Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Get Maximum out of 4.3.1: The Best Server Configuration. Rate Topic   * * * * * 1 votes

 
  • smithtd55
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 14
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 June 2015 - 11:39 AM #81

We have used nginx for the last 5 years with cs cart - it seemed to out perform apache 2.2 with the shopping cart system. We haven't tried apache 2.4 since it came out, so we decided to give it a try and to our amazement, it out performed nginx on our system (not by a much, but milliseconds matter as someone has already said). Maybe it's because apache 2.4 uses php-fpm as efficiently as nginx - I am not sure, but it may be something anyone who uses cs cart should think about. Also apache always used double the resources as nginx, but the newer version only uses slightly more than nginx. I am not an apache advocate by any means, but the newer version of apache is worth giving a try with cs cart.
And by the way, first byte time (which is very important with us) has went from the 1.5's with v 4.2.4 to the .2's with v 4.3.1. The drag time after the first click is virtually gone.

 

Posted 05 June 2015 - 03:52 PM #82

Finally had to turn off all apc and redis... It causes nothing but problems..

Blank White pages are hit and miss
Cannot clear the cache effectively
Cannot use Theme Editor. hit and miss. Only loads sometimes..

Reverted back to sqlite and database for cacheing and now everything works great.
No notice in speed difference at all..
Gtmetrix rates the site the same and page load times are the same..

So whats the point.?

Elkhorn Graphics LLC
Cs-Cart 4.7.1  SP3


 
  • forfun
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 22-Feb 11
  • 109 posts

Posted 05 June 2015 - 04:10 PM #83

Finally had to turn off all apc and redis... I causes nothing but problems..


try the latest xcache instead with gui, seems to working fine so far on 4.3.1
Hosted at DigitalOcean | 2.2.4 Pro Version & 4.1.3 | Айхор Хостинг

 
  • gleb.goncharov
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 04-Oct 13
  • 351 posts

Posted 07 June 2015 - 03:24 PM #84

All errors have been resolved....

We are finding that using redis is actually slower than database for $config['session_backend'] =
Actually 1 second slower on page load times...

Maybe you just should properly configure redis service on your VPS. According to my tests, redis is more efficient, than SQLite and file storage.

 

Posted 07 June 2015 - 05:23 PM #85

Maybe you just should properly configure redis service on your VPS. According to my tests, redis is more efficient, than SQLite and file storage.


Not running on VPS.. Private dedicated server.. Give us some insight..
How should it be configured... I can always learn something new..

Elkhorn Graphics LLC
Cs-Cart 4.7.1  SP3


 
  • mokeshop
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 27-Jul 12
  • 999 posts

Posted 08 June 2015 - 05:28 AM #86

Finally had to turn off all apc and redis... It causes nothing but problems..

Blank White pages are hit and miss
Cannot clear the cache effectively
Cannot use Theme Editor. hit and miss. Only loads sometimes..

Reverted back to sqlite and database for cacheing and now everything works great.
No notice in speed difference at all..
Gtmetrix rates the site the same and page load times are the same..

So whats the point.?


hello,
share thus issuses in the bugtracker. just to be sure.
regards

 
  • mokeshop
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 27-Jul 12
  • 999 posts

Posted 08 June 2015 - 08:48 AM #87

tip... i have tried to increase opcache memory consumption and to get like 256M aerver needs additional 5gb of physical memory...current 4GB ... so opcache engine is very resource hungry

 
  • kogi
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 16-Aug 07
  • 609 posts

Posted 08 June 2015 - 01:17 PM #88

tip... i have tried to increase opcache memory consumption and to get like 256M aerver needs additional 5gb of physical memory...current 4GB ... so opcache engine is very resource hungry


huh? how many stores are you running?

opcache.png
find / -type f -name '*.base' -exec chown kogi.kogi {} \;

 
  • mokeshop
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 27-Jul 12
  • 999 posts

Posted 08 June 2015 - 03:04 PM #89

1 my friend ;)

 
  • mokeshop
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 27-Jul 12
  • 999 posts

Posted 08 June 2015 - 03:10 PM #90

what i wanted to say: if the value is increased without enough memory to backup this it can hurt other processes on the server and in my case fatal error for storefront.... 4gb is not enough to get opcode run with memory consuption set to 100

 

Posted 08 June 2015 - 03:17 PM #91

Instead of Cs-Cart telling us these great ideas on how to make our sites faster they need to provide more information on how these options truly need to be configured. I understand that all hosting environments are not equal but there still has to be a baseline..

1.) PHP settings
2.) Opcache settings
3.) Redis settings
4.) APC settings

Not all of us are master server admins. I'm sure not. Don't believe most of us are, so we depend on Cs-Cart and this forum to point us in the right direction.

Elkhorn Graphics LLC
Cs-Cart 4.7.1  SP3


 

Posted 08 June 2015 - 07:02 PM #92

Having our server's PHP upgraded to 5.6.9 this evening. If there are any other settings that can be suggested please do..

Elkhorn Graphics LLC
Cs-Cart 4.7.1  SP3


 
  • kogi
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 16-Aug 07
  • 609 posts

Posted 09 June 2015 - 01:18 AM #93

1 my friend ;)


I think your server is misconfigured, also as seen in screenshot, cs-cart fits in 32mb of opcache
find / -type f -name '*.base' -exec chown kogi.kogi {} \;

 
  • kogi
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 16-Aug 07
  • 609 posts

Posted 09 June 2015 - 01:36 AM #94

And by the way, first byte time (which is very important with us) has went from the 1.5's with v 4.2.4 to the .2's with v 4.3.1. The drag time after the first click is virtually gone.


What are your server specs? I am on a VPS and ttfb is still only 0.6 (apache 2.4.6 , php-fpm 5.4.9 with 3-10 child processes)
find / -type f -name '*.base' -exec chown kogi.kogi {} \;

 
  • mokeshop
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 27-Jul 12
  • 999 posts

Posted 09 June 2015 - 12:44 PM #95

I think your server is misconfigured, also as seen in screenshot, cs-cart fits in 32mb of opcache


why just fit? why don't more? ;) idea was not only to fit but hold data for longer time.. not be cleared after mem is full..also to accelerate more files... but 32 is relative ok

 
  • mokeshop
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 27-Jul 12
  • 999 posts

Posted 09 June 2015 - 12:47 PM #96

yes CarStickersDecals some tips would be nice...like how much apc memory we need for two week storage? lets say 10k products...4gb 8gb?

 

Posted 09 June 2015 - 02:19 PM #97

Here are some settings I modified in the apc.. Seems to really have made a difference..

apc.shm_size=2048M
apc.max_file_size=10M
apc.num_files_hint=20000
apc.user_entries_hint=20000

:Please note we are on a private dedicated server with 16G of Ram..

Elkhorn Graphics LLC
Cs-Cart 4.7.1  SP3


 
  • mokeshop
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 27-Jul 12
  • 999 posts

Posted 09 June 2015 - 07:06 PM #98

Here are some settings I modified in the apc.. Seems to really have made a difference..

apc.shm_size=2048M
apc.max_file_size=10M
apc.num_files_hint=20000
apc.user_entries_hint=20000

:Please note we are on a private dedicated server with 16G of Ram..


very fast load time to Slovenia :)

 
  • kogi
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 16-Aug 07
  • 609 posts

Posted 10 June 2015 - 07:19 AM #99

Inching closer to target!

Screenshot.png

hmm, maybe I should be using the local test
Screenshot-1.png
find / -type f -name '*.base' -exec chown kogi.kogi {} \;

 
  • Darius
  • Douchebag
  • Members
  • Join Date: 20-Apr 08
  • 3240 posts

Posted 11 June 2015 - 01:07 PM #100

My host say that apc and redis are installed on my server but when I enable below

   $config['cache_backend'] = 'apc';
   $config['session_backend'] = 'redis';


I get service not available.. Do I have to reboot services or wholeserver after these changes made?