Jump to content

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Disappointed in 2.0.5 Rate Topic   - - - - -

 
  • jobosales
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 04-Nov 06
  • 3114 posts

Posted 07 July 2009 - 10:19 PM #41

The implementation is not very elegant but you can add tabs to the product page. The details can be found at:

http://forum.cs-cart...804&postcount=5

These work fine in the upgraded site but not in the fresh install of 2.0.5. Also strange that I can do the rearranging of product blocks in the upgraded site but not the stock installation.

Bob
CS-Cart 2.0.14 (testing)

 

Posted 08 July 2009 - 02:11 PM #42

you guys need to check file permissions or something because all my 2.05+ sites are working as designed...


Sno I would love to know your secret. I submitted a ticket and got back "It works properly on our test server."

Thinking I screwed something up again, I did a fresh install of v2.0.4 and v2.0.5 on the same server with different results. Blocks work as intended in v2.0.4 but not v2.0.5 in the same environment, same install routine, same permissions, same KB instructions.

And worse yet since CS-Cart personnel say it works okay for them I am stuck with a version that does not work properly.
Web development in progress with CS-Cart 3.x

 
  • roban
  • Senior Member
  • Moderators
  • Join Date: 23-Oct 06
  • 1132 posts

Posted 08 July 2009 - 03:14 PM #43

dave have you tried a different browser. I had the same problem in FF but everything worked in IE. I then used Zeke's fix posted here: http://forum.cs-cart...iew&vbug_id=981, cleared the cache both in the store and browser and since then all works as intended.

 

Posted 08 July 2009 - 05:09 PM #44

I am not using FF3.5 so not sure how that fix is going to help me - I am using FF3.0.1. Don't need to clear the cache either since I have FF set to do that automatically when I close the browser. I just did another install of CS-Cart v204 and 205 on a remote server just to make sure our server is not the culprit. Same results as yesterday - v204 works fine 205 does not. I deleted everything (files/folders) from /var/compiled) and checked permissions.
Web development in progress with CS-Cart 3.x

 

Posted 08 July 2009 - 05:17 PM #45

Wheew thank goodness! I just tried this in IE7 and it still does not work. Was about to cry thinking it was our server.

So fix or no fix, FF or IE, CS-Cart v205 is broken at least as far as blocks on the product page go. All I can do at this point is dump a weeks worth of work and start over with CS-Cart v204. Damn that was a lot of work wasted.

How the heck do they break something by upgrading???
Web development in progress with CS-Cart 3.x

 
  • snorocket
  • Forum Janitor
  • Members
  • Join Date: 15-Mar 06
  • 2519 posts

Posted 08 July 2009 - 05:30 PM #46

my blocks are not broken on any of my 2.05 sites, the issue has to be something other then 2.05, if I were to guess it sounds like a permission errors to me...
SNOROCKET.COM, Now Accepting PRE-ORDERS:
Customer Service (Helpdesk) Addon for CS-Cart v4.3.1
Quote and Invoicing Addon for CS-Cart v4.3.1

 
  • roban
  • Senior Member
  • Moderators
  • Join Date: 23-Oct 06
  • 1132 posts

Posted 08 July 2009 - 06:21 PM #47

Dave are you able to right click the 'edit' link and open in a new tab?

 

Posted 08 July 2009 - 06:30 PM #48

I did and this is what I got. Why?

Attached Thumbnails

  • related_product_block.jpg

Web development in progress with CS-Cart 3.x

 
  • The Tool
  • Been Here Way Too Long Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 30-Mar 07
  • 3866 posts

Posted 09 July 2009 - 01:41 AM #49

Don't need to clear the cache either since I have FF set to do that automatically when I close the browser.


That is not the same thing. You need to delete the files in /var/cache and /var/compiled.

 

Posted 09 July 2009 - 02:16 AM #50

Thanks Tool, but I already did that. No joy there either.
Web development in progress with CS-Cart 3.x

 
  • tbirnseth
  • CS Cart Expert
  • Authorized Reseller
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 08
  • 11442 posts

Posted 10 July 2009 - 07:49 AM #51

What do you mean you ran another "clean install on 2.0.5" and then upgraded.

That doesn't make sense to me...how did you install 2.0.5 and then upgrade to 2.0.5???

Care to clarify?:oops::confused:

I believe he is trying to migrate his 1.35 database to the 2.0.5 environment via the tool that cs-cart released. I'm assuming he's finding issues with the tool.

EZ Merchant Solutions: Custom (USA based) B2B Development, Consulting, Development and Special Projects (get a quote here).
Commercial addons, payment methods and modifications to meet your business and operations needs.


 
  • Eddy
  • Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 08-Nov 07
  • 37 posts

Posted 19 July 2009 - 05:24 PM #52

I have the problem with blocks too,

Suddenly, all my blocks (Right, left and some in the center) are disappeared.
The first time when I used the version 2.04
And the second time is version 2.06

I think there is a big problem between the script and database

 

Posted 19 July 2009 - 08:47 PM #53

Working for me now with v2.0.6.
Web development in progress with CS-Cart 3.x

 
  • jobosales
  • Senior Member
  • Members
  • Join Date: 04-Nov 06
  • 3114 posts

Posted 19 July 2009 - 10:29 PM #54

I am not having any problems with tabs in 2.0.6.

Is this a fresh install using a new database? Did you upgrade an existing installation using the Upgrade Center or did you do a fresh install and import existing data?

Make sure your blocks are active in the blocks. I would also recheck that the blocks are enabled and have items assigned in the appropriate products/pages/etc.

Bob
CS-Cart 2.0.14 (testing)