Directly linkting to a specific Product block tab

Has anyone seen a way to create a direct link to a product block tab? For example, to have a link called “Features” on the page and when someone clicks it the features tab is shown, possibly the visitor is even taken directly to the tab. Thsi would be similar to setting up an anchor link, I just can’t figure out how to make the tab switch with a link.

As several posts have requested how to create links that point to or control the product page information tabs, but no answers have been given I have come up with a workable solution.

This workaround is comparable to what the fn_show_section function did in CS-Cart versions prior to 2.0.10 before the developers removed it.

I will try to make this post as simple and informative as possible to help whoever is trying to do the same thing. [COLOR=“Red”]Please keep in mind I am not a JavaScript professional so use this at your own risk and never on a live running store until you have tested it.[/COLOR]

If there are any JavaScript coders reading this, please contribute by cleaning up my long winded solution. I know some repeating functions and arrays could significantly reduce my if else stataments, but those are beyond my skills and would have added a few hours of troubleshooting.

Background information:

The tabs are controlled/created by the tabs.js file found in the main store directory’s /js folder. The code the cart uses is based on the idTabs javsacript created by [url]http://www.sunsean.com/idTabs/[/url] .

Essentially the tab javascript adds or removes classes to the css DIV of each tab section to create the effect of tabs changing. This works in two parts, the tabs themselves and their matching content block. So for each tab you have two css sections to deal with, here are their element ID’s:

ID’s For the tabs:

block_features

block_send_to_friend

block_tags

block_description

ID’s for each tabs respective content area:

content_block_features