Site Redesign - what is a good approach?

I am planning to redesign my website based on Cs-cart 2.2.4 and give it a complete new and customized look. I plan to get a PSD designed first for my website and then get it slices and coded through a cs-cart expert. But I want to clarify a few doubts before paying a huge amount to the web developers :

1. Is it a right strategy to get it designed first on PSD format (photoshop) and then get it coded? I want to get the design part right first.
  2. I regularly update my featured products and move around boxes quite a bit on the homepage. Will I be able to do so even after this heavy customization?
  3. Can a PSD design be exactly be replicated as it is on the CS-cart after slicing and coding?

I am new to this whole customization this. I want to make sure I am taking the right approach before paying hundreds of dollars to the web designers. Experts please give me your valuable opinions.
  1. Design in PSD is necessary. This will make sure you get what you paid for
  2. It's possible and should be done that way
  3. Yes, that's why PSD design exists but it also depends on how professional your design integrator is

Yes, a PSD will make things tons easier for anyone that will be integrating your skin. I know I definitely prefer it this way. I love getting a PSD with the homepage, the category page, and the product page.

Thanks,

Brandon

Is very important to have a clear concept on how the visitors will go from page to page.

Web design is more about planning a sequence, a tour.

Examples:

a. The home page represent the opportunity to create trust. Do you show the SSL and other business verified seals, phone contact, user reviews, videos?

b. The most important page is the product detail page. Do you need bigger buttons? related products?

c. Is ok to have the image and the price on top and leave descriptions below? Do you need the image detail in a popup window?

Etc…