Data Migration between carts

Hi,

Just wondering if anyone has a workflow for working with a development, staging and live version of cs-cart. Here is some information about my setup.

• I have an installation of cs-cart ultimate. I am a web developer working on a website for a business.
  • so far we have the development version under version control and that is working ok.
  • I have a separate database for development, staging and live.
  • development is running on my localmachine
  • staging and live site and databases are being hosted on joyent

The sorts of changes my client is likely to make is:
  • Add content pages to the site
  • Modify and add new products

As a developer, I will be doing things like:
  • Modifying CSS
  • Creating addons
  • Adding new code to the website.

So anything under version control, I don't think I will have any trouble migrating with GIT. That is fine. I guess where I start to struggle is figuring out what to migrate between the databases.

For example, if I change the block layout for a page on staging and my client is happy with that. How do I merge the block layout to live without over writing the entire live database. Is there a reference somewhere where I can figure out what tables or data from tables to migrate across?

Cheers…

You can export the “block manager” to an XML file and then import it into your production site. This will address your layout synchronization. You'll have to manually move the css.

For other things like content pages or adjustments to products, there is no easy way to ensure that your changes get pushed to your production site. If you do this regularly, you might be able to stay in sync, but odds are you'll either push something you didn't intend to or you'll miss something you wanted.