Help in setting up Shipping, 2.1.2

This is a new store, and this is my first time, and things aren’t terribly obvious to me.

This is a web store for a bricks-and-mortar supplier. This company keeps things in its own stock and fulfills the orders itself. It isn’t, say, like Amazon in that it doesn’t do any referrals or associates. So when shipping the delivery person comes to this company’s door, picks up the goods and delivers them to the customer.

OK, added a couple of suppliers (Admin, Shipping/Taxes, Shipping Methods): UPS 3-Day, USPS. I ensure they are active, and pointing to real shipping service listings in CS-Cart.

I now enter an order. I’m told that no shipping options are available for this location. I change that product to “free shipping” (in its Product editor) and refresh the checkout page. I get “free shipping” as the only shipping choice.

I’m told that perhaps I need to set up a Supplier. So I set up the company itself as the supplier (name, address, contact info). This didn’t get me any closer.

In Admin, Settings, Shipping, the shipping is “not disabled”. I see no setting like “enable shipping”, just the negative question.

I hear of people in the forum about setting up the shipping addon, but I don’t think it is a 2.1 addon.

Is there a real easy thing that I am not doing here? And can I delete that Supplier entry, because I don’t like keeping around unneccessary baggage.

Thank you very much for help,

Jerome.

Suppliers are really more like drop-shippers. If everything you ship comes from inventory then you don’t want to use suppliers at alll. It should really be drop-shipper versus supplier since one who only deals with inventory buys it from their supplier…

Get rid of your suppliers and you’ll probably be okay. Normally that message relates to a problem with Locations. Is the address you are using match one and only one location? I.e. you can’t have Kansas in two different locations.

I have no Suppliers now.