Preview Changes To Layout Before They Go Live.

How can I make changes to the layout without affecting my live site and only show the new changes after I am satisfied and save the changes.

On the Design -> Layouts you can copy current layout and make changes on this copy. After all changes are checked and confirmed just mark new layout as default