Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

backup store file only,backup database only,What does this mean? Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • vega
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 14-Dec 07
  • 57 posts

Posted 17 January 2008 - 08:36 PM #1

I would like to know what is meant, that is precisely what is saved with:

backup the wholestore
backup the store file only
backup database only

I want to also know about the alert "Do not upgrade the live store!"

thanks a lot
------------------
Simone
Rome - Italy
Sorry for my horrible English ;)

 
  • The Tool
  • Been Here Way Too Long Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Mar 07
  • 3843 posts

Posted 23 January 2008 - 12:02 PM #2

backup the wholestore - backup the file directory and the database
backup the store file only - backup the file directory only
backup database only - backup the database only

If you upgrade a live store there might be activity going on whereas it may interfere with the upgrade.

 
  • Page
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Sep 07
  • 491 posts

Posted 23 January 2008 - 01:24 PM #3

So what happens to the images if they are stored under the file system? Do these have to be back up separately.

To upgrade a live store could I shut it down for a while wait a 30 minutesand then do it - having everything in place and ready to go and having done a check procedure before by again closing the store for a 30 minutes and making a back up.

In fact should I only really make a back up when the store is closed.
*** Trying to help and trying to learn ***
Running an upgraded v135sp3 to v2.0.12 on live store(05/02/10) but not really right after update by Dr SnoRocket

 
  • The Tool
  • Been Here Way Too Long Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Mar 07
  • 3843 posts

Posted 23 January 2008 - 01:33 PM #4

So what happens to the images if they are stored under the file system? Do these have to be back up separately.


The images will be backed up with the file directory.

To upgrade a live store could I shut it down for a while wait a 30 minutesand then do it - having everything in place and ready to go and having done a check procedure before by again closing the store for a 30 minutes and making a back up.

In fact should I only really make a back up when the store is closed.


No need to wait...check your store and if it is closed, then proceed.

 
  • vega
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 14-Dec 07
  • 57 posts

Posted 24 January 2008 - 09:02 PM #5

backup the wholestore - backup the file directory and the database
backup the store file only - backup the file directory only
backup database only - backup the database only

If you upgrade a live store there might be activity going on whereas it may interfere with the upgrade.



Thank you for clarification
------------------
Simone
Rome - Italy
Sorry for my horrible English ;)

 
  • george
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 10-Nov 07
  • 13 posts

Posted 16 March 2008 - 11:21 PM #6

I currently have lots of problems with the installation of cs-cart , so i decided to perform a clean installation.

I use cs-manager for the backup of the whole store (my products are stored in the database but as i saw i need to do whole store backup).

My question is the following:

Does the whole store backup includes cs-cart corrupted-problematic tables ?
I used to have cs-cart sp1 and then i moved to sp2 and all this problems with the backups made the database a little bit "bogus".

Will the "whole store" option backup also those corrupted tables (old tables from sp1) or just the skins + products?

Your help the the above will be much appreciated

Best Regards