Pre Sales Question: Shipping/Billing address - Taxes

I’m a trial user right now, trying to make darn sure CSC is the way to go before spending the money.

Longtime CRELoaded and OSC user. Had a hard look at Magento, what a nightmare to configure/customize…and I’ve been doing this kind of stuff since 1996!

Setting this up for a new company that rents particular items and groups/packages of items so product variations and the configurator solve all of that.

One of the things that really sold me on CSC is the date picker and configurable profile fields…you wouldn’t believe how hard that is to find in a cart script.

However, during checkout I have these custom fields setup for the shipping address area as I have the following custom fields and it just makes sense:

Delivery Date (date picker for their preferred date of delivery)

Delivery Time (drop down box with selection of preferred times of delivery)

Delivery Notes (textarea for things like gate combo, etc)

My problem is that the Shipping is automatically hidden unless they click on the ‘Ship to a different address’ link. I want Shipping address to show by default so they will see the custom fields and then have an option to click a checkbox to use the same address if they wish…but I still need them to fill out the custom fields.

(see the addresses.jpg for how I do NOT want to do it and addresses2.jpg for how I have it now and prefer it to be seen)

Can I make this happen? If so, how?

I’ve found a few forum posts discussing this but are old and don’t seem to apply for the latest version and/or one page checkout:

[url]http://forum.cs-cart.com/showthread.php?t=4738[/url]

[url]http://forum.cs-cart.com/showthread.php?t=1210[/url]