Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Product Features Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • spikeadelika
  • Advanced Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 11-Nov 11
  • 83 posts

Posted 23 March 2012 - 04:01 PM #1

I would like to add to a product the ability to tick add features by ticking a box and this will show an icon on the product page - similar to this site http://tolotoys.com/...ssic-accordian/

I would like to make it so I could tick a box and it would show the image icons for developmental skills.

Is this possible?

Many thanks
Janine
-------------------------

 
  • spikeadelika
  • Advanced Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 11-Nov 11
  • 83 posts

Posted 23 March 2012 - 04:17 PM #2

Posted Image
-------------------------

 
  • Flow
  • Super Duper and Amazingly Sexy Senior
  • Members
  • Join Date: 13-Oct 10
  • 2352 posts

Posted 23 March 2012 - 04:20 PM #3

It sure is. Have a look here at Brandons code for product_features.tpl: http://forum.cs-cart...how-to-do-this/
You might need to change a couple of little things to tune it but it will immediately work after clearing your cache.

Then make a feature, type: extended, and give it's variants a picture and description, title, and seo name.

Now give the product(s) the features, et voila, it will show the picture. Now the problem is that with an extended feature you can not give a product multiple of them. I found a workaround though: temporarily, make the extended feature a type: multiple

The give your product(s) it's multiple features.

Switch back to feature type extended... and there ya go. You have clickable features, with image, and some fantastic SEO pages.
You can keep on doing this. The sofware will remember your extended feature settings!

When life hands you lemons, bring on the Tequila baby!


 
  • spikeadelika
  • Advanced Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 11-Nov 11
  • 83 posts

Posted 24 March 2012 - 07:00 AM #4

Hi Thank you for getting back to me.

I have tried this and cannot seem to get the image to show. I have uploaded the new product_features.tpl (did not make any changes to it) - cleared the cache, and created the extended feature. It allows me to add the image and seo info, but when looking at this on the product it only shows the name and not the image. Have I missed a step out?

tx Janine
-------------------------

 
  • Flow
  • Super Duper and Amazingly Sexy Senior
  • Members
  • Join Date: 13-Oct 10
  • 2352 posts

Posted 24 March 2012 - 10:05 AM #5

You're welcome. Let's try to fix this.

Is the feature clickable?

When life hands you lemons, bring on the Tequila baby!


 
  • spikeadelika
  • Advanced Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 11-Nov 11
  • 83 posts

Posted 24 March 2012 - 11:21 AM #6

Thanks

No it is not clickable, on the product page only the name comes in as text.

Janine
-------------------------

 
  • Flow
  • Super Duper and Amazingly Sexy Senior
  • Members
  • Join Date: 13-Oct 10
  • 2352 posts

Posted 24 March 2012 - 05:27 PM #7

That's weird. Are you sure you cleared cs-carts cache? I'm not talking about your browsers cache.

Oh and are you looking at the features tab? It will not appear at the product info part this way. You can do that later, but for now it should appear in the tab called features, next to description.

(sorry I don't know how experienced you are).

When life hands you lemons, bring on the Tequila baby!


 
  • spikeadelika
  • Advanced Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 11-Nov 11
  • 83 posts

Posted 24 March 2012 - 06:38 PM #8

AHA :) yes total CS-Cart noob here. Just making the move from a drupal/ubercart system. This is my first install with CS-Cart. I managed to get the images to show now after clearing cs-carts cache. I will have to figure out how to make the images show up on the same line now as they are showing one under the other. But tonight is Warcraft night with the kids :)

Thank you for your help and patience with a noob.

Janine
-------------------------

 
  • Flow
  • Super Duper and Amazingly Sexy Senior
  • Members
  • Join Date: 13-Oct 10
  • 2352 posts

Posted 24 March 2012 - 06:51 PM #9

Glad to help! To get the images next to each other you will probably need to edit the tpl file and remove some tags like <li>

You always have to clear cs-carts cache when you change a template file. cs-cart caches these so the cart is fast @ customer side :)

Have fun playing Warcraft!

When life hands you lemons, bring on the Tequila baby!


 
  • spikeadelika
  • Advanced Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 11-Nov 11
  • 83 posts

Posted 24 March 2012 - 06:54 PM #10

Thanks :mrgreen:
-------------------------