Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Exporting Data Feeds Issue Comma Delimiter? Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • cool999
  • Senior Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 26-Jul 12
  • 269 posts

Posted 09 August 2017 - 12:38 PM #1

Hi, I am trying to export data feeds having COMMA (,) delimiter as TAB & Semi Colon is very messy and becomes difficult to figure out which column is it. 

 

Now the issue is when I generate COMMA Delimiter feeds it creates problems in Categories that have comma, In google categories which have comma and if there is meta keywords or meta description having comma.

 

So basically what I understood was that the moment cs-cart finds a COMMA(,) , it makes a new column for that particular product attribute.

 

Kindly help me fix the issue as I want to use these feeds to upload products on google shopping ads and facebook.



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 20793 posts

Posted 09 August 2017 - 02:16 PM #2

It should not cause this problem since CS-Cart puts data to quote. E.g.

Product code,Categories
"ABC1000","Test category///second,test///final"

GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    Multi-Vendor PLUS           USD 3100 (2775)
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      Multi-Vendor Ultimate       USD 7500 (6000)

 
  • cool999
  • Senior Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 26-Jul 12
  • 269 posts

Posted 09 August 2017 - 04:08 PM #3

What should not cause the problem? Can you please elaborate?
I am tryying to export using Comma(,) delimiter as it gives me column wise feeds but the moment there is a comma(,) anywhere in text, category name, google category name meta details etc it puts them in different column.

It should not cause this problem since CS-Cart puts data to quote. E.g.

Product code,Categories
"ABC1000","Test category///second,test///final"


 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11667 posts

Posted 09 August 2017 - 06:02 PM #4

What should not cause the problem? Can you please elaborate?
I am tryying to export using Comma(,) delimiter as it gives me column wise feeds but the moment there is a comma(,) anywhere in text, category name, google category name meta details etc it puts them in different column.
 

Given that the 2nd column is enclosed in quotation marks, the comma will not be seen as a column separator if someone is honoring the CSV statnadards.  Google certainly should be.  My guess is that you have something that is filtering out the quotes around column data and that's what's causing your problem.


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • cool999
  • Senior Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 26-Jul 12
  • 269 posts

Posted 10 August 2017 - 04:16 AM #5

But I am afraid this is not happening in my case. The moment trhere is a comma, it is putting the next word or sentence in the next column for some of the products. For eg. If I try to extract meta keywords which are separated by comma(,) then each keyword goes into new column. Same happens when there is comma(,) in category name or google category name. Can you suggest what is filtering it. I really cannot understand.

Given that the 2nd column is enclosed in quotation marks, the comma will not be seen as a column separator if someone is honoring the CSV statnadards. Google certainly should be. My guess is that you have something that is filtering out the quotes around column data and that's what's causing your problem.



 
  • cool999
  • Senior Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 26-Jul 12
  • 269 posts

Posted 11 August 2017 - 01:52 AM #6

I think i managed to make it work. The enclosure was empty under data feeds settings. When I put " there it worked. Thanks both of you for replying and trying to help. :)

But I am afraid this is not happening in my case. The moment trhere is a comma, it is putting the next word or sentence in the next column for some of the products. For eg. If I try to extract meta keywords which are separated by comma(,) then each keyword goes into new column. Same happens when there is comma(,) in category name or google category name. Can you suggest what is filtering it. I really cannot understand.



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 20793 posts

Posted 11 August 2017 - 06:42 AM #7

I think i managed to make it work. The enclosure was empty under data feeds settings. When I put " there it worked. Thanks both of you for replying and trying to help. :)
 

 

Thank you for keeping us updated!


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    Multi-Vendor PLUS           USD 3100 (2775)
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      Multi-Vendor Ultimate       USD 7500 (6000)

 

Posted 20 October 2017 - 10:03 PM #8

I think i managed to make it work. The enclosure was empty under data feeds settings. When I put " there it worked. Thanks both of you for replying and trying to help. :)
 

 

Can you please tell me more about how you managed to make it work, because I have had the exact same problem of it reading commas withing the " ".   Where did you find the data feeds setting?



 
  • The Tool
  • Been Here Way Too Long Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Mar 07
  • 3917 posts

Posted 21 October 2017 - 12:21 PM #9

Attached File  Screenshot-2017-10-21 Add-ons Data feeds - Administration panel.png   323.82KB   3 downloads