Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

"Social bookmarks" add-on is available for testing! Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • alexions
  • Architect
  • CS-Cart Architects
  • Join Date: 17-Jun 11
  • 39 posts

Posted 18 March 2011 - 11:57 AM #1

Hi all,

Today I am glad to introduce a new add-on called "Social bookmarks". This add-on will allow your customers create bookmarks in social networks and tell their friends about your store.

In order that you could understand the functionality of this add-on better, there are several screenshots:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

As you can see, this add-on has a lot of different settings which allow you configure it for yourself and your store.
Also you can select a great number of different services for the display.

You can download this add-on by following this link:
http://alexions.simt...?file=bookmarks

Installing and configuring:
1) Unpack the archive into your CS-Cart core directory.
2) Open Admin->Addons. Find "Bookmarks" and click on the "Install" link.
3) Click on the "Edit" link next to the "Bookmarks" add-on.
4) You can specify the appearance and select the desired services.
5) Go to Block page: Design -> Blocks.
6) Click "Add block". Change the "Block content" option to "Bookmarks" and click on "Create".
7) Place this block to the desired place and open the customer area. You will see a new bookmarks block.

Please let me know your opinion.

I look forward to your comments.

Thank you!
Alexander Zinovyev,
CS-Cart Architect Team
Suggest and vote for new features | Report a bug

 
  • The Tool
  • Been Here Way Too Long Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Mar 07
  • 3967 posts

Posted 18 March 2011 - 12:51 PM #2

Looks like a couple of files are missing.?

[ATTACH]2447[/ATTACH]

Edit: Disregard. I just had to move the files to the correct skins.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Administration -- Add-ons - Administration panel_1300452630406.png


 
  • whiplash13
  • PM Extraordinaire
  • Members
  • Join Date: 01-Feb 08
  • 704 posts

Posted 18 March 2011 - 01:04 PM #3

You put a skins folder when you should have put those files in a var/skins_repository folder when you created your archive.
John
CS Cart 4.2.4

 
  • alexions
  • Architect
  • CS-Cart Architects
  • Join Date: 17-Jun 11
  • 39 posts

Posted 18 March 2011 - 01:21 PM #4

Yes, sorry. I've repacked this add-on. Download link is the same:
http://alexions.dev....?file=bookmarks
Alexander Zinovyev,
CS-Cart Architect Team
Suggest and vote for new features | Report a bug

 
  • E.Qi.Librium
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 05-Sep 09
  • 472 posts

Posted 18 March 2011 - 05:45 PM #5

Thank you :D

 
  • Raeandy
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Aug 07
  • 54 posts

Posted 19 March 2011 - 05:51 AM #6

Wonderful feature.

Questions:

As your addon appears to be a extension of Addthis analytics, does your addon feature adjustable icon sizes like those from Addthis ?

Also, can you track the analytics like can be done by using Addthis directly ?

Cheers

 
  • TheNewbie
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 16-Mar 09
  • 15 posts

Posted 21 March 2011 - 11:09 PM #7

Hi,

I too am receiving the same error as 'The Tool' above. The one that says 'Warning: Smarty error: unable to read resource: "addons/bookmarks/settings/appearance.tpl" in /home/better_blank_this/public_html/lib/templater/Smarty.class.php on line 1095'

I realised that the var/skins_repository/base needs to be changed to var/skins_repository/your-skin, but I have not been able to stop this error.

It may be purely down to tiredness, but could someone point me in the right direction with this please as it is beginning to drive me nuts. :D



Thanks in advance,
Ian

 
  • The Tool
  • Been Here Way Too Long Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Mar 07
  • 3967 posts

Posted 21 March 2011 - 11:52 PM #8

TheNewbie,

The files have been corrected. They should go into var/skins_repository/base and when you install the addon it will put the files in your active skin.

 
  • jegesmaci
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 05-Oct 09
  • 403 posts

Posted 22 March 2011 - 06:11 AM #9

I installed this on my Dev Site and I can't get anything to show up.

 
  • TheNewbie
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 16-Mar 09
  • 15 posts

Posted 22 March 2011 - 08:54 AM #10

The Tool,

Thanks for getting back so quickly. That looked like it was working. The error was gone and I was able to choose how I wanted the buttons to display and which ones. I then saved these settings and as jegesmaci says, nothing displays.

I have also tried ?dispatch=addons.manage&cc in admin, along with trying different alignments and styles.

Is there another setting that needs to be made?


Thanks in advance,
Ian

 
  • whiplash13
  • PM Extraordinaire
  • Members
  • Join Date: 01-Feb 08
  • 704 posts

Posted 22 March 2011 - 12:34 PM #11

Did you add it to a block in Admin > Design > Blocks?
John
CS Cart 4.2.4

 
  • TheNewbie
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 16-Mar 09
  • 15 posts

Posted 22 March 2011 - 01:10 PM #12

Thanks whiplash13! I was just testing how long it would take you guys to spot my deliberate mistake ;)

That is now looking really very good!

Thanks again,
--Ian

 
  • whiplash13
  • PM Extraordinaire
  • Members
  • Join Date: 01-Feb 08
  • 704 posts

Posted 22 March 2011 - 03:10 PM #13

Thanks whiplash13! I was just testing how long it would take you guys to spot my deliberate mistake ;)

That is now looking really very good!

Thanks again,
--Ian


I hope we met your expected response time ;)
John
CS Cart 4.2.4

 
  • jegesmaci
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 05-Oct 09
  • 403 posts

Posted 22 March 2011 - 03:29 PM #14

So why would you have to add a block for this, but the Facebook Addon doesn't need a block?

Just wondering as I didn't add the block so that is probably why mine is not showing up.

Adam

 
  • whiplash13
  • PM Extraordinaire
  • Members
  • Join Date: 01-Feb 08
  • 704 posts

Posted 22 March 2011 - 06:27 PM #15

So why would you have to add a block for this, but the Facebook Addon doesn't need a block?

Just wondering as I didn't add the block so that is probably why mine is not showing up.

Adam


Flexibility... you have many display options this way. You can display it on model pages, category pages, content pages, etc... You can put it in the center above your content or below your content, in a right nav or left nav block, etc...
John
CS Cart 4.2.4

 
  • jegesmaci
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 05-Oct 09
  • 403 posts

Posted 25 March 2011 - 12:20 PM #16

I was able to get mine loaded. It looks good. The only thing is there is a bigger gap between the product and the social booksmarks than you show in the first image.

How can I make the gap less?

Thanks,

Adam

 
  • Magpie Don
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 01-Apr 09
  • 839 posts

Posted 25 March 2011 - 12:39 PM #17

This could be a very usable solution to adding the bookmarks to my online store. I installed it and tested it, but the SHARE to Facebook only pulls the link, no image and no description.
Why is that?
So far it is inferior to a manual implementation and I'm disappointed as I've struggled to add the social bookmarks for a week and undid what I had implemented from AddThis to include this CS-Cart approved add on.

CS-Cart Ultimate ver 4.11.3


 
  • Magpie Don
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 01-Apr 09
  • 839 posts

Posted 25 March 2011 - 01:09 PM #18

Where can I include my AddThis username?
Currently, in the hyperlink, pub=unknown

CS-Cart Ultimate ver 4.11.3


 
  • JGift
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 22-Jan 11
  • 97 posts

Posted 27 March 2011 - 12:22 PM #19

Hi all,

Today I am glad to introduce a new add-on called "Social bookmarks". This add-on will allow your customers create bookmarks in social networks and tell their friends about your store.

In order that you could understand the functionality of this add-on better, there are several screenshots:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

As you can see, this add-on has a lot of different settings which allow you configure it for yourself and your store.
Also you can select a great number of different services for the display.

You can download this add-on by following this link:
http://alexions.dev....?file=bookmarks

Please let me know your opinion.

I look forward to your comments.

Thank you!


How to install?

Instructions?

 
  • JGift
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 22-Jan 11
  • 97 posts

Posted 31 March 2011 - 08:18 PM #20

Which directories do you copy the files into?

Another question, how do you get the product layout as above and show the discount price tag...?

Thanks