Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Speed Boost In Cs-Cart 4.3.1 Beta Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • imac
  • Head of Product
  • CS-Cart Architects
  • Join Date: 22-Nov 05
  • 2074 posts

Posted 16 February 2015 - 01:42 PM #41

Does anyone know what has changed in 4.3.1. with regards to import/export of Options & Option Combinations?

There was a lot of need for some changes here. See uservoice and its comments: http://Product optio...ns total import

I (sigh) do not have the expertise nor facilities to be able to download & test the beta version. So any details are very welcome!

Thank you in advance
Olof


In short, since 4.3.1 you have full control over options, you can export/import the following:
- option combinations (images)
- option exceptions
- option variants (price/weight modifiers, images)

Besides you can make update these properties not only with Export/Import but also using API.
Ilya Makarov,
CS-Cart Architect Team
Suggest and vote for new features | Report a bug

 
  • imac
  • Head of Product
  • CS-Cart Architects
  • Join Date: 22-Nov 05
  • 2074 posts

Posted 16 February 2015 - 01:43 PM #42

And the G+ button is not working on http://bullet.demo.c...phone-4s-black/

does it need to be configured or ???

Kind Regards
Džemal


This is a bug. Will be fixed in Beta2.
Ilya Makarov,
CS-Cart Architect Team
Suggest and vote for new features | Report a bug

 
  • johnbol1
  • Never Re
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Feb 10
  • 4717 posts

Posted 16 February 2015 - 03:30 PM #43

In short, since 4.3.1 you have full control over options, you can export/import the following:
- option combinations (images)
- option exceptions
- option variants (price/weight modifiers, images)

Besides you can make update these properties not only with Export/Import but also using API.


Good to see these improvements on product options side, all we need now is a product option order matrix and its all good :)

Posted Image

Custom printed hi visibility clothing sale the UK's online hivis safety shop
v4.5.2


 
  • P-Pharma
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Jun 10
  • 1138 posts

Posted 16 February 2015 - 09:13 PM #44

What issue do you mean? Please post a link to discussion or bug.

On this forum I have repeatedly read optimization advise to turn off the image zoom addon.
However a forum search does not expose these posts. This is probably because IP.Board 3.4 uses mysql full text search which is not very effective for searching large sites like this.

If I remember correctly the image zoom addon caused slow queries. Is this correct?

 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11454 posts

Posted 16 February 2015 - 09:30 PM #45

Generally an image zoom has nothing to do with the database. The image path is retrieved from the DB for the main pair and alternate images. All zoom operations are performed in the browser via javascript and thumbnail sizes are determined and generated in PHP code.

Shouldn't be any relation between the image zoom and queries to the DB.

EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • Olof
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 25-Jun 11
  • 209 posts

Posted 17 February 2015 - 12:00 PM #46

In short, since 4.3.1 you have full control over options, you can export/import the following:
- option combinations (images)
- option exceptions
- option variants (price/weight modifiers, images)

Besides you can make update these properties not only with Export/Import but also using API.


Nice improvements. However....I hope you are also fixing a pesky problem with import of Options field. Allow me to explain:

Problem: multi-language import of Options field (Import data/Product/Product tab) ignores 2nd language row. Result: the first language row is applied to all languages in CSC.Even importing each language separately does not help. The last language imported will overwrite all other languages present in CSC

Example: please see example text below. 1 product with 2 languages (EN & NL). The result being that in our NL CSC, the EN Options text is imported instead of the NL Options text.

"Product code";"Language";"Product id";"Product name";"Options"
"91001";"en";"110";"BASIC - Lever";"(Artitec) [[Y]]Set: S[Pair levers only,Single lever DIN-Left,Single lever DIN-Right,]"
"91001";"nl";"110";"BASIC - gatdeel";"(Artitec) [[Y]]Set: S[Paar krukken,Enkel gatdeel DIN-Links,Enkel gatdeel DIN-Rechts,]"

Why relevant: for many products we want to bulk-create Options in Excel and then import them into CSC. Creating Options for multiple languages in CSC by hand for thousands of products is a huge time inefficiency

Please, please fix this in version 4.3.1

thank you
Olof

 
  • Rafass
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 16-Jan 14
  • 304 posts

Posted 17 February 2015 - 08:37 PM #47

some demo?
this doesn't work http://dedic.ecom-labs.com/
internal server error..

 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11454 posts

Posted 17 February 2015 - 09:54 PM #48

some demo?
this doesn't work http://dedic.ecom-labs.com/
internal server error..

Maybe you should use the full link that they graciously provided. (http://dedic.ecom-la.../v431/admin.php) which works just fine.

EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • imac
  • Head of Product
  • CS-Cart Architects
  • Join Date: 22-Nov 05
  • 2074 posts

Posted 18 February 2015 - 07:45 AM #49

some demo?
this doesn't work http://dedic.ecom-labs.com/
internal server error..


We've installed the 4.3.1 Beta Demo at http://bullet.demo.cs-cart.com feel free to use it.
Ilya Makarov,
CS-Cart Architect Team
Suggest and vote for new features | Report a bug

 
  • psithu
  • Newbie
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 12-Jan 13
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 February 2015 - 12:35 PM #50

*
POPULAR

Brownleather you are right, there is an extra step in Filtering process.
This is done because we have removed the number of products near each variant. So now the customer first see the number of products he will sen and in case he click "Show" he will see the results. This was essential for speed optimization.



I agree with Brownleather that the extra step in the filtering process is problematic from a usability standpoint:
  • It complicates an interaction that should be as simple as possible and can be potentialy confusing to the user. For example: When the user chooses many filters options it's not immediately apparent that the indicated number of available products corresponds to the combination of feature variants, and not the last clicked variant. I can understand it, sure, but I'm not so certain about the average user.
  • Also it breaks user expectations, even for experienced users like me, because it does not follow standard filtering as seen in most sites.
  • It may be faster in page loading terms, but it slows down the user in terms of interaction.
  • It greatly diminishes the usefulness of dynamic filtering in certain cases: Let's say that a user wants to see in what colors are dresses with "mini" length available. With the current system she just have to check the "mini" variant and the color variants that are not available are automatically greyed out. With the new system when she clicks on the "mini" variant the color variants do not change. Even if she clicks "show", still all the color variants remain "active". I see this as a very serious flaw.


I strongly suggest that you consider giving as the choice in the admin to turn this feature on/off.


I would love to hear what other members of the forum think about this!

 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 20075 posts

Posted 18 February 2015 - 12:55 PM #51

some demo?
this doesn't work http://dedic.ecom-labs.com/
internal server error..


Yes, the correct URL is

http://dedic.ecom-labs.com/v431/admin.php

admin@test.com / admin
GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    Multi-Vendor PLUS           USD 3100 (2775)
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      Multi-Vendor Ultimate       USD 7500 (6000)

 
  • imac
  • Head of Product
  • CS-Cart Architects
  • Join Date: 22-Nov 05
  • 2074 posts

Posted 18 February 2015 - 01:41 PM #52

Nice improvements. However....I hope you are also fixing a pesky problem with import of Options field. Allow me to explain:

Problem: multi-language import of Options field (Import data/Product/Product tab) ignores 2nd language row. Result: the first language row is applied to all languages in CSC.Even importing each language separately does not help. The last language imported will overwrite all other languages present in CSC

Example: please see example text below. 1 product with 2 languages (EN & NL). The result being that in our NL CSC, the EN Options text is imported instead of the NL Options text.

"Product code";"Language";"Product id";"Product name";"Options"
"91001";"en";"110";"BASIC - Lever";"(Artitec) [[Y]]Set: S[Pair levers only,Single lever DIN-Left,Single lever DIN-Right,]"
"91001";"nl";"110";"BASIC - gatdeel";"(Artitec) [[Y]]Set: S[Paar krukken,Enkel gatdeel DIN-Links,Enkel gatdeel DIN-Rechts,]"

Why relevant: for many products we want to bulk-create Options in Excel and then import them into CSC. Creating Options for multiple languages in CSC by hand for thousands of products is a huge time inefficiency

Please, please fix this in version 4.3.1

thank you
Olof


Olof,

I asked our QA team to check this issue. I will keep you informed.
Thanks for the help.
Ilya Makarov,
CS-Cart Architect Team
Suggest and vote for new features | Report a bug

 
  • Olof
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 25-Jun 11
  • 209 posts

Posted 19 February 2015 - 06:49 AM #53

Olof,

I asked our QA team to check this issue. I will keep you informed.
Thanks for the help.


Hello Imac,
Thank you for taking this issue up with your team. I look forward to any results!
Regards,
Olof

 
  • mokeshop
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 27-Jul 12
  • 1010 posts

Posted 19 February 2015 - 12:39 PM #54

404 error onhttp://blog.cs-cart.com/2015/02/19/five-1-year-cs-cart-licenses-giveaway/

i hope one licence will be mine ;)

 
  • imac
  • Head of Product
  • CS-Cart Architects
  • Join Date: 22-Nov 05
  • 2074 posts

Posted 19 February 2015 - 07:24 PM #55

404 error onhttp://blog.cs-cart.com/2015/02/19/five-1-year-cs-cart-licenses-giveaway/

i hope one licence will be mine ;)


We have disabled the post for a while because the Beta2 was not released at that time.
Now Beta2 is released. It includes Store Import. and the post is active.
Ilya Makarov,
CS-Cart Architect Team
Suggest and vote for new features | Report a bug

 
  • mokeshop
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 27-Jul 12
  • 1010 posts

Posted 19 February 2015 - 11:50 PM #56

there will b

We have disabled the post for a while because the Beta2 was not released at that time.
Now Beta2 is released. It includes Store Import. and the post is active.


there will be some bugs :P

 
  • ThomH
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 20-Nov 07
  • 1573 posts

Posted 20 February 2015 - 08:44 AM #57

Great work.

WebGraphiq offers a wide range of professionally developed, ready to use CS-Cart add-ons to provide additional functionality and boost your sales. The oldest active CS-Cart add-on development team. -- Since 2006 --


CS-CART ADD-ONS | FREE QUOTE | CS-CART DEVELOPMENT | @webgraphiq


 
  • mokeshop
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 27-Jul 12
  • 1010 posts

Posted 20 February 2015 - 12:28 PM #58

We have disabled the post for a while because the Beta2 was not released at that time.
Now Beta2 is released.
It includes Store Import. and the post is active.


Hello imac,

when will

http://kb.cs-cart.co...tps-whole-store

updated for best practice?

Kind Regards

 
  • imac
  • Head of Product
  • CS-Cart Architects
  • Join Date: 22-Nov 05
  • 2074 posts

Posted 20 February 2015 - 12:35 PM #59

Hello imac,

when will

http://kb.cs-cart.co...tps-whole-store

updated for best practice?

Kind Regards


I issued a task for out tech writer. I suppose it will be updated within one week.
Ilya Makarov,
CS-Cart Architect Team
Suggest and vote for new features | Report a bug

 
  • mokeshop
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 27-Jul 12
  • 1010 posts

Posted 20 February 2015 - 01:39 PM #60

I issued a task for out tech writer. I suppose it will be updated within one week.

You said that google sharing will be fixed in beta 2.
and is there some timeframe when we can expect final 4.3.1?
Thank you in advance