With our wordpress sites, you can close the store front via maintenance plugin - but admin can still see full storefront. Good for making changes to a live site without customer seeing work in progress,
How can I do this with CS Cart?
Default behavior. You should setup a "Store Access Key" in Settings/General page so you can see the store front (assuming open_this is set as the key)