Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

my changes addon no way to make it work Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • raganello
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 19-Dec 12
  • 30 posts

Posted 18 March 2013 - 11:35 AM #1

I have seen many post about this topic but none of these helped me out.
I've tried to clear the cache via admin and via var folder. I've tried everything really but styles.css is not even included in the source template code.

I am working on a local machine, perfectly running and correctly installed. I am using Cs cart ultimate latest version.

What i did:

1 - created the folder:
skins/[CUSTOMER_ACTIVE_SKIN]/customer/addons/my_changes/hooks/index

2 - created a file called: styles.post.tpl containing the code:
<link href="{$config.skin_path}/addons/my_changes/styles.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

3 - Saved this file it into
skins/[CUSTOMER_ACTIVE_SKIN]/customer/addons/my_changes/hooks/index

4 - Create a file: styles.css containing my CSS changes (I've tried many, all working via firebug..)

5 - Saved it to the folder: skins/[CUSTOMER_ACTIVE_SKIN]/customer/addons/my_changes

and then NOTHING! :(

 
  • StellarBytes
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 08-Aug 11
  • 1807 posts

Posted 18 March 2013 - 11:43 AM #2

Check you are not using any other addons which use /skins/skin_name/customer/addons/addonname/hooks/index/styles.post.tpl

If there is another instance of styles.post.tpl with a lower preference, your my_changes styles.post.tpl will not be processed.
Hire StellarBytes for CS-Cart Design & Development Services

 
  • raganello
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 19-Dec 12
  • 30 posts

Posted 18 March 2013 - 11:45 AM #3

@StellarBytes, thanks so much for quick reply but no other addons are involved.

cheers

 
  • Hungryweb
  • Senior Member
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 10-Feb 12
  • 1278 posts

Posted 18 March 2013 - 11:52 AM #4

Addon my_changes is active?
Did you clear cache?

---
Valentin

 
  • StellarBytes
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 08-Aug 11
  • 1807 posts

Posted 18 March 2013 - 12:09 PM #5

Missed the vital point.

For Ultimate, it should be:

/stores/1/skins/skinname/customer/addons/my_changes/ (where '1' is the Store ID)

NOT

/skins/skinname/customer/addons/my_changes/
Hire StellarBytes for CS-Cart Design & Development Services

 
  • Stifler
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 18-Feb 13
  • 18 posts

Posted 18 March 2013 - 12:18 PM #6

Hello, raganello.

you use CS-Cart Ultimate, so customer skins are located in the "root/stores/[storefront_num]/skins".

Try to move all your customer changes to this dir.

 
  • raganello
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 19-Dec 12
  • 30 posts

Posted 18 March 2013 - 01:15 PM #7

Bingo! Thanks!

At this point my question is about the documentation, all the material I've found was referring to skins/[CUSTOMER_ACTIVE_SKIN]/customer/addons/my_changes/hooks/index

Even here where appear to be correct for cs cart 3
http://kb.cs-cart.co...ment-font-color

Where do I should look for correct info?

Thanks again!

 
  • StellarBytes
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 08-Aug 11
  • 1807 posts

Posted 18 March 2013 - 01:48 PM #8

The documentation is correct for V3 but doesn't take into account the changes for Ultimate. All paths and file structures are the same except the /skins/skinname/customer resides in /stores/#/ where # is the Store ID.
Hire StellarBytes for CS-Cart Design & Development Services

 
  • raganello
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 19-Dec 12
  • 30 posts

Posted 18 March 2013 - 01:49 PM #9

@StellarBytes

Lovely.

Thanks again!

 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 12156 posts

Posted 18 March 2013 - 10:29 PM #10

Just one additonal tid-bit.... You can get rid of the {$config.skin_path}/ variable and just use addons/my_changes.... The template engine will find the right location for you.

Of course, the easiest way would be to make your changes in the var/skins_repository/basic/customer/addons/my_changes directory tree, then just uninstall and install the my_changes addon This will place the template files in the proper locations for your type of product (PRO, Ultimate, MVE).... Then you can always reset to a known state.

But if you have developers working on your site, ensure they know to have their changes in the skins_repository (which is not normal developer practice).

EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • raganello
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 19-Dec 12
  • 30 posts

Posted 19 March 2013 - 08:04 AM #11

Ok I got it, thanks for best practice suggestion!