unique hosting requirements

Hello,

I'm new to CS-Cart and am discouraged at how slowly it moves on my Hostmonster server, So I'm looking for something new. I've read though many of the posts here, but I don't quite fit into standard e-commerce requirements.

We are manufactures of a very esoteric product and sell directly around the world. Last month, we had a whopping 1.8GB of data transfer from our site. We only have twenty or thirty products for sale and a good day is four or five transactions. so we're tiny by the standards of almost any e-commerce site, even though our average sale might be higher than most. Most features of CS-cart are turned off and we're designing a minimal client interface. But, we need the sophistication of CS-cart to calculate real-time shipping rates (several options) around the world, calculate taxes, and interface with our merchant provider and with PayPal.

Our page load times leave a lot to be desired with any client or admin selection, but whenever our site has to talk to an outside source–pretty much anytime viewing the cart or checking out–we wait… and wait some more! I haven't timed it, but I'd guess ten or fifteen seconds is average.

My questions are: Should I expect a shared plan with one of the recommended host here (wiredtree, servint, hostgator, etc…) to improve things substantially? Or is most of this time waiting to work through the checkout procedure spent waiting for other servers, such as FedEx, to respond for each of the shipping options? I don't mind paying for more server resources, but I can't justify managing a VPS with my tiny volume.

Has anybody found a cloud server that works well with CS-Cart? It seems like this could be very cheap, if I'm paying for my bandwidth, yet still powerful. But I don't fully understand the ramifications.

On another note, if any of you speed gurus would like to help me get set up, I'd be interested in your proposal.

Thank you! Robb