Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Olark Live Help add-on Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • Andy Ye
  • CS-Cart team
  • Join Date: 16-Jun 10
  • 13 posts

Posted 03 December 2010 - 12:47 PM #1

Dear Friends,

I'd like to introduce a new add-on that is aimed to seamlessly integrate Olark Live Help Service into your CS-Cart.

Posted Image
Olark provides clean integration with tools you already know and love so you can actually focus on selling and support. In fact, we're the only live help tool around that was built from the ground up to work with a host of standard instant messengers. But did we skimp on the power? No!

Check out what we give you:

Posted Image
Use Olark anywhere!
Chat with visitors on your website from your desktop, your laptop, your iPhone, or your Blackberry. We work with standard chat (IM) clients (like iChat, Pidgin, and Meebo) and services (Google Talk and Jabber) which means YOU get to decide what software to use.

Multiple operators
Handle higher volumes of visitors with more operators. Each operator connects using the chat client of their choice and other operators are automatically notified when a visitor's chat has been responded to, eliminating duplicate responses.

Offline Messages and Hiding
Even when you're unavailable for chat you can gather qualified leads (name and email) from your website as people leave messages on the widget. You can also choose to simply hide the Olark widget when you're unavailable.

Complete visual customization
Your brand is important and we provide themes, easy color customization, full css support, and even a whitelabel (non-branded) version so Olark fits right into the look and feel of your site.

Simple Integration - No code required!
Get full Olark integration by pasting a short bit of JavaScript onto your webpage (our tutorials make it easy) OR use our ChatLinks service (see below)

Know your users
Olark lets you know all sorts of useful information about your users in real-time.

For example:

Visitor name, email, etc. through optional pre-chat form or integration with your current login system
Visitor page location (know exactly when they're on an important page!)
Referring site
Have they been to your site before?
Geo-location (where on Earth are they from?)

International Support
All visitor-facing text strings are customizable and we're fully UTF8 compliant to support practically any language you throw at Olark.

ChatLinks: use Olark anywhere without code!
ChatLinks are short urls that when clicked, automatically overlay Olark on top of any webpage, allowing you to chat with anyone who clicks the link, NO CODE REQUIRED!

Great when you can't edit the webpage or your site doesn't support JavaScript
Distribute these links on Twitter, email, etc. to chat without disclosing any personal information of your own.
Great for salespeople who want to use live chat but can't edit a website (you don't have to involve IT!).
Chat Transcripts
Access important conversations with important information like emails and phone numbers already pulled out for you.

Continue chats across pages and off-site!
Chats persist as visitors move through your site and even off-site when a visitor follows an external link!

Extensible API (Beta)
Create custom extensions for virtually unlimited features with our JavaScript plugin architecture.

Posted Image

How to install the Olark add-on:

1) Apply the below CS-Cart fix:

Index: trunk/controllers/admin/addons.php
===================================================================
--- a/trunk/controllers/admin/addons.php
+++ b/trunk/controllers/admin/addons.php
@@ -38,6 +38,10 @@
 );
 
 if ($_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD'] == 'POST') {
+
+        fn_trusted_vars (
+                'addon_trusted_input'
+        );
 
         if ($mode == 'update') {
                 fn_update_addon($_REQUEST['addon'], $_REQUEST['addon_data']);

2) Install the add-on.

UPD: new version of the add-on is available. Now you can customize all the Olark's string variables.

Attached Files



 
  • 2020
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 11-Feb 07
  • 509 posts

Posted 03 December 2010 - 01:00 PM #2

Looks good! With this release, is it safe to say that the original CS-Cart Live Help addon will no longer be developed?

Glen

 
  • Andy Ye
  • CS-Cart team
  • Join Date: 16-Jun 10
  • 13 posts

Posted 03 December 2010 - 01:19 PM #3

Olark and Zopim are reasonable replacements of Live Help: they both have some cool features, that don't exist in Live Help.

 

Posted 03 December 2010 - 01:29 PM #4

Our native Live Help is decided to be replaced by Olark and Zopim. They both are way more easy-to-use, reliable and feature-rich.


Hi Andy,

As a developer I find that the question most often queried by customers is the removal of unnecessary watermarks such as as the copyrights of CS-Cart etc.

With regards to the following image, can we remove the "GET FREE OLARK SALES CHAT" from the screen?

Posted Image
I've moved on from CS-Cart to WooC******** - If you need anything I can be of little help.

 
  • Andy Ye
  • CS-Cart team
  • Join Date: 16-Jun 10
  • 13 posts

Posted 03 December 2010 - 01:46 PM #5

You can customize the link at http://www.olark.com/customize

To completely remove the link, you have to "upgrade your account". However, I personally see no reason to do this: their Free package is pretty feature rich.

 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11645 posts

Posted 04 December 2010 - 12:39 AM #6

Why is this in the Labs section? Shouldn't it be in the 3rd party section?
I thought the Labs section was for stuff coming from CS that would be availabe in a future version....

EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • johnbol1
  • Never Re
  • Members
  • Join Date: 23-Feb 10
  • 4797 posts

Posted 06 December 2010 - 07:39 PM #7

1) Apply the below CS-Cart fix:

Index: trunk/controllers/admin/addons.php
===================================================================
--- a/trunk/controllers/admin/addons.php
+++ b/trunk/controllers/admin/addons.php
@@ -38,6 +38,10 @@
 );
 
 if ($_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD'] == 'POST') {
+
+        fn_trusted_vars (
+                'addon_trusted_input'
+        );
 
         if ($mode == 'update') {
                 fn_update_addon($_REQUEST['addon'], $_REQUEST['addon_data']);

2) Install the add-on.


PArdon my inorance but can you explain what I do with this code?
Thanks
John

Custom printed hi visibility clothing sale the UK's online hivis safety shop
v4.5.2


 

Posted 06 December 2010 - 08:21 PM #8

PArdon my inorance but can you explain what I do with this code?
Thanks
John


Where you see the
+
add this code. Where you see
-
remove it (There are no minus lines/elements)
I've moved on from CS-Cart to WooC******** - If you need anything I can be of little help.

 
  • hbtrading
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 07-Oct 09
  • 204 posts

Posted 06 December 2010 - 09:39 PM #9

I was unable to get olark to work.

Situation: Olark shows up in addons fine, the problem is when I add the olark code it does not save instead these 4 characters /**/ is what gets saved.

I am using CS-cart 2.1.2
Site is in a subfolder of my main site.

anyone have any idea ?

 
  • albertpro
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 25-Nov 07
  • 118 posts

Posted 06 December 2010 - 10:30 PM #10

I installed it, I got the same problem.

/**/ and the code it is not saved.

CS-CART: version 4.6.1


 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11645 posts

Posted 06 December 2010 - 10:33 PM #11

@albert... You might want to change your username unless you like lots of spam.

EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • Andy Ye
  • CS-Cart team
  • Join Date: 16-Jun 10
  • 13 posts

Posted 08 December 2010 - 09:28 AM #12

I installed it, I got the same problem.

/**/ and the code it is not saved.


It clearly indicates that you still need the patch to get applied.

 
  • hbtrading
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 07-Oct 09
  • 204 posts

Posted 08 December 2010 - 11:44 AM #13

It clearly indicates that you still need the get the patch applied.


I've applied the patch cleared the cache and yet it's still not working.

 
  • Raeandy
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Aug 07
  • 54 posts

Posted 09 December 2010 - 01:12 AM #14

It clearly indicates that you still need the get the patch applied.


Same here. I also get the /**/

 
  • Andy Ye
  • CS-Cart team
  • Join Date: 16-Jun 10
  • 13 posts

Posted 09 December 2010 - 01:59 PM #15


Index: trunk/controllers/admin/addons.php

===================================================================

--- a/trunk/controllers/admin/addons.php

+++ b/trunk/controllers/admin/addons.php

@@ -38,6 +38,10 @@

 );

 

 if ($_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD'] == 'POST') {



        fn_trusted_vars (

-                'addon_trusted_input'

+                'addon_data'

        );

 

         if ($mode == 'update') {

                 fn_update_addon($_REQUEST['addon'], $_REQUEST['addon_data'])



 
  • hbtrading
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 07-Oct 09
  • 204 posts

Posted 09 December 2010 - 11:21 PM #16

Index: trunk/controllers/admin/addons.php
===================================================================
--- a/trunk/controllers/admin/addons.php
+++ b/trunk/controllers/admin/addons.php
@@ -38,6 +38,10 @@
 );
 
 if ($_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD'] == 'POST') {

        fn_trusted_vars (
-                'addon_trusted_input'
+                'addon_data'
        );
 
         if ($mode == 'update') {
                 fn_update_addon($_REQUEST['addon'], $_REQUEST['addon_data'])


Perfect now it works.

Thanks

 
  • Andy Ye
  • CS-Cart team
  • Join Date: 16-Jun 10
  • 13 posts

Posted 17 December 2010 - 12:38 PM #17

Olark in your Favorite Language

There is no one language of the Internet.

Posted Image

That’s why Olark has always let you communicate with visitors to your website using whatever language you choose to speak. Our users come from all over the world, so we thought “what else can we do?”

Well, many of you already know you can customize some of the messages in the Olark bar, here. The Olark addo-on now lets you customize all the messages in the Olark bar, so you can be sure your visitors will know how to contact you.

 
  • evanfa
  • Junior Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 03-Jan 11
  • 0 posts

Posted 04 January 2011 - 12:18 AM #18

Hi, I really want to install this addon... but I cant.. :shock:

I have the version 2.1.2 Pro...

I relized that I have to add the first lines at the $option_types array...

'selectable_box' => 'B',
	'template' => 'E'
	'/market/controllers/admin/addons.php',
	'@@ -38,6 +38,10 @@'
);

Is ok?? :confused: in my version dont exist the url: a/trunk/controllers/admin/addons.php

And in the IF sentence... something like this?

if ($_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD'] == 'POST') {
	fn_trusted_vars (
                'addon_data'
        );

	if ($mode == 'update') {
		fn_update_addon($_REQUEST['addon'], $_REQUEST['addon_data']);
	}

	return array(CONTROLLER_STATUS_OK, "addons.manage");
}

OK?.. Im not really sure if is ok.. because doesnt work..
Thanks by your help.

 
  • evanfa
  • Junior Member
  • Trial users
  • Join Date: 03-Jan 11
  • 0 posts

Posted 04 January 2011 - 12:20 AM #19

Olark in your Favorite Language


Hi, I really want to install this addon... but I cant.. :shock:

I have the version 2.1.2 Pro...

I relized that I have to add the first lines at the $option_types array...

'selectable_box' => 'B',
	'template' => 'E'
	'/market/controllers/admin/addons.php',
	'@@ -38,6 +38,10 @@'
);

Is ok?? :confused: in my version dont exist the url: a/trunk/controllers/admin/addons.php

And in the IF sentence... something like this?

if ($_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD'] == 'POST') {
	fn_trusted_vars (
                'addon_data'
        );

	if ($mode == 'update') {
		fn_update_addon($_REQUEST['addon'], $_REQUEST['addon_data']);
	}

	return array(CONTROLLER_STATUS_OK, "addons.manage");
}

OK?.. Im not really sure if is ok.. because doesnt work..
Thanks by your help.

 
  • Batdelfuego
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 13-Jan 10
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 January 2011 - 07:55 PM #20

Hey Andy,

I'm still not sure in which file to change the code you are showing here...
Is it supposed to be in the func.php file in the olark add-on directory?

I can't seem to find that add-on.php file either on the system...

Thanks for the help!

David