Suhosin

Is suhosin necessary on a server?

We found that suhosin breaks the ability to use “act on behalf of” and “bulk print (pdf)”. With suhosin enabled, “act on behalf of” will not login as the customer, and printing in pdf will result in a blank page, or http error in IE.

After much troubleshooting, we found uninstalling suhosin fix the above 2 problems.

Now, is suhosin necessary on a server? What are the disadvantages if it is not installed/enabled?

Thank you.

I had problems with suhosin in v.1.3.5.

Discovered that the problem was caused by the “suhosin.request.max_vars” setting on the server. It has 200 value, but it is not enough for CS-Cart.

I solved this by adding to the .htaccess :

php_value suhosin.request.max_vars 2000

php_value suhosin.post.max_vars 2000

I built my server with Suhosin-Patch 0.9.7, no problems with the act on behalf of with 2.0.12…

I am new to suhosin… and I am using CS-Cart 2.0.10. Should I ask my server administrator to re-enable suhosin… I wonder what is Patch 0.9.7? Is it the latest version/patch?

[quote name=‘alanpro’]I am new to suhosin… and I am using CS-Cart 2.0.10. Should I ask my server administrator to re-enable suhosin… I wonder what is Patch 0.9.7? Is it the latest version/patch?[/QUOTE]

I think there is a newer version. .29 I believe…

Has anyone else had problems with suhosin truncating the $_FILES superglobal?

The problem occurs with product_options.update_combinations when we have more than 12 Product Options on the page, which a few of our products have!

With suhosin turned on dumping the contents of both $_REQUEST & $_FILES shows that $_REQUEST has quite happily accepted embedded arrays with 30 or more elements, whereas $_FILES is restricting arrays to just 12 elements!!!