Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Google Sitemap Addon Gets Hung On Processing Features Rate Topic   - - - - -

 

Posted 07 March 2018 - 02:06 PM #1

I'm trying to regenerate my site's sitemap.xml file by clicking the "Regenerate a sitemap" button, but every time I do that the progress bar goes fairly quickly from left to right and then hangs on "Processing Features." See picture. Help appreciated.

 

processing.jpg



 

Posted 07 March 2018 - 04:15 PM #2

Also there is no sitemap available at the URL where it says there should be, namely:

 

index.php?dispatch=xmlsitemap.view

 

Whenever I try to go there I get a 404 not found.



 
  • andnow
  • Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 20-Oct 16
  • 42 posts

Posted 08 March 2018 - 03:49 PM #3

Another sitemap adress is www.sitename.com/sitemap.xml .



 

Posted 08 March 2018 - 04:14 PM #4

Thanks. But that doesn't work either.



 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11429 posts

Posted 08 March 2018 - 08:57 PM #5

If you are getting an error when generating the site map, I don't think you should expect one to be there (anywhere).  Suggest you review your error_log to see if you had any PHP failures during sitemap generation.


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 19855 posts

Posted 09 March 2018 - 06:51 AM #6

May be timeout issue?


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 

Posted 09 March 2018 - 12:15 PM #7

Nothing in error_log.

 

 

May be timeout issue?

 

How would I know, and how would I fix that?



 
  • poppedweb
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Members
  • Join Date: 02-Aug 16
  • 553 posts

Posted 09 March 2018 - 06:41 PM #8

Nothing in error_log.

 

 

 

How would I know, and how would I fix that?

 

Well if you use NGINX you just search for 'timeout' in the error.log file (default location on unix var/logs/nginx). If this seems to be the case you just increase the time till a timeout (PHP can't override it as NGINX just kills the process).


PoppedWeb | sales@poppedweb.com | https://poppedweb.com
TurnKey Website Design | Add-Ons | Performance Audits | Dedicated Server Management
24/7 Support | Response within an hour (during working hours).

 

Posted 09 March 2018 - 06:43 PM #9

Well if you use NGINX you just search for 'timeout' in the error.log file (default location on unix var/logs/nginx). If this seems to be the case you just increase the time till a timeout (PHP can't override it as NGINX just kills the process).

And if I'm not using NGINX?



 
  • poppedweb
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Members
  • Join Date: 02-Aug 16
  • 553 posts

Posted 09 March 2018 - 06:50 PM #10

And if I'm not using NGINX?

 

http://httpd.apache....e.html#timeout 


PoppedWeb | sales@poppedweb.com | https://poppedweb.com
TurnKey Website Design | Add-Ons | Performance Audits | Dedicated Server Management
24/7 Support | Response within an hour (during working hours).

 

Posted 09 March 2018 - 06:59 PM #11

Not sure how that helps me...



 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11429 posts

Posted 09 March 2018 - 07:57 PM #12

In WHM's apache config, change 'Timeout'.  The default value is 300, but some hostings drop this down significantly.  If it's at 300, take it up to 600.


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 

Posted 09 March 2018 - 08:06 PM #13

In WHM's apache config, change 'Timeout'.  The default value is 300, but some hostings drop this down significantly.  If it's at 300, take it up to 600.

OK thanks. I did that, but it still hangs just the same.



 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11429 posts

Posted 09 March 2018 - 08:33 PM #14

Did you restart Apache after you made the change?  Not sure if WHM does that for you or not.

Unfortunately, cs-cart doesn't do much in the way of logging these admin type activities (sitemaps, import/export, etc.).  Doesn't even really report errors other than maybe a 'skipped' count in the output data.  But you'd be hard pressed to find out why something (or what) was skipped.


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 

Posted 09 March 2018 - 08:34 PM #15

Did you restart Apache after you made the change?  Not sure if WHM does that for you or not.

Unfortunately, cs-cart doesn't do much in the way of logging these admin type activities (sitemaps, import/export, etc.).  Doesn't even really report errors other than maybe a 'skipped' count in the output data.  But you'd be hard pressed to find out why something (or what) was skipped.

Yes, WHM told me to restart Apache after I changed the timeout setting, and I went ahead and did that.



 

Posted 11 March 2018 - 07:21 PM #16

So I opened a support ticket for this with CS Cart helpdesk. They responded very quickly, which surprised me since this is the weekend. They said there one of my third party addons must be conflicting with the sitemap add-on because when they disabled all third party addons, it executed as expected and created the sitemap.

 

So I guess I need to go through the third party addons one by one and see which one is causing the problem.



 

Posted 11 March 2018 - 07:28 PM #17

Found it. It's the Blog add-on by Cart Power.



 
  • MLikman
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 20-Apr 18
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 April 2018 - 07:12 PM #18

I am having a similar problem. I am getting a 404 error when I try to visit my sitemap url. When I try to generate the sitemap, The bar does not get very far and the dialog box disappears quickly. I tried turning off third party add-ons, and that didn't work. I couldn't find anything about it in my error logs.



 

Posted 23 April 2018 - 11:33 AM #19

The fix for me is to disable the Cart Power blog addon because Cart Power told me the only way to fix it is to upgrade (for a fee of course). I intend to disable the blog addon when I have time. Which might be a month or two. In the mean time, I can generate a sitemap any time I want by temporarily disabling the blog addon, generating the sitemap, and then re-enabling.



 
  • MLikman
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 20-Apr 18
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 April 2018 - 05:01 PM #20

I tried disabling all 3rd party addons, but the sitemap still does not work for me. I even tried disabling every addon aside from the google sitemap, and that didn't help either.