Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Minimum order to checkout fix Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • Zyles
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Nov 06
  • 596 posts

Posted 21 November 2006 - 11:31 PM #1

Currently if you add a minimum order to checkout it counts including shipping and handling fees.

This makes no sense because the stores usually do not get any money for the shipping (because it goes to shipping costs, duh).

But if the shipping depends on the product and the destination. The shipping costs can vary, so depending on where the customer lives, they have to shop for different values.


Here are two examples:

Minimum order is set to $20


Customer 1 (Canada):
Shipping cost $10
Orders for $10 to meet minimum $20
Store makes $10 in sales


Customer 2 (USA):
Shipping cost $5
Orders for $15 to meet minimum $20
Store makes $15 in sales


Basicly different customers need to shop different minimums, and the store never makes AT LEAST $20 as intended.


This is wrong imo.

The cart should rather than calculating minimum order on cart total cost. Calculate it on the subtotal (excluding surcharges and shipping fees), to always match what the store needs to minimum make in profit on each order.

It's a simple fix.

Edit: customer/cart_pages/checkout.tpl

Find: $settings.General.min_order_amount <= $cart.total
Change to: $settings.General.min_order_amount <= $cart.subtotal

Find: $settings.General.min_order_amount > $cart.total
Change to: $settings.General.min_order_amount > $cart.subtotal

This is how other carts works, and is a more logical approach for store owners.
Marketing tip:

Did you know a targeted e-mail marketing campaign can bring conversion rates up to 3.9%? By using reliable e-mail marketing software you can upsell to existing customers on a tight budget. If you are not using e-mail marketing you are missing out big time. I recommend and use Aweber.

 
  • dominos_2004
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 02-Jan 06
  • 257 posts

Posted 22 November 2006 - 08:17 PM #2

Please version: 1.1.3 or 1.1.4 or ... ? and so on...

and please next time post version number. Thank you
CS-Cart 3.0.3

 
  • Zyles
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Nov 06
  • 596 posts

Posted 22 November 2006 - 10:42 PM #3

Any version. 1.3.3, 1.3.4, 1.3.4-SP1
Marketing tip:

Did you know a targeted e-mail marketing campaign can bring conversion rates up to 3.9%? By using reliable e-mail marketing software you can upsell to existing customers on a tight budget. If you are not using e-mail marketing you are missing out big time. I recommend and use Aweber.

 
  • jobosales
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 04-Nov 06
  • 3114 posts

Posted 23 November 2006 - 01:15 AM #4

Zyles-

This is why I would like to see order minimums set in the Membership. For instance, we have different minimums for wholesale and retail customers.

Bob

 
  • Zyles
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Nov 06
  • 596 posts

Posted 23 November 2006 - 07:42 PM #5

This is why I would like to see order minimums set in the Membership. For instance, we have different minimums for wholesale and retail customers.


Yes this should be an obvious thing aswell.
Marketing tip:

Did you know a targeted e-mail marketing campaign can bring conversion rates up to 3.9%? By using reliable e-mail marketing software you can upsell to existing customers on a tight budget. If you are not using e-mail marketing you are missing out big time. I recommend and use Aweber.

 
  • abloom
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 03-Mar 07
  • 15 posts

Posted 10 April 2007 - 03:22 AM #6

I'm make the changes. Thank you for such a speedy response.

 
  • clips
  • Aged Resident Loon
  • Members
  • Join Date: 14-Jan 07
  • 1650 posts

Posted 18 January 2008 - 03:08 PM #7

I would have to agree that CS-Cart is setting this up a little backward and should be basing the minimum on the subtotal and not the total.

I have looked up the information given to correct this, but within 1.3.5 it appears the above information does not work. Does anyone have a clue on how to make it work off the subtotal within 1.3.5?

Thanks,
Clips
Current CS-Cart sites...
www.thecliplink.com
www.someforevery.com
www.circlevillegifts.com
www.newtsgames.com - Uses 1.3.5 that needs to be edited to use subtotal.

 
  • joe
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 06-Jan 09
  • 824 posts

Posted 18 February 2009 - 11:44 AM #8

I would have to agree that CS-Cart is setting this up a little backward and should be basing the minimum on the subtotal and not the total.

I have looked up the information given to correct this, but within 1.3.5 it appears the above information does not work. Does anyone have a clue on how to make it work off the subtotal within 1.3.5?

Thanks,
Clips
Current CS-Cart sites...
www.thecliplink.com
www.someforevery.com
www.circlevillegifts.com
www.newtsgames.com - Uses 1.3.5 that needs to be edited to use subtotal.

I want to know that too, thanks.
PM me for custom project

 
  • The Tool
  • Been Here Way Too Long Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Mar 07
  • 3840 posts

Posted 18 February 2009 - 07:17 PM #9

Is this what yall are looking for? http://forum.cs-cart...t=Minimum order

 
  • rugger
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 13-Oct 08
  • 18 posts

Posted 27 March 2009 - 04:51 PM #10

Hi gang,

I can't find the file to change anywhere in ver. 1.3.5 sp4. I want to change the minimum value to subtotal. Any ideas where this located?

Thanks.

 
  • WebGuy
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 02-Dec 08
  • 419 posts

Posted 27 March 2009 - 07:33 PM #11

Did you click on the link to the http://forum.cs-cart...t=Minimum order

yourwebsite.com/core/fn_cart.php
WebGuy
www.nutraceaonline.com
CS-CART VERSION: 1.3.5 SP4

 
  • rugger
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 13-Oct 08
  • 18 posts

Posted 27 March 2009 - 09:13 PM #12

I changed the code to subtotal in all 4 places but the cart still allows and order to be placed if the total exceeds the minimum set using admin:settings:general.

Thanks for pointing me to the file.

 
  • WebGuy
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 02-Dec 08
  • 419 posts

Posted 27 March 2009 - 09:15 PM #13

Have you cleared your template cache and logged out?
Then log back in.

It's working perfectly for me on the 1.3.5SP4 default_orange skin.
WebGuy
www.nutraceaonline.com
CS-CART VERSION: 1.3.5 SP4

 
  • rugger
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 13-Oct 08
  • 18 posts

Posted 27 March 2009 - 09:32 PM #14

Now my "rooky-ness" kicks in. I don't know what you mean by clearing my template cache. I did checkout an log back in of the cart Website.

 
  • WebGuy
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 02-Dec 08
  • 419 posts

Posted 27 March 2009 - 09:35 PM #15

No problem...

In your ADMIN
Administration > Cleanup Templates Cache
WebGuy
www.nutraceaonline.com
CS-CART VERSION: 1.3.5 SP4

 
  • rugger
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 13-Oct 08
  • 18 posts

Posted 27 March 2009 - 09:47 PM #16

I ran clean up template cache but the cart still passes an over limit total with an under limit sub total. The minimum is set at $12. I have entered merchandise with a sub total of $11.25 and $.80 tax for a total of $12.05 and it allows it.

Made the changes by downloading the file from the core folder on the Website, modified it using Homesite 5 editor and uploaded the new file. I viewed the online file and it looks right.

 
  • WebGuy
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 02-Dec 08
  • 419 posts

Posted 27 March 2009 - 09:53 PM #17

It's kind of hard to say without actually seeing anything :cool:

Did you make a backup of the original?
Maybe try to set it back to ORDER TOTAL and see if it works that way.
If it does than you might have missed a setting somewhere when you edited the file(s)...
WebGuy
www.nutraceaonline.com
CS-CART VERSION: 1.3.5 SP4

 
  • rugger
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 13-Oct 08
  • 18 posts

Posted 27 March 2009 - 09:58 PM #18

I'll start from scratch and redo everything. Who know? I probably missed something so I'll double check it all. Any way, I've got to get ready to teach a class tonight.

Thanks for all of the help.

Rookie
letsplaydolls.com
Ver. 1.3.2 SP4

 
  • baballuci
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 02-Mar 06
  • 969 posts

Posted 28 March 2009 - 10:54 PM #19

I know this sounds stupid but you are changing the templates in the correct skin?
Charlie

 
  • rugger
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 13-Oct 08
  • 18 posts

Posted 30 March 2009 - 03:44 AM #20

OK, now I'm confused. The file fn_cart.php in the core folder. The default skin is in the skins folder. Am I changing the wrong file in the wrong folder?

Rugger