What version are you running?
You can close one storefront alone by selecting the store in admin and then going to Administration/Settings/General and ticking the chekbox and save. You can do the same in All stores mode after clicking the icon on the far right to apply it to all storefronts.
as we accessed with administrator rights, we can't see it was really closed....
To be known !
thansk for your help, tbirnseth