Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Default Category Title Tag Structure Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • JackConnick
  • Senior Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 03-Jun 12
  • 272 posts

Posted 05 February 2015 - 09:31 PM #1

By default CS Cart lists the Titles of Categories with breadcrumbs of the upper categories ie:
<title>Manufacturer :: Nauticam :: Nauticam Underwater Camera Housings :: Nauticam DSLR Camera Underwater Housing</title>
This doesn't always give a very good result on Google.

If I type in "Nauticam DSLR Camera Underwater Housing" in the meta title field on each category I can get rid of the breadcrumbs.

But with a lot of categories, that's teadious. Is there a global setting somewhere?

The KB just shows editing it to a common default title and desribtion. I don't see anywhere int he SEO add-on that there's a way to change the way it works...??

Anyone know?

TIA,
Jack

 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 18348 posts

Posted 06 February 2015 - 09:33 AM #2

Each category has the Page title setting on the Meta data section. If it is empty, the system generates title from breadcrumbs

GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • JackConnick
  • Senior Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 03-Jun 12
  • 272 posts

Posted 06 February 2015 - 04:12 PM #3

Each category has the Page title setting on the Meta data section. If it is empty, the system generates title from breadcrumbs


What I want to know if there's a way to change that default. It's poor SEO.

Jack

 

Posted 06 February 2015 - 04:38 PM #4

What I want to know if there's a way to change that default. It's poor SEO.

Jack


Why is it poor SEO? It gives you total control of what you want to appear in the page title.

How many categories do you have?

 
  • JackConnick
  • Senior Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 03-Jun 12
  • 272 posts

Posted 06 February 2015 - 05:57 PM #5

It's poor SEO because when people search for a brand or general item they get a return like this; say "Nauticam DSLR Housing":
Manufacturer :: Nauticam :: Nauticam Underwater Camera Housings :: Nauticam DSLR Camera Underwater Housing

Instead of:
Nauticam DSLR Camera Underwater Housing

And we're ranked much lower than those who do.

We have a lot of categories. It's going to be a tedious change. It should be able to be set up in the SEO add-on or someplace.

Jack

 

Posted 06 February 2015 - 06:00 PM #6

How many is "a lot"? 50? 1,000?

Putting the breadcrumbs in there automatically is much better than leaving them blank. And you are given the option of granular control of the page title if you want it. Yes, it's a lot of manual work but that's what makes you better than the competition.

 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 18348 posts

Posted 09 February 2015 - 09:32 AM #7

If you still want to change default behavior, please open the design\themes\YOUR_THEME\templates\index.tpl file and replace:

{if $page_title}
    {$page_title}
{else}

with

{if $page_title}
    {$page_title}
{elseif $category_data.category}
    {$category_data.category}
{else}

Hope this will help to solve your issue

GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • JackConnick
  • Senior Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 03-Jun 12
  • 272 posts

Posted 09 February 2015 - 10:55 PM #8

Thanks!

 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 18348 posts

Posted 10 February 2015 - 12:26 PM #9

You are welcome!

GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • ionutemt
  • Advanced Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 07-Oct 16
  • 58 posts

Posted 21 February 2018 - 10:30 AM #10

How many is "a lot"? 50? 1,000?

Putting the breadcrumbs in there automatically is much better than leaving them blank. And you are given the option of granular control of the page title if you want it. Yes, it's a lot of manual work but that's what makes you better than the competition.

 

I have the same problem:

JackConnick is right because if you check all the link in the website whit a tool for exemple alexa.com - it get a lot of page title very long because the cscart put the title name in the category and subcategory, so you have a title like this:

Cartuse si Tonere :: Cartuse si Tonere Originale :: Cartuse :: Cartuse XEROX :: 2nd BTR Assembly (WC7500/7400), Xerox Workcenter 7425

 

And is not ok.

And not the title page is the problem, the problem is that in the title page the cscart put the category and subcategory.. why do this i really dont now



 
  • ionutemt
  • Advanced Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 07-Oct 16
  • 58 posts

Posted 21 February 2018 - 10:35 AM #11

If you still want to change default behavior, please open the design\themes\YOUR_THEME\templates\index.tpl file and replace:
 

{if $page_title}
    {$page_title}
{else}
with

{if $page_title}
    {$page_title}
{elseif $category_data.category}
    {$category_data.category}
{else}
Hope this will help to solve your issue

 

Hello

 

I did this and is the same.

Any help?

Thx



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 18348 posts

Posted 21 February 2018 - 01:43 PM #12

Hello

 

I did this and is the same.

Any help?

Thx

 

Start from deleting the var/cache directory


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • ionutemt
  • Advanced Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 07-Oct 16
  • 58 posts

Posted 21 February 2018 - 06:54 PM #13

I resolve the problem whit seo ultimate...addon

 

You have any ideea is i have the same H2 in all the site if is a problem... the "all category" is h2 in my website



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 18348 posts

Posted 22 February 2018 - 06:41 AM #14

Go to Design -> Layouts -> Categories and check wrapper for the Main content block

 

http://prntscr.com/ii54m7


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • ionutemt
  • Advanced Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 07-Oct 16
  • 58 posts

Posted 22 February 2018 - 10:28 AM #15

Go to Design -> Layouts -> Categories and check wrapper for the Main content block

 

http://prntscr.com/ii54m7

Unfortunately i dont have this option in mt wrapper:

 

Look:

 

http://prntscr.com/ii7s7b



 
  • eComLabs
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 27-Jan 14
  • 18348 posts

Posted 22 February 2018 - 01:56 PM #16

Unfortunately i dont have this option in mt wrapper:

 

Look:

 

http://prntscr.com/ii7s7b

 

In this case contact theme developer with this question since h1 and h2 tags are processed by wrappers


GET A FREE QUOTE | CS-Cart Add-ons | CS-Cart Licenses | CS-Cart Development | CS-Cart Design | Server Configuration | UniTheme and YOUPI
CS-Cart                USD 345     Multi-Vendor              USD 1250    CS-Cart RU                         24500 руб.
CS-Cart Ultimate  USD 775     CS-Cart + YOUPI      USD 545      CS-Cart RU + UniTheme    36000 руб.


 
  • ionutemt
  • Advanced Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 07-Oct 16
  • 58 posts

Posted 22 February 2018 - 02:22 PM #17

In this case contact theme developer with this question since h1 and h2 tags are processed by wrappers

 

I will try.

 

I was thinking that is a code that i have to put easy.

I was thinking



 
  • ionutemt
  • Advanced Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 07-Oct 16
  • 58 posts

Posted 23 February 2018 - 11:20 AM #18

:)