PCI Compliance

Hi, I’m new to having my own online business and I noticed quite a bit of talk on here about this issue.

I plan on buying CS cart in the next couple months for my online business. I would like to know if there is anything I need to do or worry about with this issue, I had never even heard of it before I came onto this site. First a little info about my site and business.

1. CS Cart will be the shopping cart
  2. Go Daddy is the host
  3. I will buy a SSL
  4. I will probably use Authorize.net
  5. I will have between 5 and 25 transactions a day, I doubt any more than that at least for the 1st year of business.

Hello,

PCI Compliance is something that you should fully research for yourself, just like income tax preparation, there are always differences in an individual’s interpretation! If you do a google search for “PCI DSS” you will find plenty of information.

I will note that having a PCI DSS compliant shopping cart is really only one piece of the overall picture. My bet is that alot of shopping cart companies will not waste the money on obtaining “official” PCI DSS Certification because regardless of whether the cart is “Certified” or not, us business owners will still be required to meet all of the same requirements and must pass the security scans, etc. I now believe that as long as CS-Cart has all of the implementations in place for us to pass the upcoming (July) security scans, then that should be just fine.

Here is a basic overview of what will be required (alot will be dependant upon the volume of credit card business being performed):

What does PCI DSS compliance entail?

A: PCI DSS compliance consists of twelve requirements as follows:

1. Install and maintain a firewall configuration to protect data
  2. Do not use vendor-supplied defaults for system passwords and other security parameters
  3. Protect stored data
  4. Encrypt transmission of cardholder data and sensitive information across public networks