Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Wouldn't It Be Nice To See The Current Shipment Details From Admin Area? Rate Topic   * * * * * 2 votes

 
  • jimmyod
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 24-Apr 12
  • 459 posts

Posted 11 November 2015 - 03:34 PM #1

If I want to see if a package has been delivered, I click on order #, then I click "shipments", then I click Shipment ID #, then I copy the tracking # and paste that on FEDEX website. 

I do all this just to see if package has been delivered.

Is there an easier way??

I could not find any add ons.

 

It would be nice if, at least, the tracking number would be available as a link in the order detail page or even in the "shipments" area.

 

Only a suggestion  :mrgreen:

 



 

Posted 15 November 2015 - 03:21 PM #2

We need to convince Tony to update is Parcel Tracking add-on...  We had in on previous versions and it was awesome.

 

https://ez-ms.com/parcel-tracking.html


Elkhorn Graphics LLC
Cs-Cart 4.11.2


 
  • P-Pharma
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Jun 10
  • 1139 posts

Posted 15 November 2015 - 04:06 PM #3

It would be nice to have shipment status within CS-Cart for both customer as staff.



 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 12156 posts

Posted 15 November 2015 - 09:29 PM #4

It is very "carrier specific" and became a maintenance nightmare (especially USPS).  I only did 2 carriers (UPS and USPS) in the old Parcel Tracking module.  FedEx was a pain and I never even looked at what it would take to do all the various carriers around the world.

 

Happy to attempt this on a custom code basis.  But doing it as a production addon was a loosing proposition.


EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • gasngrills
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Feb 08
  • 251 posts

Posted 22 November 2015 - 12:01 AM #5

If I want to see if a package has been delivered, I click on order #, then I click "shipments", then I click Shipment ID #, then I copy the tracking # and paste that on FEDEX website. 

I do all this just to see if package has been delivered.

Is there an easier way??

I could not find any add ons.

 

It would be nice if, at least, the tracking number would be available as a link in the order detail page or even in the "shipments" area.

 

Only a suggestion  :mrgreen:

 

I agree with you on this 100% , even better shipments tracking #'s should be visible and clickable on the order detail page instead of going to 3 pages to get to them and also have the ability to edit the tracking # if you make a typo mistake.

 

I have implemented a work around where the tracking # is clickable in the shipments page, it is not a pretty mod but it works, may be someone can pickup on this and make an addon out of it

 

You will need to create few tpl files in /design/backend/templates/common

 

I only use UPS and USPS so I created the files for these carriers , you can easily add other carriers

 

Create : /design/backend/templates/common/track_ups.tpl

Place this Code in this file:

{if $shipment.tracking_number|strlen >0}
       
       <b>
       <a href="http://wwwapps.ups.com/WebTracking/processRequest?HTMLVersion=5.0&Requester=NES&AgreeToTermsAndConditions=yes&loc=en_US&tracknum={$shipment.tracking_number}" target="_blank">{$shipment.tracking_number}</a>
       </b>
     {/if}

Create File: /design/backend/templates/common/track_usps.tpl

Place this Code in this File:

{if $shipment.tracking_number|strlen >0}
      
       <b>
       <a href="https://tools.usps.com/go/TrackConfirmAction.action?tLabels={$shipment.tracking_number}" target="_blank">{$shipment.tracking_number}</a>
       </b>
     {/if}

Create File in: /design/backend/templates/common/shipvia.tpl

Place this code in this file:

{foreach from=$order_info.shipping item="shipping" key="shipping_id" name="f_shipp"}

{if $shipment.carrier == 'ups'}
   
   {include file="common/track_ups.tpl"}
{/if}
{if $shipment.carrier == 'usps'}
   {include file="common/track_usps.tpl"}
{/if}
</b><br>
{/foreach}

The last thing you need to modify this file:

/design/backend/templates/views/shipments/details.tpl

around line 51

change it to look like this:

__("by")} {$shipment.shipping} <br />{if $shipment.tracking_number} {include file="common/shipvia.tpl"}{/if}{if $shipment.carrier} 

If you use other carriers, just make the file for each and add the include file in the shipvia.tpl file

 

I know this is not pretty but I hope it will help.

 

Joe


CS-Cart 4.11.5


 

Posted 22 November 2015 - 01:20 AM #6

I agree with you on this 100% , even better shipments tracking #'s should be visible and clickable on the order detail page instead of going to 3 pages to get to them and also have the ability to edit the tracking # if you make a typo mistake.

 

I have implemented a work around where the tracking # is clickable in the shipments page, it is not a pretty mod but it works, may be someone can pickup on this and make an addon out of it

 

You will need to create few tpl files in /design/backend/templates/common

 

I only use UPS and USPS so I created the files for these carriers , you can easily add other carriers

 

Create : /design/backend/templates/common/track_ups.tpl

Place this Code in this file:

{if $shipment.tracking_number|strlen >0}
       
       <b>
       <a href="http://wwwapps.ups.com/WebTracking/processRequest?HTMLVersion=5.0&Requester=NES&AgreeToTermsAndConditions=yes&loc=en_US&tracknum={$shipment.tracking_number}" target="_blank">{$shipment.tracking_number}</a>
       </b>
     {/if}

Create File: /design/backend/templates/common/track_usps.tpl

Place this Code in this File:

{if $shipment.tracking_number|strlen >0}
      
       <b>
       <a href="https://tools.usps.com/go/TrackConfirmAction.action?tLabels={$shipment.tracking_number}" target="_blank">{$shipment.tracking_number}</a>
       </b>
     {/if}

Create File in: /design/backend/templates/common/shipvia.tpl

Place this code in this file:

{foreach from=$order_info.shipping item="shipping" key="shipping_id" name="f_shipp"}

{if $shipment.carrier == 'ups'}
   
   {include file="common/track_ups.tpl"}
{/if}
{if $shipment.carrier == 'usps'}
   {include file="common/track_usps.tpl"}
{/if}
</b><br>
{/foreach}

The last thing you need to modify this file:

/design/backend/templates/views/shipments/details.tpl

around line 51

change it to look like this:

__("by")} {$shipment.shipping} <br />{if $shipment.tracking_number} {include file="common/shipvia.tpl"}{/if}{if $shipment.carrier} 

If you use other carriers, just make the file for each and add the include file in the shipvia.tpl file

 

I know this is not pretty but I hope it will help.

 

Joe

 

Thanks a ton Joe,  this helps a lot.  Way better than copy and pasting all day..


Elkhorn Graphics LLC
Cs-Cart 4.11.2


 
  • P-Pharma
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Jun 10
  • 1139 posts

Posted 22 November 2015 - 03:41 PM #7

CS Cart should implement somethign like this. Saves a lot of work.



 
  • galtinbaeva
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3632 posts

Posted 23 November 2015 - 07:50 AM #8

You can use the standard info. Insert these lines:

                        {assign var="shipments" value=['order_id' => $order_info.order_id, 'advanced_info' => true]|fn_get_shipments_info}
                        {if $shipments}
                        {assign var="shipments" value=$shipments|reset}
                        <div class="sidebar-row">
                            {foreach from=$shipments item="shipment"}
                                {include file="common/carriers.tpl" capture=true carrier=$shipment.carrier}
                                <p>{__("shipment")} #{$shipment.shipment_id}
                                    {__("on")} {$shipment.shipment_timestamp|date_format:"`$settings.Appearance.date_format`"} <br />
                                    {__("by")} {$shipment.shipping} <br />{if $shipment.tracking_number} ({$shipment.tracking_number}){/if}{if $shipment.carrier} ({$smarty.capture.carrier_name|trim nofilter}){/if}</p>
                            {/foreach}
                        </div>
                        {/if}

inside the {foreach from=$order_info.shipping item="shipping" key="shipping_id" name="f_shipp"}, before closing {/foreach} in the design/backend/templates/orders/views/details.tpl file

 

Or to any place in this file


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Google Analytics Enhanced Ecommerce - get advanced ecommerce analytics


 
  • fleaffair
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 11-Jun 14
  • 537 posts

Posted 23 November 2015 - 07:05 PM #9

Thanks for the info


Warm Regards,
Admin | MVE: 4.2.4

 
  • JackConnick
  • Senior Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 03-Jun 12
  • 307 posts

Posted 24 November 2015 - 03:50 AM #10

FedEx has a desktop widget that tells you where all your shipments are, both outgoing and incoming.

 

Jack



 
  • gasngrills
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Feb 08
  • 251 posts

Posted 24 November 2015 - 07:52 PM #11

 I will update my mod above to show the shipments tracking #'s on the order detail page where you can click on it and track it.


CS-Cart 4.11.5


 
  • jimmyod
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 24-Apr 12
  • 459 posts

Posted 25 November 2015 - 05:58 PM #12

You can use the standard info. Insert these lines:

                        {assign var="shipments" value=['order_id' => $order_info.order_id, 'advanced_info' => true]|fn_get_shipments_info}
                        {if $shipments}
                        {assign var="shipments" value=$shipments|reset}
                        <div class="sidebar-row">
                            {foreach from=$shipments item="shipment"}
                                {include file="common/carriers.tpl" capture=true carrier=$shipment.carrier}
                                <p>{__("shipment")} #{$shipment.shipment_id}
                                    {__("on")} {$shipment.shipment_timestamp|date_format:"`$settings.Appearance.date_format`"} <br />
                                    {__("by")} {$shipment.shipping} <br />{if $shipment.tracking_number} ({$shipment.tracking_number}){/if}{if $shipment.carrier} ({$smarty.capture.carrier_name|trim nofilter}){/if}</p>
                            {/foreach}
                        </div>
                        {/if}

inside the {foreach from=$order_info.shipping item="shipping" key="shipping_id" name="f_shipp"}, before closing {/foreach} in the design/backend/orders/views/details.tpl file

 

Or to any place in this file

I can not find design/backend/orders/views/details.tpl file

The orders folder does not exist where you say.



 

Posted 25 November 2015 - 06:51 PM #13

I can not find design/backend/orders/views/details.tpl file

The orders folder does not exist where you say.

 

Try this path: design/backend/templates/views/orders


John Carroll
My Webshop: Alpha Spas

 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 22892 posts

Posted 26 November 2015 - 08:32 AM #14

The full path is:

 

CSCART_ROOT/design/backend/templates/views/orders/views/details.tpl


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 1210     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    Multi-Vendor PLUS           USD 3100 (2775)
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 4025     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 1459      Multi-Vendor Ultimate       USD 7500 (6000)


 
  • galtinbaeva
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3632 posts

Posted 26 November 2015 - 09:13 AM #15

I can not find design/backend/orders/views/details.tpl file

The orders folder does not exist where you say.

 

 

Yes, I missed the templates folder. Please use design/backend/templates/orders/views/details.tpl


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Google Analytics Enhanced Ecommerce - get advanced ecommerce analytics


 

Posted 26 November 2015 - 03:24 PM #16

This puts teh

 

You can use the standard info. Insert these lines:

                        {assign var="shipments" value=['order_id' => $order_info.order_id, 'advanced_info' => true]|fn_get_shipments_info}
                        {if $shipments}
                        {assign var="shipments" value=$shipments|reset}
                        <div class="sidebar-row">
                            {foreach from=$shipments item="shipment"}
                                {include file="common/carriers.tpl" capture=true carrier=$shipment.carrier}
                                <p>{__("shipment")} #{$shipment.shipment_id}
                                    {__("on")} {$shipment.shipment_timestamp|date_format:"`$settings.Appearance.date_format`"} <br />
                                    {__("by")} {$shipment.shipping} <br />{if $shipment.tracking_number} ({$shipment.tracking_number}){/if}{if $shipment.carrier} ({$smarty.capture.carrier_name|trim nofilter}){/if}</p>
                            {/foreach}
                        </div>
                        {/if}

inside the {foreach from=$order_info.shipping item="shipping" key="shipping_id" name="f_shipp"}, before closing {/foreach} in the design/backend/templates/orders/views/details.tpl file

 

Or to any place in this file

 

This puts the shipping / tracking number on the order details page.  But would it be possible to have that tracking number clickable.


Elkhorn Graphics LLC
Cs-Cart 4.11.2


 
  • galtinbaeva
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3632 posts

Posted 27 November 2015 - 07:18 AM #17

This puts the shipping / tracking number on the order details page.  But would it be possible to have that tracking number clickable.

No. The tracking number will be just displayed.


Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Google Analytics Enhanced Ecommerce - get advanced ecommerce analytics


 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 22892 posts

Posted 27 November 2015 - 08:04 AM #18

This puts the shipping / tracking number on the order details page.  But would it be possible to have that tracking number clickable.

 

Try to replace:

{__("by")} {$shipment.shipping} <br />{if $shipment.tracking_number} ({$shipment.tracking_number}){/if}{if $shipment.carrier} ({$smarty.capture.carrier_name|trim nofilter}){/if}</p>

with

 

{if $shipment.tracking_number}
{if $shipment.carrier == "usps"}
    {$url = "https://tools.usps.com/go/TrackConfirmAction_input?strOrigTrackNum=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "ups"}
    {$url = "http://wwwapps.ups.com/WebTracking/track?track=yes&trackNums=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "fedex"}
    {$url = "http://fedex.com/Tracking?action=track&amp;tracknumbers=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "aup"}
    {$url = "http://auspost.com.au/track/track.html?id=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "can"}
    {$url = "http://www.canadapost.com/cpotools/apps/track/personal/findByTrackNumber?trackingNumber=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "dhl" || $shipping.carrier == "ARB"}
    {$url = "http://www.dhl-usa.com/en/express/tracking.shtml?ShipmentNumber=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "swisspost"}
    {$url = "http://www.post.ch/swisspost-tracking?formattedParcelCodes=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "temando"}
    {$url = "https://temando.com/education-centre/support/track-your-item?token=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{else}
    {$url = ""}
{/if}
{/if}
{__("by")} {$shipment.shipping} <br />{if $shipment.tracking_number} ({if $url}<a href="{$url}">{/if}{$shipment.tracking_number}{if $url}</a>{/if}){/if}{if $shipment.carrier} ({$smarty.capture.carrier_name|trim nofilter}){/if}</p>

GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 1210     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    Multi-Vendor PLUS           USD 3100 (2775)
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 4025     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 1459      Multi-Vendor Ultimate       USD 7500 (6000)


 

Posted 29 November 2015 - 12:32 AM #19

 

Try to replace:

{__("by")} {$shipment.shipping} <br />{if $shipment.tracking_number} ({$shipment.tracking_number}){/if}{if $shipment.carrier} ({$smarty.capture.carrier_name|trim nofilter}){/if}</p>

with

 

{if $shipment.tracking_number}
{if $shipment.carrier == "usps"}
    {$url = "https://tools.usps.com/go/TrackConfirmAction_input?strOrigTrackNum=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "ups"}
    {$url = "http://wwwapps.ups.com/WebTracking/track?track=yes&trackNums=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "fedex"}
    {$url = "http://fedex.com/Tracking?action=track&amp;tracknumbers=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "aup"}
    {$url = "http://auspost.com.au/track/track.html?id=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "can"}
    {$url = "http://www.canadapost.com/cpotools/apps/track/personal/findByTrackNumber?trackingNumber=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "dhl" || $shipping.carrier == "ARB"}
    {$url = "http://www.dhl-usa.com/en/express/tracking.shtml?ShipmentNumber=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "swisspost"}
    {$url = "http://www.post.ch/swisspost-tracking?formattedParcelCodes=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "temando"}
    {$url = "https://temando.com/education-centre/support/track-your-item?token=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{else}
    {$url = ""}
{/if}
{/if}
{__("by")} {$shipment.shipping} <br />{if $shipment.tracking_number} ({if $url}<a href="{$url}">{/if}{$shipment.tracking_number}{if $url}</a>{/if}){/if}{if $shipment.carrier} ({$smarty.capture.carrier_name|trim nofilter}){/if}</p>

 

 

Thanks  eComLabs.. Works Great...


Elkhorn Graphics LLC
Cs-Cart 4.11.2


 

Posted 29 November 2015 - 09:38 PM #20

 

Try to replace:

{__("by")} {$shipment.shipping} <br />{if $shipment.tracking_number} ({$shipment.tracking_number}){/if}{if $shipment.carrier} ({$smarty.capture.carrier_name|trim nofilter}){/if}</p>

with

 

{if $shipment.tracking_number}
{if $shipment.carrier == "usps"}
    {$url = "https://tools.usps.com/go/TrackConfirmAction_input?strOrigTrackNum=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "ups"}
    {$url = "http://wwwapps.ups.com/WebTracking/track?track=yes&trackNums=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "fedex"}
    {$url = "http://fedex.com/Tracking?action=track&amp;tracknumbers=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "aup"}
    {$url = "http://auspost.com.au/track/track.html?id=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "can"}
    {$url = "http://www.canadapost.com/cpotools/apps/track/personal/findByTrackNumber?trackingNumber=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "dhl" || $shipping.carrier == "ARB"}
    {$url = "http://www.dhl-usa.com/en/express/tracking.shtml?ShipmentNumber=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "swisspost"}
    {$url = "http://www.post.ch/swisspost-tracking?formattedParcelCodes=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{elseif $shipment.carrier == "temando"}
    {$url = "https://temando.com/education-centre/support/track-your-item?token=`$shipment.tracking_number`"}
{else}
    {$url = ""}
{/if}
{/if}
{__("by")} {$shipment.shipping} <br />{if $shipment.tracking_number} ({if $url}<a href="{$url}">{/if}{$shipment.tracking_number}{if $url}</a>{/if}){/if}{if $shipment.carrier} ({$smarty.capture.carrier_name|trim nofilter}){/if}</p>

 

 

What do I have to add to your URL structure so that a new tab / window is opened when clicking the tracking link.?  I tried adding the  

target="_blank"

but that didn't work..

 

Thanks again for your help.  This a major time saver...


Elkhorn Graphics LLC
Cs-Cart 4.11.2