Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Setting up SEO Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • soldierly
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 10-Jun 09
  • 142 posts

Posted 03 January 2010 - 07:51 PM #21

here are larger images


CuteFTP show .htacess

 
  • mrfoameruk
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 03-Dec 09
  • 302 posts

Posted 05 January 2010 - 08:20 PM #22

no deffo .htaccess file in root. and i know it gets looked at, as by messing with it the site goes down till i change it back. I don't know why it still won't let me change the addon.

looks likes i'm unlucky on this one but if anyone has any input please share it.

 
  • thefoliage
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 01-Feb 09
  • 19 posts

Posted 29 January 2010 - 07:31 PM #23

Here is the FAQ. Select your version in the top right corner.

SEO does not work

 
  • Gobbo
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 29-Jan 10
  • 69 posts

Posted 02 February 2010 - 08:28 PM #24

Hi,

Is SEO supposed to work if one is trailing CSC for 60 days?

Gobbo

 
  • gabrieluk
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 133 posts

Posted 04 February 2010 - 02:13 AM #25

hi,
i want to turn on seo addon,but i don't know why is not working.I read all this thread several times,knowledge base and threads related to .htacess also.I need some advanced advice please....everything check.mod_rewrite On,cs cart and .htacess in the /shop folder,htacess modified to RewriteBase /shop.
this is my .htacess

DirectoryIndex index.html index.php

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
RewriteEngine on
# Some hostings require RewriteBase to be uncommented
# Example:
# Your store url is http://www.yourcompany.com/store/cart
# So "RewriteBase" should be:
# RewriteBase /store/cart
RewriteBase /shop
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !\.(png|gif|ico|swf|jpe?g|js|css)$
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule . index.php?sef_rewrite=1 [L,QSA]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} .*\/catalog\/.*
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -d
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME}/index.html !-f
RewriteRule . index.php?sef_rewrite=1 [L,QSA]

</IfModule>

note that in the root folder (public_html/) there's a joomla install wich is running sef url's with no problems.Also i contacted my host and they said the only place i could get help was with the software developers...

Copy of .htacess in the root folder:

# @version $Id: htaccess.txt 13415 2009-11-03 15:53:25Z ian $
# @package Joomla
# @copyright Copyright © 2005 - 2008 Open Source Matters. All rights reserved.
# @license http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html GNU/GPL
# Joomla! is Free Software
##

#####################################################
# READ THIS COMPLETELY IF YOU CHOOSE TO USE THIS FILE
#
# The line just below this section: 'Options +FollowSymLinks' may cause problems
# with some server configurations. It is required for use of mod_rewrite, but may already
# be set by your server administrator in a way that dissallows changing it in
# your .htaccess file. If using it causes your server to error out, comment it out (add # to
# beginning of line), reload your site in your browser and test your sef url's. If they work,
# it has been set by your server administrator and you do not need it set here.
#
#####################################################

## Can be commented out if causes errors, see notes above.
Options +FollowSymLinks

#
# mod_rewrite in use

RewriteEngine on
AuthUserFile "/home/funkyshe/.htpasswds/public_html/passwd"
AuthName "We are updating the shop,please come back tomorrow.Sorry for any inconvenience"
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^funky-sheila\.co.uk
RewriteRule (.*) http://www.funky-sheila.co.uk/$1 [R=301,L]

########## Begin - Rewrite rules to block out some common exploits
## If you experience problems on your site block out the operations listed below
## This attempts to block the most common type of exploit `attempts` to Joomla!
#
## Deny access to extension xml files (uncomment out to activate)
#<Files ~ "\.xml$">
#Order allow,deny
#Deny from all
#Satisfy all
#</Files>
## End of deny access to extension xml files
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} mosConfig_[a-zA-Z_]{1,21}(=|\%3D) [OR]
# Block out any script trying to base64_encode **** to send via URL
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} base64_encode.*\(.*\) [OR]
# Block out any script that includes a <script> tag in URL
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} (\<|%3C).*script.*(\>|%3E) [NC,OR]
# Block out any script trying to set a PHP GLOBALS variable via URL
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} GLOBALS(=|\[|\%[0-9A-Z]{0,2}) [OR]
# Block out any script trying to modify a _REQUEST variable via URL
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} _REQUEST(=|\[|\%[0-9A-Z]{0,2})
# Send all blocked request to homepage with 403 Forbidden error!
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ index.php [F,L]
#
########## End - Rewrite rules to block out some common exploits

# Uncomment following line if your webserver's URL
# is not directly related to physical file paths.
# Update Your Joomla! Directory (just / for root)

# RewriteBase /

########## Begin - Joomla! core SEF Section
#
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !^/index.php
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} (/|\.php|\.html|\.htm|\.feed|\.pdf|\.raw|/[^.]*)$ [NC]
RewriteRule (.*) index.php
RewriteRule .* - [E=HTTP_AUTHORIZATION:%{HTTP:Authorization},L]
#
########## End - Joomla! core SEF Section
Any tips?:rolleyes:
Number 1

 
  • The Tool
  • Been Here Way Too Long Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Mar 07
  • 3801 posts

Posted 04 February 2010 - 05:55 AM #26

Did you create a subdomain for cscart or did you just add the folder? Your root htaccess may be interfering with cscarts htaccess.

 
  • gabrieluk
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 133 posts

Posted 04 February 2010 - 08:47 PM #27

Hi,
I just used as a sub folder,not sub domain...
I just created a sub domain now for the folder shop(www.shop.mydomain.com) to try your suggestion,but i'm having some problems regarding the sub domain.... for some reason dysplays like this now

Do you know wich changes should be done in config.php to set up cs for the sub domain?
I did this:
// Host and directory where cs-cart is installed on usual server
$cscart_http_host = 'www.shop.funky-sheila.co.uk';
$cscart_http_dir = '/';
should i have to modify here also: $db_host = 'localhost'; ?
I don't know if i have to change something in DB as well.
Thanks for the tips...sef might work now...
---------------------------------------------------------------
edit:
i just reverted the changes,as i don't know what could happen with google's index.The error was like,i think,a .htcacess sef rewrite issue.
you know when it doesn't display images?just links see screen shoot

Attached Thumbnails

  • shopsubdomain.jpg

Number 1

 
  • indy0077
  • Senior Member
  • Banned
  • Join Date: 03-Nov 09
  • 1431 posts

Posted 05 February 2010 - 01:04 PM #28

This is not a db problem. A db problem would you show something like this:

Error: Cannot connect to the database server

It's in your config file or maybe cache. Try to delete the all files in /var/cache and all items in /var/compiled/.

Can you provide your URL here?

If it's not the cache, then it's definitely the config file or htaccess.
.
CS-Cart Professional €160.00 | CS-Cart Multi-Vendor €625.00 | CS-Cart Hosting | SSL Certificates
.
CS-Cart Optimized Servers *** USA & UK VPS Servers

 
  • indy0077
  • Senior Member
  • Banned
  • Join Date: 03-Nov 09
  • 1431 posts

Posted 05 February 2010 - 01:16 PM #29

Hi,
I just used as a sub folder,not sub domain...
I just created a sub domain now for the folder shop(www.shop.mydomain.com) to try your suggestion,but i'm having some problems regarding the sub domain.... for some reason dysplays like this now

Do you know wich changes should be done in config.php to set up cs for the sub domain?
I did this:
// Host and directory where cs-cart is installed on usual server
$cscart_http_host = 'www.shop.funky-sheila.co.uk';
$cscart_http_dir = '/';
should i have to modify here also: $db_host = 'localhost'; ?
I don't know if i have to change something in DB as well.
Thanks for the tips...sef might work now...


1) Your panel will create the subfolder automatically, creating a folder in your root and then assign a subdomain to it is wrong. That may cause some problems.

2) If you choose a subdomain then there is a failure:

// Host and directory where cs-cart is installed on usual server
$cscart_http_host = 'www.shop.funky-sheila.co.uk';
$cscart_http_dir = '/';

should be:

$cscart_http_dir = ''; // without a slash inside the ' '

That's all, now it will work again.
.
CS-Cart Professional €160.00 | CS-Cart Multi-Vendor €625.00 | CS-Cart Hosting | SSL Certificates
.
CS-Cart Optimized Servers *** USA & UK VPS Servers

 
  • gabrieluk
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 133 posts

Posted 05 February 2010 - 03:08 PM #30

hi Indy,
thanks a bunch,it works now!it was just the "/"

but there's 2 things i don't understand...why you said is WRONG to make the folder and AFTER asign a sub domain for that folder,if it works?

the folder containing the sub domain,/shop ,is still acessible,altough it displays now with the "/" error.Correct me if i'm wrong.Any sub domain created via cpanel,example:
www.shop.mydomain.com can be acessed trough it's own folder www.mydomain/shop?!?!?!?!?!!?or i have this folder acessible just for the fact i created first the folder and after the sub domain?:P
Number 1

 
  • indy0077
  • Senior Member
  • Banned
  • Join Date: 03-Nov 09
  • 1431 posts

Posted 05 February 2010 - 03:25 PM #31

Usually you should use the cPanel to create the folder assigned for the subdomain. Yes, it works as well as you said but sometimes it can cause some problems.
.
CS-Cart Professional €160.00 | CS-Cart Multi-Vendor €625.00 | CS-Cart Hosting | SSL Certificates
.
CS-Cart Optimized Servers *** USA & UK VPS Servers

 
  • gabrieluk
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 21-Jul 09
  • 133 posts

Posted 05 February 2010 - 03:35 PM #32

Also,do you know about cannonical urls for the sub domain....
should i redirect shop.funky-sheila.co.uk to www.shop.funky-sheila.co.uk ?

thanks for the help
Number 1

 
  • indy0077
  • Senior Member
  • Banned
  • Join Date: 03-Nov 09
  • 1431 posts

Posted 05 February 2010 - 04:15 PM #33

Also,do you know about cannonical urls for the sub domain....
should i redirect shop.funky-sheila.co.uk to www.shop.funky-sheila.co.uk ?

thanks for the help

I don't know what do you mean, but if you put the 'www' prefix in your 'config.local.php' file, then your URL will be crawled only with 'www'. You don't have to change anything else, just tell Google in webmaster tools to use the right URL (with- or without www).
.
CS-Cart Professional €160.00 | CS-Cart Multi-Vendor €625.00 | CS-Cart Hosting | SSL Certificates
.
CS-Cart Optimized Servers *** USA & UK VPS Servers

 
  • Gobbo
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 29-Jan 10
  • 69 posts

Posted 07 February 2010 - 06:09 PM #34

Hi,

Is SEO supposed to work if one is trailing CSC for 60 days?

Gobbo

 
  • grafis
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 12-Jan 11
  • 150 posts

Posted 15 January 2011 - 10:53 PM #35

@miracles - just wanted to say thank you!

 
  • bat tech
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 10-Jan 11
  • 5 posts

Posted 23 January 2011 - 03:15 AM #36

Thank you for all the information all. Just trying to work out my own issue which I think is to do with the default Htaccess file messing with the one in the cart directory. looking at my webserver files I am confused as to which directory the cs-cart is actually installed in the url is www.battechexpress.com.au . There is a .htaccess file under the root folder that looks right but maybe I am not editing this line properly;

RewriteBase /

as it should be

RewriteBase /store directory

How can I tell where the store directory actually is?
Also I can edit an ht.access file from my hosting provider, should I delete the CS-cart one and do it through my providers control panel? Thank you in advance for any help.

 
  • bat tech
  • Junior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 10-Jan 11
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 January 2011 - 08:32 PM #37

Okay we but the bullet and moved to Apache. Was much easier than we thought and all these little niggling problems have been fixed with speed (probably more server related than software) but mainly the SEO plug in worked first time. I would highly consider the advice of others on here and just move your cart to an Apache server. Even if oyu have to move hosting companies the time we spent trying to get this workinf on a Zeus server was far more than the changeover to Apache time.

 
  • tom437
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 10-Jul 10
  • 635 posts

Posted 09 February 2011 - 02:38 PM #38

Hello,

Do I need to add anything in SEO rules?

Can someone please advice me on that?

Thanks in advance.
Tom
3.0.4
Hosting for less.
www.step2stephosting.com