Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How Can We Change The Default Language? Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • Jamalla
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Sep 17
  • 239 posts

Posted 20 February 2018 - 07:29 AM #1

Hi,

 

Is possible to change the Default Language of the website?

 

Thanks



 
  • Cart-Power
  • Senior Member
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 12-May 14
  • 1593 posts

Posted 20 February 2018 - 07:50 AM #2

Hello!
 

Hi,
 
Is possible to change the Default Language of the website?
 
Thanks

 
You can choose the default language for the administration panel and for the storefront on the Settings > Appearance page in the administration panel: 
3ba941d1c6.png

If you mean something else, please, clarify.

Best regards,


Cart-Power.com / Cart-Power.ru (sales@cart-power.com) offers you:
CS-Cart add-ons :: CS-Cart themes :: CS-Cart development :: CS-Cart license
Работаем с англоязычными и русскоязычными клиентами (work with English-speaking and Russian-speaking customers)

 
  • Jamalla
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Sep 17
  • 239 posts

Posted 20 February 2018 - 02:13 PM #3

@Cart-Power : Many thanks for your reply.

 

Yes sure, i know about this option from the settings. But it's not solving our problem.

Let me explain please:

 

- In our website we have two languages: English (the default since we install the cs-cart) and Arabic

- Let's say that our main domain is: www.abc.com

- After enabling the default SEO addon we have two domains:

www.abc.com/en/

www.abc.com/ar/

- If the visitor enters the main domain "www.abc.com" he will be redirected to "www.abc.com/en/"

- Our goal is if the visitor enters "www.abc.com" he should go to "www.abc.com/ar/" instead

 

- I have already tried the solution you suggested but it's not working for us. Still "www.abc.com" goes to "www.abc.com/en/"



 
  • The Tool
  • Been Here Way Too Long Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Mar 07
  • 3732 posts

Posted 20 February 2018 - 07:37 PM #4

In seo settings there is an option to have language in the url.



 
  • Jamalla
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Sep 17
  • 239 posts

Posted 21 February 2018 - 05:54 AM #5

In seo settings there is an option to have language in the url.

 Yes correct .. we already set that .. that is why we have two urls:

www.abc.com/en/

www.abc.com/ar/



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 18922 posts

Posted 21 February 2018 - 06:24 AM #6

If the selected language is not stored in the session, CS-Cart defines language by browser language. So it should work like described out of the box


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • Jamalla
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Sep 17
  • 239 posts

Posted 21 February 2018 - 07:45 AM #7

If the selected language is not store in the session, CS-Cart defines language by browser language. So it should work like described out of the box

 

But what if the language is not stored in the session and we selected a language as a default language from the appearance settings.

 

BZEDGHG.png

 

- For example: when we put the domain www.abc.com in Google Search Console to be crawled and indexed , which index will be crawled: (no session here)

www.abc.com/en/ or www.abc.com/ar/?



 
  • The Tool
  • Been Here Way Too Long Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Mar 07
  • 3732 posts

Posted 21 February 2018 - 08:19 AM #8

So you want Arabic to be your default language?  If so, change the default in Administration->Languages->Manage langauges.



 
  • Jamalla
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Sep 17
  • 239 posts

Posted 21 February 2018 - 11:13 AM #9

So you want Arabic to be your default language?  If so, change the default in Administration->Languages->Manage langauges.

 

And then ? Sorry but I can not find from where to set the default language ?



 
  • The Tool
  • Been Here Way Too Long Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Mar 07
  • 3732 posts

Posted 21 February 2018 - 11:34 AM #10

And then ? Sorry but I can not find from where to set the default language ?

 

The first language in the list at Administration->Languages->Manage langauges is the default language.  You need to edit it with the default language that you want.



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 18922 posts

Posted 21 February 2018 - 01:45 PM #11

But what if the language is not stored in the session and we selected a language as a default language from the appearance settings.

 

 

- For example: when we put the domain www.abc.com in Google Search Console to be crawled and indexed , which index will be crawled: (no session here)

www.abc.com/en/ or www.abc.com/ar/?

 

CS-Cart checks the following (sorted by priority)

 

- language parameter in the URL

- language in the session

- browser language

- default setting


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • imago
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 18-Oct 18
  • 386 posts

Posted 25 January 2019 - 07:50 AM #12

CS-Cart checks the following (sorted by priority)

 

- language parameter in the URL

- language in the session

- browser language

- default setting

 

How to make Google and all other SEs index only URLs with sl=xx appended, as they are present in the sitemap? and ban in robots.txt all urls that do not contain that suffix?

 

If this is done then redirecting the visitor to any language-specific domain or subdomain is easy-peasy.

 

I hope @Jamalla has resolved his issue

 

If not, another solution might be to ask any new visitor to select his/her language before going to the site. I don't know how to do it, but this is the logical thing to be done.



 
  • imago
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 18-Oct 18
  • 386 posts

Posted 25 January 2019 - 09:36 AM #13

Put that in robots.txt

User-agent: *
Allow: /$
Allow: /*sl=en$
Allow: /*sl=ru$
Allow: /*sl=de$
Disallow: /


 
  • Jamalla
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Sep 17
  • 239 posts

Posted 25 January 2019 - 01:53 PM #14

How to make Google and all other SEs index only URLs with sl=xx appended, as they are present in the sitemap? and ban in robots.txt all urls that do not contain that suffix?

 

If this is done then redirecting the visitor to any language-specific domain or subdomain is easy-peasy.

 

I hope @Jamalla has resolved his issue

 

If not, another solution might be to ask any new visitor to select his/her language before going to the site. I don't know how to do it, but this is the logical thing to be done.

 

Hi Imago ..

 

No we did not .. :)



 
  • imago
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 18-Oct 18
  • 386 posts

Posted 25 January 2019 - 02:28 PM #15

Hi Imago ..

 

No we did not .. :)

 

If you have one installation of CS-Cart and just use the language param in the URL as set in the SEO addon, then you have no worries at all because ... see the priority list posted by @eComLabs

 

Still, if this default prioritization doesn't work for you, install some GeoIP solution - there is now a promotion on GeoIP Languages here

https://www.webgraph...nguages-v4.html

 

But if these are two separate folders of sub-domains, or parked domains, then the GeoIP will work only on one of them.

Just bought it and know for sure.