Special Page Block

I have a page which shows products based on a specified category. I utilize the Products (product showcase) block to accomplish this.

I would like to take this a step further. I'd like to only show products assigned to a specified user group. Is this possible? It can either be simple where you enter the user group ID or select from a list of user groups.

If it is possible, how would I accomplish it? I'm not an expert in custom configuration, so please provide some detail.

If it is not directly feasible, is there a way to add an entirely new block to build on?

Or do you have to implement this via an add-on?

Thank you!

But if you assign products to specific user group, customers without this group will not see the block, right? Or you want to show products even they are not available for the customers?

But if you assign products to specific user group, customers without this group will not see the block, right? Or you want to show products even they are not available for the customers?

That is true, but we are not using it as a traditional customer based cart. For us, we will need to utilize the user group product assignments.

You should be able to create a function (I.e. products_by_group((array)$group_ids, (array)$categories=array()); ) where this would return a list of products from the specified categories (or all if empty) that are available only for one or more of the group_ids in $group_ids. This function would return the list of product_ids that would be applied to your template as the 'filling_type'. You would reference that filling_type in the block_manager schema.