Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Uploaded Images Do Not Appear In Store Front Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • RK_56
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 33 posts

Posted 03 November 2016 - 05:30 PM #1

Hi,

 

I have uploaded new images for existing products in the store via FTP. I can see the images in this path:

 

/public_html/var/files/1/exim/backup/images/

 

I have uploaded a CSV file for the images and regenerated the thumbnails and cleared the store cache.

 

Yet, I don't have the new images. I've looked over the kb documentation and I don't know why the old images remain on the store front. The old images were replaced with the new ones with the FTP upload.

 

The answer may be obvious but I re-read the help and I still can't see the new images.

 

Thank you for any assistance.



 
  • Darius
  • Douchebag
  • Members
  • Join Date: 20-Apr 08
  • 3315 posts

Posted 03 November 2016 - 06:07 PM #2

I am with cs cart for many years, never managed to import images successfully...



 
  • RK_56
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 33 posts

Posted 03 November 2016 - 07:07 PM #3

Well, Darius, that's not a good sign. I have 2K+ images.



 
  • The Tool
  • Been Here Way Too Long Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Mar 07
  • 3870 posts

Posted 03 November 2016 - 08:15 PM #4

I import images via csv all of the time without issue.  Provide an example of your first 2 lines of the csv.



 
  • RK_56
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 33 posts

Posted 03 November 2016 - 08:25 PM #5

This is from my CSV file in Excel:

 

 

 

Product code    Pair type    Thumbnail    Detailed image
ajp051    M        /exim/backup/images/ajp051.JPG#{[en]:Katy: Diesels to the Gulf;}
 



 
  • johnbol1
  • Never Re
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Feb 10
  • 4701 posts

Posted 03 November 2016 - 08:51 PM #6

Just upload detailed image and let the thumbnail generate itsself


Custom printed hi visibility clothing sale the UK's online hivis safety shop
v4.5.2


 
  • RK_56
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 33 posts

Posted 03 November 2016 - 09:05 PM #7

Hi John,

 

Yes, I have done that, but the images are not updated in the store. They are in the file, though. I have cleared the cache.

 

Randy



 
  • The Tool
  • Been Here Way Too Long Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Mar 07
  • 3870 posts

Posted 03 November 2016 - 09:06 PM #8

I just use the Product import instead of Image import.

 

Product code    Detailed image     Language
ajp051    exim/backup/images/ajp051.JPG#{[en]:Katy: Diesels to the Gulf;}    en



 
  • Darius
  • Douchebag
  • Members
  • Join Date: 20-Apr 08
  • 3315 posts

Posted 03 November 2016 - 09:16 PM #9

What if u got ~3gb images. Should they all be in single folder?

 
  • The Tool
  • Been Here Way Too Long Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Mar 07
  • 3870 posts

Posted 03 November 2016 - 09:17 PM #10

What if u got ~3gb images. Should they all be in single folder?

 

Yes



 
  • RK_56
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 33 posts

Posted 03 November 2016 - 10:27 PM #11

The Tool,

 

Do you use Excel? The KB talks about a text editor. I just looked at the files in cpanel, and I had many text files. Also, weird files such as: ajp051-jklmn.jpg which I don't have and didn't upload.

 

I'm wondering if using Excel is the problem. I'm going to try the Open Office spreadsheet and see what happens.



 
  • johnbol1
  • Never Re
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Feb 10
  • 4701 posts

Posted 03 November 2016 - 11:19 PM #12

The Tool,

 

Do you use Excel? The KB talks about a text editor. I just looked at the files in cpanel, and I had many text files. Also, weird files such as: ajp051-jklmn.jpg which I don't have and didn't upload.

 

I'm wondering if using Excel is the problem. I'm going to try the Open Office spreadsheet and see what happens.

 no excel is not a problem, I import thousands all the time, and as tool says, I use product import not image import, any issues, send me some paths an Ill try em


Custom printed hi visibility clothing sale the UK's online hivis safety shop
v4.5.2


 
  • RK_56
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 33 posts

Posted 05 November 2016 - 05:12 PM #13

John, Thank you for your offer.

 

What is strange is that I am using my home computer with a large display to look at my website and the main product images are in PNG format (small) and the secondary images are JPG format (large) which has me confused.

 

I didn't look at the URL before and this is my consternation with the images.



 
  • johnbol1
  • Never Re
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Feb 10
  • 4701 posts

Posted 05 November 2016 - 05:55 PM #14

If you can post the site link and the problem links, 

 

I do the same as tool said mostly, I just import from the products import and not the images import.

 

Maybe upload to a seperate folder, say /images/new and then direct your .csv to that, only takes seconds with find and replace function

 

JOhn


Custom printed hi visibility clothing sale the UK's online hivis safety shop
v4.5.2


 
  • RK_56
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 33 posts

Posted 05 November 2016 - 06:45 PM #15

Hi John,

 

Here are some examples:

 

https://www.arizonah...4-2014-dvd.html

 

https://www.arizonah...e-1-a-to-c.html

 

You can see the main image is a small size (PNG) and the secondary images is a larger (JPG) file.



 
  • RK_56
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 33 posts

Posted 06 November 2016 - 01:47 AM #16

I believe the software is recognizing my monitor as a HD device. My problem may be there.

 

Thanks to all for you comments.



 
  • johnbol1
  • Never Re
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Feb 10
  • 4701 posts

Posted 06 November 2016 - 09:16 AM #17

HI Randy, on a side note

the images uploaded are quite large and should be optimised, I optimised the sample you gave me and it came from 400kb to 80kb.

And as you say my image editor recognised it as a .png with a .jpg extension. so it has changed somewhere along the line

 

I have seen problems reported on here before with the hdpi settings for images being switched on, you could check there.

https://www.cs-cart....ays_support.htm

 

http://forum.cs-cart...g-to-400-width/

 

So has the import path been solved now then ?

 

JOhn


Custom printed hi visibility clothing sale the UK's online hivis safety shop
v4.5.2


 
  • RK_56
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 33 posts

Posted 06 November 2016 - 04:57 PM #18

Hi John,

 

Well, things are really strange. So strange, I haven't tried a new folder for images yet.

 

I deleted all product images including thumbnails and detailed images via FileZilla. I uploaded new, compressed images with this handy (and free) software http://faststone.org/. In the images file after refreshing the thumbnails and website were images I didn't upload at all. Considering I deleted every product image, I can't figure out where they came from. I even went to File Manager in cPanel to see if anything was in there before uploading. No images were present.

 

My problems all started after I activated the HiDPI add-on. I already had a couple thousand images when I did this. My original images were 240-300 DPI JPG's. I downloaded them and then uploaded expecting my high resolution images would work with the add-on. Ugh! It has been a can of worms ever since.

 

I will try the product rather than image upload first before trying another folder. I have a number of alien images to seek out and delete before I move on.

 

Thanks!



 
  • johnbol1
  • Never Re
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Feb 10
  • 4701 posts

Posted 06 November 2016 - 05:49 PM #19

Id be interested to see how it goes as I am considering using hidpi later when upgrading


Custom printed hi visibility clothing sale the UK's online hivis safety shop
v4.5.2


 
  • RK_56
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 33 posts

Posted 08 November 2016 - 01:48 AM #20

Hi John,

 

I've decided against it. The images become much larger files as PNGs. Also, since I sell primarily books which are found under more than one category, I believe this is why I was getting strange filenames that I didn't upload. For example msb1521.jpg would be found under msb1521-xysd.jpg. I have no file by that name.

 

Randy