Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

The Proper Way To Migrate Cs-Cart From One Server To Another Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • yckelvin
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 22-May 15
  • 39 posts

Posted 08 December 2015 - 02:04 AM #1

Dear Sir/Madam,

 

I tried to backup cs-cart from original server and restore it on new server. My cs-cart version is 4.3.4. 

 

I firstly setup a trial version of cs-cart on my new server. I restore the backup copy I made on original server. 

 

On the new server, I did rename the admin.php to storeadmin.php and start to restore by using the backup file, the process looks like to extract the .tgz file, after a while, load error found, I check with the file, the storeadmin.php lost. Now I can't continue the restore.

 

What is the proper way to migrate cs-cart from one server to another? Is there any documentation show the procedure step by step?

 

By the way, how to migrate the license? 

 

Best regards,

 

Kelvin.



 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 10959 posts

Posted 08 December 2015 - 03:27 AM #2

Use a method outside of cs-cart rather than trying to restore something youare in the middle of.....

I.e.

Create an archive of your files.

Create a mysqldump of your database.

 

Restore your archive of files.

Import the mysqldump of your database.

 

Change config.local.php to reflect the new names/settings.

Once admin is up and available, edit the cscart_companies table (or edit the companies within cs-cart) and set the proper storefront URL.


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3081 posts

Posted 08 December 2015 - 05:39 AM #3

You can find the documentation here: http://kb.cs-cart.co...-another-server


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Mega SEO Package - All you need for your SEO


 
  • ThomH
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 20-Nov 07
  • 1477 posts

Posted 08 December 2015 - 10:06 AM #4

The steps from documentation linked may fail if there are third party add-ons.

tbirnseth described exactly all steps, is a better way.

If you have shell access and familiar a bit with linux commands, then the migration is more easy.

Also if cPanel is available, there is an easy backup/restore feature.


WebGraphiq offers a wide range of professionally developed, ready to use CS-Cart add-ons to provide additional functionality and boost your sales. The oldest active CS-Cart add-on development team. -- Since 2006 --


CS-CART ADD-ONS | FREE QUOTE | CS-CART DEVELOPMENT | @webgraphiq


 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3081 posts

Posted 08 December 2015 - 12:21 PM #5

The steps from documentation linked may fail if there are third party add-ons.

tbirnseth described exactly all steps, is a better way.

If you have shell access and familiar a bit with linux commands, then the migration is more easy.

Also if cPanel is available, there is an easy backup/restore feature.

 

Why should it fail with 3rd party add-ons? It moves all database and all files. It does not matter whether there are some add-ons or not.


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Mega SEO Package - All you need for your SEO


 
  • yckelvin
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 22-May 15
  • 39 posts

Posted 08 December 2015 - 01:35 PM #6

You can find the documentation here: http://kb.cs-cart.co...-another-server

 

I read this, I have problem when installing the new cs-cart 

The URL rewrite engine is disabled. Subpath-based storefront URLs will not work

Although it doesn't affect the installation, I continue, after I overwrite the files and restore the database, I can't see the menu " Add-ons | Administration | Settings | Design " on the top. My backup has two storefronts using subdirectory.

 

My first question: Is mod_security the reason I can't see the menu after restore?  

Second question: How can I run the new cs-cart on new server and ensure everythings ok before I release the license from old server, once I change the full license to free license, then all my storefront not work on old server. It is not save to me to migrate the server without having a full testing on new server.

 

My migration steps as below:

  1. Zip the whole folder of cs-cart on old server
  2. Backup from admin panel (do I need to backup each storefront one by one?)
  3. New install the cs-cart with same version on new server
  4. Rename config.local.php on new server
  5. Extract the zip file from old server
  6. Replace config.local.php with the renamed file
  7. Restore from admin panel
  8. Now I have question how I can transfer the license save.

Best regards,

 

Kelvin.



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 18348 posts

Posted 08 December 2015 - 09:16 PM #7

Hope the following article will help you to solve the issue with the SEO:

 

http://kb.cs-cart.com/seo-not-work

 

It is allowed to use live license on the development website. But this website should be closed for public. Just contact CS-Cart license department and ask them to add development domain as alias to the main domain of your license


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3081 posts

Posted 09 December 2015 - 07:55 AM #8

When you backed up all files on old server, you also included var/cache. Remove this folder from new server manually.

 

Open the administrator area (it should work after cache clearing) and re-configure your storefronts.


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Mega SEO Package - All you need for your SEO


 
  • yckelvin
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 22-May 15
  • 39 posts

Posted 10 December 2015 - 12:13 AM #9

When you backed up all files on old server, you also included var/cache. Remove this folder from new server manually.

 

Open the administrator area (it should work after cache clearing) and re-configure your storefronts.

 

Thanks for reply.

 

Recently I found the support from cs-cart was a bit slow. As we urgent to fix the problem and there is not alternative way to contact the support even though we have the support credit. 

 

I read https://www.cs-cart....on_database.htm, although it explains the backup and restore, I find it is a bit poor documentation.

 

I replaced whole cs-cart folder on new server by old server, of course I did remember to keep the new config.local.php, I logged into the admin panel and restored the database, I couldn't restore the storefront. I did backup the database from old server under All Stores (not individual store). Is it the reason I didn't clear the cache before the restore action? Should I need to backup/restore all stores individually? I could not find any documentation about backup/restore for multiple storefronts.

 

How do I migrate the license? 

 

Best regards,

 

Kelvin



 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 10959 posts

Posted 10 December 2015 - 01:27 AM #10

There are no additional physical storefronts. They are all logical inside the same database and the same set of files.


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3081 posts

Posted 10 December 2015 - 05:57 AM #11

After restoring database on new server, make sure you opened the 'Stores' page in the administrator area and configure each storefront properly there. And it is very important to manually remove var/cache after moving file to the new server.


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Mega SEO Package - All you need for your SEO


 
  • yckelvin
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 22-May 15
  • 39 posts

Posted 10 December 2015 - 06:41 AM #12

After restoring database on new server, make sure you opened the 'Stores' page in the administrator area and configure each storefront properly there. And it is very important to manually remove var/cache after moving file to the new server.

 

I backup the Database and restore it on new server, I am sure I remove /var/cache after moving file, I goto menu Administration > Stores, I could not able to see the two storefront in list, only the Smitech? If the step of removing files and restore database swapped, will it affect the result? Anyway, I remove the files and restore again, still only the Simtech store on cs-cart.

 

Best regards,

 

Kelvin.



 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3081 posts

Posted 10 December 2015 - 07:07 AM #13

Simtech store is included in the standard installation. But if you restored YOUR database, you should have your storefronts in this list.

Check your database, the ?:companies table. It should contain your stores.


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Mega SEO Package - All you need for your SEO


 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 18348 posts

Posted 10 December 2015 - 07:30 AM #14

I backup the Database and restore it on new server, I am sure I remove /var/cache after moving file, I goto menu Administration > Stores, I could not able to see the two storefront in list, only the Smitech? If the step of removing files and restore database swapped, will it affect the result? Anyway, I remove the files and restore again, still only the Simtech store on cs-cart.

 

Best regards,

 

Kelvin.

 

Looks like the database was not restored in full. Did you receive the "Done" green notification?


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • yckelvin
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 22-May 15
  • 39 posts

Posted 10 December 2015 - 12:56 PM #15

Looks like the database was not restored in full. Did you receive the "Done" green notification?

 

Every things look fine without error, I install the cs-cart using trial mode first, once I confirm the restore is fine, then I migrate the license, remove cache and restore several times, still can't see the storefront but the Simtech and all language disappear also. Although my old cs-cart is in Chinese as primary language, I don't think it is the critical issue.

 

Kelvin

Attached Thumbnails

  • Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 8.44.52 PM.png
  • Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 8.44.16 PM.png


 
  • oleg.gorshkov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3081 posts

Posted 10 December 2015 - 02:09 PM #16

Still noted - database (at lease the list of companies) is not the same. Maybe you should try importing your database dump directly in PhpMyAdmin.


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Mega SEO Package - All you need for your SEO


 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 18348 posts

Posted 10 December 2015 - 03:44 PM #17

If you provide us with the temporary FTP access, we can check into the issue


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • fahrezi
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 03-Aug 16
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 May 2017 - 07:26 AM #18

Hi,

 

I'm trying to migrate my cs-cart multivendor 4.3.8 site to the new server. I have to import database and update the config.local.php file.

But, when I access my site in the new server, I get this error

Fatal error: Uncaught --> Smarty: unable to write file /var/www/html/var/cache/templates/responsive/wrt591a6df1c1b492_68829712 <-- thrown in /var/www/html/app/lib/vendor/smarty/smarty/libs/sysplugins/smarty_internal_write_file.php on line 46

 

Can anyone tell me how to fix this?



 

Posted 16 May 2017 - 12:11 PM #19

Hi,

 

I'm trying to migrate my cs-cart multivendor 4.3.8 site to the new server. I have to import database and update the config.local.php file.

But, when I access my site in the new server, I get this error

Fatal error: Uncaught --> Smarty: unable to write file /var/www/html/var/cache/templates/responsive/wrt591a6df1c1b492_68829712 <-- thrown in /var/www/html/app/lib/vendor/smarty/smarty/libs/sysplugins/smarty_internal_write_file.php on line 46

 

Can anyone tell me how to fix this?

 

The issue is caused by file/directory permissions. Try setting permissions for var/cache directory to 777 recursively


Sincerely yours, CS-Cart Support Team

 

User guide       |  Developer documentation  |  Core API documentation


 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 10959 posts

Posted 16 May 2017 - 05:56 PM #20

Assuming you created an archive from your old site.  When you extract the archive in your new site you need to ensure that you are doing this as your cpanel account (or appropriate user).  If you do it as root, it will use the old user/group ids and they will probably be wrong on the new server.

 

Better to fix the actual (root cause) problem than to open up the permissions to everyone/everything.


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.