Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

(Solved) Menu Links Not Translatable Rate Topic   * * * * * 1 votes

 
  • customer42
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 07-Apr 18
  • 17 posts

Posted 08 April 2018 - 10:45 PM #1

Hi,

 

Been busting my head over this.

The menu's in cs-cart are multilanguage, however, the links cannot be changed PER language.

 

I have a dutch menu, which needs to point to the url /NL/category

In english this url needs to point to /EN/category

 

This doesn't work, the name field translates fine though.

 

I've tried setting up 2 menu's in layout, but the layouts will stay the same in each language layout so that doesn't work. Any idea how to solve this?



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 20786 posts

Posted 09 April 2018 - 06:22 AM #2

Hi,

 

Been busting my head over this.

The menu's in cs-cart are multilanguage, however, the links cannot be changed PER language.

 

I have a dutch menu, which needs to point to the url /NL/category

In english this url needs to point to /EN/category

 

This doesn't work, the name field translates fine though.

 

I've tried setting up 2 menu's in layout, but the layouts will stay the same in each language layout so that doesn't work. Any idea how to solve this?

 

 

What kind of menu do you use - manually configured or generated automatically?


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    Multi-Vendor PLUS           USD 3100 (2775)
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      Multi-Vendor Ultimate       USD 7500 (6000)

 
  • customer42
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 07-Apr 18
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 April 2018 - 07:39 PM #3

I have tried both Megamenu and the default menu *dropdown horizontal*



 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11664 posts

Posted 10 April 2018 - 12:57 AM #4

If the menu items are done correctly, they should track language.  Note that 'EN' is an invalid language code where 'en' is correct.

So a menu item for en/this-category/this-file.html would be translated to: nl/deze-categorie/deze-file.html.


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 20786 posts

Posted 10 April 2018 - 05:32 AM #5

I have tried both Megamenu and the default menu *dropdown horizontal*

 

So do you use menu from Design -> Menus ? 


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    Multi-Vendor PLUS           USD 3100 (2775)
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      Multi-Vendor Ultimate       USD 7500 (6000)

 
  • customer42
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 07-Apr 18
  • 17 posts

Posted 10 April 2018 - 10:18 AM #6

If the menu items are done correctly, they should track language.  Note that 'EN' is an invalid language code where 'en' is correct.

So a menu item for en/this-category/this-file.html would be translated to: nl/deze-categorie/deze-file.html.

 

I'll try this. the problem i simply had was that i change the language when editting the menu. Then put in /en/category.

That didn't stick, i'll get back asap.



 
  • customer42
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 07-Apr 18
  • 17 posts

Posted 10 April 2018 - 10:24 AM #7

Thank you for your tip!

 

The way it works is putting in a url in this format in the field url: "categories.view?category_id=categoryID|fn_url"

This translates correctly and gets the correct CAT url for that language.

 

Thanks!



 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11664 posts

Posted 10 April 2018 - 07:51 PM #8

You shouldn't be manually addon the language.  This should be a "rules" function of the SEO module.  All you should enter is the leaf-node name (like my-category-name).  The SEO rules engine will add the appropriate paths, language codes, etc.  Please read the documentation on SEO for cs-cart.


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11664 posts

Posted 10 April 2018 - 07:52 PM #9

Thank you for your tip!

 

The way it works is putting in a url in this format in the field url: "categories.view?category_id=categoryID|fn_url"

This translates correctly and gets the correct CAT url for that language.

 

Thanks!

 

Yes, that is the way it is designed to work.  Let fn_url do all the work for you of building the proper URL.


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • saltwater
  • Advanced Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 14-May 20
  • 76 posts

Posted 18 July 2020 - 09:36 PM #10

You shouldn't be manually addon the language.  This should be a "rules" function of the SEO module.  All you should enter is the leaf-node name (like my-category-name).  The SEO rules engine will add the appropriate paths, language codes, etc.  Please read the documentation on SEO for cs-cart.

 

 

Hi ,

 

I would like to know if this is still true in 2020 ? I am trying to translate everything on my MV . but i am doing everything manually menus etc but i cant think  i should have to translate EVERYTHING , lots of manhours . i read that it should somewhat be automatic ?

 

I will read beter SEO chapter tomorrow , as you suggested , in the meantime , if you could shed some light , on whether if it is relevant in 2020 and if there is a tip or two 

 

many thanks 

 

best