Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How to limit feature navigation to single selection per feature? Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • npearson
  • Newbie
  • Members
  • Join Date: 01-Dec 12
  • 11 posts

Posted 12 January 2013 - 04:19 PM #1

So by default, CS-Cart allows for multiple values to be select per feature in the catalog's product filters navigation.

For example, if I have Color, with the values of: Red, Green, Blue, a user can select Red, then Green, etc.

I prefer that the selection be limited to one. So if a user selects Red, then only products with Red appear and the Green and Blue values are no longer available in the product filters nav unless the user resets the selection he/she has made.

Is there a setting for this somewhere?

Thanks,
Nathan

 
  • Maky
  • Advanced Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 16-Nov 11
  • 71 posts

Posted 12 January 2013 - 04:34 PM #2

So by default, CS-Cart allows for multiple values to be select per feature in the catalog's product filters navigation.

For example, if I have Color, with the values of: Red, Green, Blue, a user can select Red, then Green, etc.

I prefer that the selection be limited to one. So if a user selects Red, then only products with Red appear and the Green and Blue values are no longer available in the product filters nav unless the user resets the selection he/she has made.

Is there a setting for this somewhere?

Thanks,
Nathan


Do you mean that if customer clicks on red then rest of the features for colors in filters will disapear?
then go to styles.css

find
.product-filters li a.filter-item.disabled {
...
...
...
display:none;
}

 
  • npearson
  • Newbie
  • Members
  • Join Date: 01-Dec 12
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 January 2013 - 02:21 AM #3

That would hide the disabled ones, but not the other ones. Frankly, their filtering algorithm is rather confusing.

Take a look at this: http://demo.cs-cart....al/electronics/

So if I select "Android 2.3, Gingerbread" under "Operating System", then it moves to the top of the list, but the other operating system options are still available.

I suppose if the products can have a many-to-many relationship, that would kind of make sense, but it's confusing because if I then select 3.7" under Display, and then Windows Phone 7.5, Mango under Operating System, for some reason I get more options that appear under Display.

Can you see what I mean?

In my experience with these type of filters, the options should continue to narrow... not narrow then expand, and so on.

 
  • cscartrocks
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 24-Jan 11
  • 1763 posts

Posted 13 January 2013 - 04:34 AM #4

When you have multiple selects from one filter/feature, it may expands the search results. This will cause other filters to show up if there is any.

One Step Checkout Addon - The ultimate checkout experience
Best CS-Cart SEO addon - CS-Cart SEO Ultimate Addon
PM for quality custom work/project


 
  • npearson
  • Newbie
  • Members
  • Join Date: 01-Dec 12
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 January 2013 - 05:38 AM #5

When you have multiple selects from one filter/feature, it may expands the search results. This will cause other filters to show up if there is any.


Right, which brings me back to my original question. How do I limit the feature options to a single select, instead of this multi-select business per feature?

 
  • Maky
  • Advanced Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 16-Nov 11
  • 71 posts

Posted 13 January 2013 - 08:27 AM #6

That would hide the disabled ones, but not the other ones. Frankly, their filtering algorithm is rather confusing.

Take a look at this: http://demo.cs-cart....al/electronics/

So if I select "Android 2.3, Gingerbread" under "Operating System", then it moves to the top of the list, but the other operating system options are still available.

I suppose if the products can have a many-to-many relationship, that would kind of make sense, but it's confusing because if I then select 3.7" under Display, and then Windows Phone 7.5, Mango under Operating System, for some reason I get more options that appear under Display.

Can you see what I mean?

In my experience with these type of filters, the options should continue to narrow... not narrow then expand, and so on.


Well, now I know what you mean. I cant help you with that.