Moving host: Thinking ServInt or Future Hosting

Hello,

I have been using cs-cart for a few years and everything is great except for the few hosting issues I have had. I guess I am learning through trial and error. I started with godaddy, which I recommend no one to do for a site powered by cs-cart. What happened is that I couldn’t even upgrade the cart at one point without everything crashing. I did some research and found out that ipage is a great hosting provider. (I should of checked this forum first :-(). Same story as godaddy, they basically won’t allocate the resources necessary for your site, and now the site shuts down anytime I get anywhere from 20 to 30 visitors a day. Needless to say, it’s impossible to run a business like this so I am now looking for a third and hopefully final host.

After researching this forum I found people recommending ServInt or Future Hosting. The prices are pretty close. I was wondering if you could point me in the best direction based on your experience.

For beginners: Don’t go with godaddy or ipage for your cs-cart site.

Thanks

I've been with Knownhost for years… Very scalable between their VPS and Hybrid VPS's …

ServINT, It's managed so they'll be able to help you when you get into a jam.

Unfortunately, All VPS's require a developer/security officer to secure the server correctly, typically depending on the applications being used (in your case, CS-Cart).

So I'm in charge of securing the server?

[quote name='dstars' timestamp='1332296971' post='133504']

So I'm in charge of securing the server?

[/quote]

That's correct for any VPS system.

At most some VPS providers (ServInt does) patch the kernal to ensure it's upto date via Virtuizzo otherwise you are on your own.

People complaining about VPS servers isn't new, those that do usually have a case of “I thought they would do this” when at times it can simply be their lack of investment and/or research.

What are you saying “has” to be done regularly?