Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Upgrading From 4.2.1 To 4.2.2. Problem Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • UrKo
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 08-Dec 06
  • 161 posts

Posted 29 August 2014 - 03:40 AM #1

hi,
Just trying to upgrade and I get following message:

Insufficient disk space to back up the database

The database tables have not been backed up


I have plenty of space left, so not sure why this message.
Anyone has any ideas?

thanks,

Attached Thumbnails

  • Selection_001.jpg

UrKo

 
  • galtinbaeva
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3376 posts

Posted 29 August 2014 - 05:47 AM #2

Hello,

Please note that the database file size can be quite large. Are you sure that you have enough space?

Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Google Analytics Enhanced Ecommerce - get advanced ecommerce analytics


 
  • UrKo
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 08-Dec 06
  • 161 posts

Posted 29 August 2014 - 05:57 AM #3

Yes I have enough space.
I checked the DB it's 35M large and I optimized it as well.
But when I start the upgrade I get this message.

Should I contact my host? if so, what should I tell him?

thanks,

Attached Thumbnails

  • space.jpg

UrKo

 
  • UrKo
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 08-Dec 06
  • 161 posts

Posted 29 August 2014 - 11:59 AM #4

anyone? :confused:
UrKo

 
  • zeero6
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 25-Jan 07
  • 649 posts

Posted 29 August 2014 - 01:33 PM #5

I had the same issue and CSCART support fixed it and this is all they told me
"I disabled the disk space check "
Not sure where to disable it
It was when upgrading to 4.2.1 and now it does the same for 4.2.2

I did find it in the upgrade folder in uc_override.php
Just not sure what part to disable
But after comparing I think its this code hat needs to be disabled


// if (false === fn_uc2_is_enough_disk_space($file, $tables)) {
// fn_set_notification('W', __('warning'), __('text_uc_no_enough_space_to_backup_database'));
//
// return false;
// }

Version 4.9.3 SP1


 
  • UrKo
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 08-Dec 06
  • 161 posts

Posted 30 August 2014 - 04:42 AM #6

great. Is it 100% safe? :)
UrKo

 
  • zeero6
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 25-Jan 07
  • 649 posts

Posted 30 August 2014 - 04:39 PM #7

I am waiting for SCART support to answer if that is he correct location and code

Version 4.9.3 SP1


 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11442 posts

Posted 30 August 2014 - 08:13 PM #8

If you are waiting on their response in the forums, you might wait a while. Suggest you open a support ticket. But you still won't hear anything till at least Monday. And you might get a "we're too busy, we'll get back to you soon" response since they just released 4.2.2.

EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • zeero6
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 25-Jan 07
  • 649 posts

Posted 30 August 2014 - 08:32 PM #9

I did. That's what I'm waiting for. No hurry to upgrade anyway.
They helped me an never charged me and their response was very quick
Thanks

Version 4.9.3 SP1


 
  • zeero6
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 25-Jan 07
  • 649 posts

Posted 01 September 2014 - 03:25 PM #10

Got the response from Support

Thank you for the request.

Yes, you are right. Please remove/comment out the following lines in the var/upgrade/upgrade_4.2.1_ultimate-4.2.2_ultimate.tgz/uc_override.php file of your installation:
if (false === fn_uc2_is_enough_disk_space($file, $tables)) {
fn_set_notification('W', __('warning'), __('text_uc_no_enough_space_to_backup_database'));

return false;
}

after the upgrade package is downloaded (first step of the upgrade).

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Thank you.
---
Sincerely yours,
Nail Gafin
Technical support engineer


Version 4.9.3 SP1


 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11442 posts

Posted 01 September 2014 - 07:01 PM #11

So they add code to do a check and when it falis, they have you comment out the code?

This does not really seem like a fix for the check of diskspace availability. What is their solution in the next release? Try, fail and comment out again?

You have a solution, but it certainly doesn't identify the problem nor fix the problem.

EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • zeero6
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 25-Jan 07
  • 649 posts

Posted 02 September 2014 - 12:39 AM #12

So true. Hope they do fix it. Only time this happens was after version 4.1.5. Something had to change. I been upgrading till then without this issue.
Could it be with certain hosting?
UrKo who do you hot with?
1and1 here

Version 4.9.3 SP1


 
  • UrKo
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 08-Dec 06
  • 161 posts

Posted 02 September 2014 - 03:48 AM #13

thanks zeero6
Will try that :)

btw, not sure what you mean by hot?
UrKo

 
  • UrKo
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 08-Dec 06
  • 161 posts

Posted 02 September 2014 - 04:11 AM #14

well it worked..Upgrade complete..
Only thing I noticed is that I had to add two language variables in addon section:

installed_addons
browse_all_available_addons


UrKo

 
  • zeero6
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 25-Jan 07
  • 649 posts

Posted 02 September 2014 - 02:38 PM #15

Hi UrKo
I meant hosting

Version 4.9.3 SP1


 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11442 posts

Posted 02 September 2014 - 06:26 PM #16

There have been several validation issues reported and this seems to have occurred at about 4.2.1.
Unfortunately, they never try to really reproduce, they just point to code that obviously is returning an erroneous result and/or have a customer uncomment the check. If the check isn't necessary, why is it there? And if it is, why should it be commented out? There's a "root cause" to the problem that is missing and no one is pursuing it.

Suggest you post this issue to bugtracker also so there's some record of all these validation errors.

EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • zeero6
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 25-Jan 07
  • 649 posts

Posted 03 September 2014 - 02:21 AM #17

Thanks. I added to bugtracker

Version 4.9.3 SP1


 
  • zeero6
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 25-Jan 07
  • 649 posts

Posted 03 September 2014 - 12:32 PM #18

This was the answer from CSCART Support

This is quite a rare issue. It appears on some servers because the disk_free_space PHP function returns false even if there is plenty of free disk space. We were not able to examine this issue more carefully, but it seems to be caused by some server issues.


Version 4.9.3 SP1


 
  • UrKo
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 08-Dec 06
  • 161 posts

Posted 03 September 2014 - 01:57 PM #19

So this means I should tell that to my host?
UrKo

 
  • galtinbaeva
  • CS-Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 06-Dec 13
  • 3376 posts

Posted 04 September 2014 - 01:05 PM #20

So this means I should tell that to my host?


Yes, if this is a server issue, they should be able to shed some light on it.

Simtech Development | sales@simtechdev.com | www.simtechdev.com
CERTIFIED CS-CART PARTNER | LICENSES | DEVELOPMENT | ADD-ONS | DESIGN | UPGRADE

Google Analytics Enhanced Ecommerce - get advanced ecommerce analytics