Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

My_Changes Method In 4.3.3 Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • lparodi
  • Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 08-Dec 14
  • 46 posts

Posted 22 July 2015 - 09:15 AM #1

Hello,
I'm trying to override the product page in 4.3.3 and I read all the documents/post I found about template override using my_changes method, but when I started to work on it, I noticed that the my_changes folder doesn't exists even if the "mychanges" addon is installed and active.

Following the path I can see all the addons folders but not the my_changes.

\design\themes\responsive\templates\addons


Do I have to create it manually or there is something else I should do ?

Thanks

 

Posted 22 July 2015 - 09:28 AM #2

hi,

yes, you should create folder manually - by default the 'My changes' module has no TPL files

best regards,
WSA team

 

Posted 22 July 2015 - 11:01 AM #3

create a new file here:
/design/themes/YOUR_THEME_NAME/templates/addons/my_changes/blocks/product_templates/custom_template.tpl

and copy the content of the
/design/themes/YOUR_THEME_NAME/templates/blocks/product_templates/default_template.tpl
file to your newly created file.

After it, go to "Settings > Appearance" page in the admin panel, and change the "Product detailed page view" to your new template. If the file not appears in the dropdown list, please check, that the my_changes add-on is turned on!

 
  • lparodi
  • Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 08-Dec 14
  • 46 posts

Posted 22 July 2015 - 11:29 AM #4

Thanks for the advice.
Before to start making massive customizations on the product page, I have tried to simply create a <div> in the product description and fire a custom javascript onmouseover, but it doesn't work.
I'm trying this because I want to create a collapsible description, but I prefer to start with something very simple to understand how to use hooks.
In the chrome code inspector i can see the div with the function call, but mothing happens when the mouse goes over the div.

In the product description i have a div like this:

<div id="mydiv" onmouseover="javascript:myaddon();">
<b>How to use:</b>
</div>

I have my custom script : \js\addons\my_changes\myscript.js

It contains just this super simple function

function myaddon()
{
alert("this is my addon");
}

The tpl file : \design\themes\responsive\templates\addons\my_changes\hooks\index\scripts.post.tpl

{script src="js/addons/my_changes/myscript.js"}

What is wrong ?

 
  • lparodi
  • Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 08-Dec 14
  • 46 posts

Posted 22 July 2015 - 11:34 AM #5

Thanks for the advice.
Before to start making massive customizations on the product page, I have tried to simply create a <div> in the product description and fire a custom javascript onmouseover, but it doesn't work.
I'm trying this because I want to create a collapsible description, but I prefer to start with something very simple to understand how to use hooks.
In the chrome code inspector i can see the div with the function call, but mothing happens when the mouse goes over the div.

In the product description i have a div like this:

<div id="mydiv" onmouseover="javascript:myaddon();">
<b>How to use:</b>
</div>

I have my custom script : \js\addons\my_changes\myscript.js

It contains just this super simple function

function myaddon()
{
alert("this is my addon");
}

The tpl file : \design\themes\responsive\templates\addons\my_changes\hooks\index\scripts.post.tpl

{script src="js/addons/my_changes/myscript.js"}

What is wrong ?


SORRY ... NOW IT IS WORKING ...
The clear cache command didn't work properly, by deleting the cache folder manually the addon started working ...

 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 753 posts

Posted 31 July 2015 - 12:07 PM #6

Hello Guru's.
Ive a question re my_changes under the mail folders.
Im trying to override the entire invoice template but can't get it to work., so would like clarification that I'm doing it correctly.

For the invoice created in the Admin > Orders side:
/design/backend/mail/templates/orders/invoice.tpl
would be overridden by:
/design/backend/mail/templates/addons/my_changes/overrides/orders/invoice.tpl ?

Likewise for the invoice Viewed by and emailed to the Customer.
/design/themes/responsive/mail/templates/orders/invoice.tpl
would be overridden by:
/design/themes/responsive/mail/templates/addons/my_changes/overrides/orders/invoice.tpl ?

Have I got that right?
Help greatly appreciated, as It just does not override!

PS... Yes indeed, i have cleared all possible caches, and even deleted the cache folder before clearing the local cache
Im a seasoned "de-cacher"

 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11427 posts

Posted 31 July 2015 - 10:00 PM #7

I think you want to use:
/design/backend/mail/templates/addons/my_changes/overrides/orders/invoice.tpl

EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 753 posts

Posted 01 August 2015 - 05:42 AM #8

Oops .. I made an error, now corrected above.
I am actually using
..mail/templates/addons/my_changes/overrides/orders/invoice.tpl as suggested.

But it just does not work. changes made do not render.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 2015-08-01 15_19_34-cPanel File Manager v3 - Pale Moon.png


 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 19842 posts

Posted 03 August 2015 - 09:26 AM #9

Sometimes it works and sometimes - not. We have faced this issue several times, but failed to find a reason of it

GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 753 posts

Posted 03 August 2015 - 11:29 AM #10

Possibly due to setting of addon priorities. I dont see any other addons with overrides for mail/templates/addons/my_changes/overrides/orders/invoice.tpl, so this should have priority.
Similar issue reported here: http://forum.cs-cart..._1832#entry1832
but closed without any solution.
my_changes addon.xml sets :
<priority>4294967294</priority>
Which I'm guessing is the highest it can go?
There are no other /overrides folders under any backend or theme /mail/templates/addons folders, but there are a number of /mail/templates/addons/[addon_name]/hooks/orders/ .
Is this a bug that should be reported?

 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 19842 posts

Posted 03 August 2015 - 01:05 PM #11

Possibly due to setting of addon priorities. I dont see any other addons with overrides for mail/templates/addons/my_changes/overrides/orders/invoice.tpl, so this should have priority.
Similar issue reported here: http://forum.cs-cart..._1832#entry1832
but closed without any solution.
my_changes addon.xml sets :

<priority>4294967294</priority>
Which I'm guessing is the highest it can go?
There are no other /overrides folders under any backend or theme /mail/templates/addons folders, but there are a number of /mail/templates/addons/[addon_name]/hooks/orders/ .
Is this a bug that should be reported?


Yes, please report the issue. We will vote for it

GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 753 posts

Posted 04 August 2015 - 03:15 PM #12

Bug Reported: http://forum.cs-cart...3224#entry23224

 
  • imac
  • Head of Product
  • CS-Cart Architects
  • Join Date: 22-Nov 05
  • 2074 posts

Posted 06 August 2015 - 09:37 AM #13

Bug Reported: http://forum.cs-cart...3224#entry23224


Fix has been provided.
Ilya Makarov,
CS-Cart Architect Team
Suggest and vote for new features | Report a bug

 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 19842 posts

Posted 11 August 2015 - 11:29 AM #14

Fix has been provided.


Glad to hear that. Thank you.

GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • remoteone
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Oct 09
  • 753 posts

Posted 11 August 2015 - 09:14 PM #15

Yes, the fix seems to work. Thank you imac.