Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Does Version 4.10.2 Has Issues With Product Option Stock? Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • webalizeit
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 15-Jan 13
  • 2 posts

Posted 08 July 2019 - 01:03 PM #1

Well, since I cannot start a topic anywhere else, and since Cs-Cart support hasn't answered our ticket 3 days now, I am asking here.

 

Does anyone else gets a 404 error when trying to edit the Options Stock of a product?

 

in Products page, I click on In Stock - Edit and this page dispatch=product_options.inventory&product_id=1

gets me a nice 404 error. There is no way I can add stock to each product option.

 

I even reinstalled Cs-cart to a different server, thinking a clear and without any demo data installation would be working. Then I realized even in the official Cs-Cart DEMO I get the same error.

 

Any advise people?

thanks in advance!

 



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 19690 posts

Posted 11 July 2019 - 06:01 AM #2

Do you have access to the bug tracker?

 

https://forum.cs-cart.com/tracker/

 

I think, you will receive an answer faster there


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • Twin Star
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 11-Jul 19
  • 8 posts

Posted 11 July 2019 - 08:44 AM #3

Hi,

I too have been experiencing hundreds of 404 Errors for quite some time, but mine are a little different. 

If anyone can point me in the direction to find some information on how to fix it, I would very much appreciate it.

 

The errors appear in Google Search Console, under 'Coverage' and are caused when I disable a product. I am currently up to 281 Errors and as you can imagine, Google is crucifying us for this.

 

Here are the error details;

 

  • Submitted URL not found (404)    ! Failed              130 Pages
  • Submitted URL has Crawl Issue   ! Not Started      76 Pages
  • Server Error (5xx)                          ! Not Started       75 Pages

Despite there being 3 different errors, they all originate from 'Disabled' Products.

 

I believe we are running CS Cart version 4.3.6 and have a fairly large product base.

 

Again, I know I may be posting in the wrong place, but desperately need some help.

 

Thanks in advance,

 

Jon



 
  • webalizeit
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 15-Jan 13
  • 2 posts

Posted 11 July 2019 - 02:53 PM #4

Duh... I just had to enable the Options add on!  :mrgreen:



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 19690 posts

Posted 15 July 2019 - 01:26 PM #5

 

The errors appear in Google Search Console, under 'Coverage' and are caused when I disable a product. I am currently up to 281 Errors and as you can imagine, Google is crucifying us for this.

 

 

It is better to use Hidden status instead of Disabled one. In this case product will not be displayed in the store-front, but still will be accessible through direct URL. Later it will be excluded from the Google index


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • johnbol1
  • Never Re
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Feb 10
  • 4641 posts

Posted 15 July 2019 - 04:01 PM #6

Hi,

I too have been experiencing hundreds of 404 Errors for quite some time, but mine are a little different. 

If anyone can point me in the direction to find some information on how to fix it, I would very much appreciate it.

 

The errors appear in Google Search Console, under 'Coverage' and are caused when I disable a product. I am currently up to 281 Errors and as you can imagine, Google is crucifying us for this.

 

Here are the error details;

 

  • Submitted URL not found (404)    ! Failed              130 Pages
  • Submitted URL has Crawl Issue   ! Not Started      76 Pages
  • Server Error (5xx)                          ! Not Started       75 Pages

Despite there being 3 different errors, they all originate from 'Disabled' Products.

 

I believe we are running CS Cart version 4.3.6 and have a fairly large product base.

 

Again, I know I may be posting in the wrong place, but desperately need some help.

 

Thanks in advance,

 

Jon

If you disable a product then sure it will generate a 404, as it isnt seen by google. Do you disable it for any reason that it wont come back, in which case a 404 is correct.


Custom printed hi visibility clothing sale the UK's online hivis safety shop
v4.5.2


 
  • Twin Star
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 11-Jul 19
  • 8 posts

Posted 23 July 2019 - 02:13 AM #7

Hi Johnbol1 and thanks for your help. We decided to use the 'Disable' product as we do not want customers finding the links to products we do not have. The problem we have with 'hiding' products is that Google continues to display the products in searches. Since the link is only hidden, we get customers finding the product and becoming agitated that we do not have stock etc.

 

Is there anyway for us to Disable products and not get these errors or hide products and block the links?

 

Thanks in advance



 
  • Twin Star
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 11-Jul 19
  • 8 posts

Posted 25 July 2019 - 01:17 AM #8

It is better to use Hidden status instead of Disabled one. In this case product will not be displayed in the store-front, but still will be accessible through direct URL. Later it will be excluded from the Google index

Hi. We have tried 'Hidden Status' and waited for months for the link to vanish from Google and it never has. The problem we face with this is that customers search a product, find our website and even when we mark it 'Out of Stock' they still order and cause us lots of problems. How can we block these URLs when we remove products? We have many products coming on and off line all of the time, so need a straight forward solution to this. I doubt we are the only store that has this problem, so I am certain there will be a solution.



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 19690 posts

Posted 25 July 2019 - 01:44 PM #9

Hi. We have tried 'Hidden Status' and waited for months for the link to vanish from Google and it never has.

If you run these URLs in the browser, do you get 404?
 

The problem we face with this is that customers search a product, find our website and even when we mark it 'Out of Stock' they still order and cause us lots of problems.

 
Please make sure that negative amount is not allowed in your store. Out of stock items should not be available for purchase


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • johnbol1
  • Never Re
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Feb 10
  • 4641 posts

Posted 25 July 2019 - 06:30 PM #10

yes, hidden is only hidden for people, google can still see and crawl.

 

If the product is gone for good just disable or delete, 404 is not the biggest bad thing people think it is. Billions of 404 pages are generated every day as pages/products come and go around the globe, google sees it, tries a couple of times then slowly demotes or removes it,

 

If you really want to give folk an option, use the redirect rules to send to a page stating that product is deleted, here is a selection you may be interested in. 

 

I delete products to 404 every day and still maintain rank.


Custom printed hi visibility clothing sale the UK's online hivis safety shop
v4.5.2


 
  • Twin Star
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 11-Jul 19
  • 8 posts

Posted 06 August 2019 - 03:42 AM #11

If you run these URLs in the browser, do you get 404?
 

 
Please make sure that negative amount is not allowed in your store. Out of stock items should not be available for purchase

If the item is 'Disabled' I get a 404 Error. If the item is 'Hidden' and I use the link, the item simply appears as if it were 'Active'.

 

How do make sure "Negative amount is not allowed"?



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 19690 posts

Posted 06 August 2019 - 06:28 AM #12

If the item is 'Disabled' I get a 404 Error. If the item is 'Hidden' and I use the link, the item simply appears as if it were 'Active'.

 

How do make sure "Negative amount is not allowed"?

 

Settings -> General -> Allow negative amount in inventory


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • Twin Star
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 11-Jul 19
  • 8 posts

Posted 06 August 2019 - 07:48 AM #13

Settings -> General -> Allow negative amount in inventory

I have just checked Settings -> General and there is no option for "Allow negative amount in inventory". Could this be because we are running CS Cart version 4.3.6?



 
  • Twin Star
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 11-Jul 19
  • 8 posts

Posted 06 August 2019 - 07:50 AM #14

I have just checked Settings -> General and there is no option for "Allow negative amount in inventory". Could this be because we are running CS Cart version 4.3.6?

Sorry. Is it "Show out of stock products:"?



 
  • johnbol1
  • Never Re
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Feb 10
  • 4641 posts

Posted 06 August 2019 - 09:13 AM #15

settings>general in 4.5

and Im sure it was same in 4.3

https://prnt.sc/ooyu47


Custom printed hi visibility clothing sale the UK's online hivis safety shop
v4.5.2


 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 19690 posts

Posted 06 August 2019 - 12:02 PM #16

I have just checked Settings -> General and there is no option for "Allow negative amount in inventory". Could this be because we are running CS Cart version 4.3.6?

 

No, your version should contain this setting


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.