Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Required Field Setup Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • Mr.Croquet
  • Advanced Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 22-Nov 13
  • 67 posts

Posted 21 January 2019 - 04:54 PM #1

Many of our products have options that are "required" to custom make them once ordered. In the "Editing Options" screen of a new or existing option, there is a check box for "Required". I assumed that if this box was checked, the customer could not add it to their cart if the field was left blank.

 

In the 0 (zero) position I have entered the name, "Select colour". If the name field is left blank, the entire line is omitted from list of options. It seems that if "Select colour" is left by the customer, CS Cart sees it as the "Required" field being filled and allows the item to be added to the cart.

 

How does one use the 'Required' option but leave the customer to fill in the blank?

 

We're using V4.3.1



 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11306 posts

Posted 22 January 2019 - 03:22 AM #2

It sounds like you understand it correctly.  If the required checkbox is checked, then all types except checkboxes must have values.  That doesn't validate the values, it only verifies that it's not empty.  Not quite following your description of the problem given I have no idea what your setup looks like.

 

If you're using a custom theme, then if you're having issues, it could be a theme issue.


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 19379 posts

Posted 22 January 2019 - 06:53 AM #3

Many of our products have options that are "required" to custom make them once ordered. In the "Editing Options" screen of a new or existing option, there is a check box for "Required". I assumed that if this box was checked, the customer could not add it to their cart if the field was left blank.

 

In the 0 (zero) position I have entered the name, "Select colour". If the name field is left blank, the entire line is omitted from list of options. It seems that if "Select colour" is left by the customer, CS Cart sees it as the "Required" field being filled and allows the item to be added to the cart.

 

How does one use the 'Required' option but leave the customer to fill in the blank?

 

We're using V4.3.1

 

 

What type of option do you use. For the Selectbox the system should create new variant automatically (called "Please, select one")


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • Mr.Croquet
  • Advanced Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 22-Nov 13
  • 67 posts

Posted 22 January 2019 - 04:46 PM #4

We are using a selection box in most of our variants. I've attached a screen shot of our variants. I don't see anywhere that the system has created a new variant automatically (called "Please, select one"). Could it be specified somewhere other than in the Option screens?

 

The theme is named Summit. It's a responsive theme from cscarttemplates.com

 

 

We have been experiencing other issues, most notably, a seriously too high online shipping quote being fed back from UPS. I think all of these could be resolved with an upgrade to a more current versions (now running 4.3.1). Any thoughts on a newer, proven stable, version? There are some comments on the latest Captcha security being unable to turn off and causing grief for the customer.



 
  • Mr.Croquet
  • Advanced Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 22-Nov 13
  • 67 posts

Posted 22 January 2019 - 04:47 PM #5

Here's the screen shot of the options

Attached Thumbnails

  • Acadia-Options.jpg


 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 19379 posts

Posted 23 January 2019 - 07:34 AM #6

We are using a selection box in most of our variants. I've attached a screen shot of our variants. I don't see anywhere that the system has created a new variant automatically (called "Please, select one"). Could it be specified somewhere other than in the Option screens?

 

New variants is not displayed in the admin panel, but added in the store-front automatically

 

 

We have been experiencing other issues, most notably, a seriously too high online shipping quote being fed back from UPS. I think all of these could be resolved with an upgrade to a more current versions (now running 4.3.1). Any thoughts on a newer, proven stable, version? There are some comments on the latest Captcha security being unable to turn off and causing grief for the customer.

 

I suggest latest version - 4.9.2sp3. It contains HTTP2 fixes and recaptcha works correctly


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.