.png

 

If a customer selects both options and then decide to change the first option (weight), they will be asked to select the second option again.

 

I'm not sure about inventory tracking and discounts yet. Perhaps you could use "catalog" promotions with specific set of conditions. I'm still very new to all this and learning as I go.

 

Hope this helps.



 
  • Rick
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 03-Aug 15
  • 8 posts

Posted 08 January 2021 - 04:26 PM #10

Again thank you for your solution and this would work but I would need it to work with variations as we give quantity discounts, each a different rate for the different sizes.



 
  • Jim01
  • Advanced Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 25-May 17
  • 84 posts

Posted 08 January 2021 - 05:42 PM #11

Again thank you for your solution and this would work but I would need it to work with variations as we give quantity discounts, each a different rate for the different sizes.

In this case working with variations and creating dummy "please select" as separated products would be easier than the method above, plus setting and constantly changing tons of promotions for each product variant/option. Besides, I couldn't see how inventory can be tracked with variants - no fields to specify qty for each option as it used to be in older versions. That also could be a problem. 

 

Hope they will make these things better and more convenient for both merchants and customers.



 

Posted 18 May 2021 - 06:57 PM #12

I found a solution for this. I had the same issue and we changed the product_data.tpl at line 284 and inserted

 

{elseif $product.zero_price_action == "R"}
                    <span class="ty-list_price" id="line_discounted_price_{$obj_prefix}{$obj_id}">{include file="common/price.tpl" value=$product.list_price span_id="discounted_price_`$obj_prefix``$obj_id`" class="ty-price-num" live_editor_name="product:price:{$product.product_id}" live_editor_phrase=$product.base_price}</span>
                    {assign var="show_qty" value=false}
                {/if}
            {/hook}

 

Then we removed all the prices and left the LIST PRICE ONLY

Now our variation of SELECT SIZE had the full inventory QTY, but doesn't be allowed to be added to the shopping cart  as the button is missing for ZERO Pricing.